KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

TSMC

Is this your company?

TSMC

Add a Review

TSMC Reviews

Updated May 25, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 935 of over 1,024 reviews

3.8
62%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
TSMC Chairman Morris Chang
Morris Chang
476 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Good salary and welfare between local companies in Taiwan(in 143 reviews)
  • "Good pay and stable.(in 56 reviews)
  • "provide a good salary in Taiwan(in 35 reviews)
  • "Nice people to work with and learn from(in 28 reviews)
  • "TSMC provides reasonably good benefits(in 27 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of TSMC and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Leading company in this industry

    May 21, 2022 - Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    High pace working lifestyle, challenging everyday

    Cons

    Too much meetings without efficiency

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    TSMC Fab Equipment Engineer

    Jul 6, 2021 - Equipment Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Was able to train in Taiwan, work for one of the most important companies on the planet that no one knows about, be exposed to culture outside the US, am being given skills I can take to lot's of desirable positions in the future. There are incompatibilities between work culture, learning/teaching style and other expectations from the US to Taiwan. This is to be expected. My trainer I think has definitely met me part way, and I believe I can say I have done the same. There's still a gap, but this can be worked on.

    Cons

    The work culture in Taiwan is really different than in the US. I am sure TSMC will have to change to an 8 hour work day five days a week or do what other companies do with Fabs and run three days on, four days off, four days on, three days off rotations. As it is right now in Taiwan The minimum amount of time at the company is 10 hours a day, but realistically is running up to even 12 hours a day. This is for those of us who are American training to go back to the new operation in Arizona. The reality for people from Taiwan is that they are doing even more than 12 hour days often. There's also the night shifts and weekend shifts on duty and/or on call. That last part is understandable as the fab lives 24/7. The training in this experience really depends on one person who is your "trainer". My experience has lacked any structure, but had no shortage of expectations. I came up with some process to approach learning new equipment and daily tasks, but to be honest don't know that I've arrived yet. TSMC doesn't seem to enshrine a sense of individual freedom. The company provides housing for those of us training from the states, but has very much micromanaged everything we do in our living arrangement. There's a curfew with no guests allowed for example. And the long term housing adds another hand hour commute.

    Continue reading
    151 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee

    TSMC

    May 20, 2022 - Technician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is about the only somewhat pro.

    Cons

    Lack of training, lack of anything but Asian culture integration/inclusion, poor communication, horrible policy, no SOP’s or willingness to create proper SOP’s, production is all that matters, safety is not a concern, work life balance is not a concern, policy changes as if it’s the wind

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great opportunity

    May 6, 2022 - QC Inspector in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was able to land a job making 60 grand a year relocation $3,500

    Cons

    I thought they were paying for. My move so I had a month to get a place to stay ship my car

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    engineer

    May 12, 2022 - Process Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    people are nice in the company

    Cons

    what is at least 5 semi invent research tech lab

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee

    nice

    May 20, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay was nice in Taiwan.

    Cons

    The working hrs are really long.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    you kmow

    May 14, 2022 - Technology Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    leading technology, innovation, just do it

    Cons

    no work-life balance, bureaucracy, self-concern

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Meh

    Apr 10, 2022 - Equipment Technician in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent pay, relocation and sign on bonus definitely incentivized joining.

    Cons

    HR is really, really bad. So many broken promises and lack of communication it is frustrating. Deals written on signed contract are not being fulfilled.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Cool

    Apr 2, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    TSMC is so good and well payment.

    Cons

    The work hours is too long

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good

    Mar 22, 2022 - Equipment Technician in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is very good for the industry

    Cons

    Hours can be long and tiring

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 935 Reviews
</>Embed

TSMC Reviews FAQs

TSMC has an overall rating of 3.8 out of 5, based on over 1,024 reviews left anonymously by employees. 62% of employees would recommend working at TSMC to a friend and 63% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, TSMC employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at TSMC. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

62% of TSMC employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated TSMC 2.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.2 for culture and values and 3.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at TSMC to be benefits, career development, coworkers and the cons to be culture, management, workplace.

Popular Careers with TSMC Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at TSMC? Share Your Experiences

or

TSMC Photos

+ Add Photo
TSMC photo of: TSMC
TSMC photo of: Fab
TSMC photo of: Clean Room
TSMC photo of: farewell
TSMC photo of: tsmc lobby
TSMC photo of: TSMC
TSMC photo of: TSMC
See All Photos