Technomics Reviews | Glassdoor

Technomics Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Technomics President and CEO Al Leung  (no image)
Al Leung
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great culture, awesome place for self-starters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Analyst in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Technomics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've worked at Technomics for several years now and I love the culture here. There are plenty of opportunities to work on projects that excite me. When I talk about my interests and the direction I would like to take my career, they listen. As a result I have been able to take command in shaping my technical and professional development. I don't feel like a number in a spreadsheet. I really believe in the leadership. They are excellent at managing the business and have long term vision. They aren't afraid to evolve the company and frequently provide their people of opportunities to make an impact. Technomics has a really easy going vibe. I am frequently challenged by the project work (which I think is a good thing), but never have anyone looking over my shoulder or micromanaging. I think it has sort of a startup vibe because of how young a lot of the personnel are and how many technical side projects people choose to work on. I would say this is not a place for someone who wants to fly under the radar. The ability to get paid for your overtime work is HUGE for me. I feel like I have control over how much I earn which is pretty liberating. As a workaholic I would be putting in these hours anyway so mind as well get paid for them.

    Cons

    Some people feel a little overwhelmed here because of how fast paced and competitive the atmosphere is. I think they do a good job of hiring quality people so as someone who has always been considered a high performer and is now just average and it can be frustrating. Management is always sprinting towards the next goal which sometimes makes it hard to catch my breath. I've learned that I need to put more thought into what I sign up for rather than saying yes to everything because there are so many side projects and initiatives going on at any point in time.

    Technomics2019-06-24
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Great Evolving Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Technomics full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Over the past 10 years with the company, I have experienced that they hire talent truly based on the person and not to simply fill a job. In addition, the company has made the correct investments to support the smart growth and evolution of a smaller consulting company. The company fosters innovation and rewards it. The company targets specific work that is impactful to clients.

    Cons

    No negatives regarding the company. I encourage job seekers with no federal sector consulting experience to research and understand the pros and cons of federal sector business consulting. As a consultant, you will have to take on some projects that you may not find "fun".

    Continue reading
    Technomics2019-06-13
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Not a good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cost Analyst in Arlington, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Technomics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It’s employee owned, so you get added benefits that you wouldn’t get as a normal employee.

    Cons

    Technomics is no longer a good company to work for. Five years ago, most employees loved their job because the leadership team truly cared about the work and it’s people. Since then, there’s been some shifting in the leadership team, and the newest individual chosen to take over has a very different leadership style. The culture is slowly deteriorating because management no longer cares about its employees. If they aren’t willing to work an extra 10 hours a week without compensation to participate in corporate initiatives and business development, they will be shamed into submission. The leadership team does a lot of talking about how much they care, but the actions don’t align with their rehearsed speeches. They even tried to bring in an HR specialist to fix the crumbling morale, but she only lasted a couple months before she was pushed out. Their turnover rate for the past 6 months is over 10%. *I think it’s also important to point out that Technomics is singling out current employees and pressuring them into leaving positive Glassdoor reviews. So if you’re wondering why the ratings are so high, make sure you’re paying attention to the timeline. * Bottom line: if you value a healthy work-life balance and don’t enjoy being publicly shamed for it, you should run the other direction.

    Continue reading
    Technomics2019-06-05
  4. Helpful (2)

    "If you do cost, OR, data or other analytics, this is the company you want to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Crystal City, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Technomics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work, great clients, high standards and integrity. This is an employee owned company that listens to its owners of all levels. Their reputation is strong with all of their customers. This is the company that I knew I would leave a comfortable position to go to work for.

    Cons

    As a small company, staffing all the opportunities with quality analysts becomes a challenge. Because hiring is a very discerning process, few, highly qualified candidates get hired. This often leaves more billets than can be filled.

    Continue reading
    Technomics2018-10-13
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great People, Great Work, Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Technomics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The biggest Pro about Technomics is that they give you every tool you need and more to be successful in this industry. There are countless learning and leadership opportunities available to younger and older employees alike. While senior leaders work hard to ensure employee success, it really depends on how hard an employee wants to work and how much they want to get involved. At Technomics, there really are no limits to the things you can accomplish. You also don't have to worry about being on the same project or working on one program your entire career. Technomics values diversity in its employees and really strives to make sure everyone at the company stays rounded and continues to grow.

    Cons

    As with any contracting company, some projects Technomics wins work on are more engaging and challenging than others. Sometimes for employees, it's just luck of the draw which project you end up on. This can sometimes be frustrating if your work is not something you are passionate about. But the good thing is, as mentioned before, Technomics does try really hard to give people a broad span of experience by offering employees other projects to work on when possible.

    Continue reading
    Technomics2018-10-09
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Not Your Ordinary Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Cost Analyst in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Technomics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This company focuses on it's people because this company is employee owned. There's lots of training opportunities for everyone at any experience level. Management is always willing to help and listen to your needs and they don't try to micromanage your work or how you use your time. The office has free snacks and free alcohol after 5pm.

    Cons

    If you work off-site at client site, it's hard to stay connected to the company and your friends at the company. You have to be self-motivated and proactive about being a part of the company.

    Continue reading
    Technomics2018-10-01
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to be and an exciting time to be here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Technomics for less than a year

    Pros

    Speaking with the CEO (Al Leung) during my onsite interview, two key aspects of the Technomics culture stayed with me. After a few months here, these aspects of the culture hold true. Technomics rewards the ambitious. At this company, you are encouraged to push yourself to achieve more, think outside the box, and take action on your ideas. Even as an Associate your ideas matter and if you take initiative you can make those ideas a reality. If you have a good idea you will be supported to make it happen and make a real impact. Second, Technomics is truly an open door policy. You have the opportunity to walk into any office, no matter how senior, and talk about your ideas or get involved in new projects you’re interested in. You will see senior leadership every day and I guarantee they know your name and the projects you work on. As an Associate, I feel valued and know I can make real impacts to benefit the company. There is a true sense of pride among Technomics employees. As an Associate, I feel very much part of the team and a valued team member at that. Furthermore, Technomics is a fun place to work. We are treated like we matter. Technomics is a fun environment with a strong intrapreneurship culture. Exactly what I was looking for in a career.

    Cons

    The primary client is the government. Some aspects of the onboarding process can be a little slow with security clearance stuff. Technomics does a good job of trying to mitigate this and get you working on your project.

    Technomics2018-09-25
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great Work/Life Balance - Values Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Technomics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company culture is amazing - they really show that they want the employees to be happy, content, and have fun. There are so many programs in place for professional development and they clearly want their employee-owners to grow as cost estimators and as professionals in general. Very forward-focused and concerned about sustainable growth which I valued when considering the position. Room for growth into leadership roles. Employee-ownership culture is prevalent. Monthly new-hire happy hours, intramural sports, and company picnics help build camaraderie and promote comfortable sharing of ideas. Amazing benefits.

    Cons

    Salary could be a bit higher but is still very competitive (great benefits though).

    Continue reading
    Technomics2018-09-12
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to grow professionally"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Crystal City, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Technomics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As an employee-owned company the walls that typically pit management against labor do not exist. The culture is highly collaborative and transparent where everyone shares the same goals: everyone contributes. Technomics’ hires for the long term not the contract. If you receive an offer letter it’s because they believe you are qualified to support multiple clients. Additionally, I have the honor and privilege to call thought leaders of the industry my coworkers.

    Cons

    Management was inexperienced but has made great strides over the last year.

    Continue reading
    Technomics2018-06-21
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Amazing culture & learning opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Technomics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Managers are supportive and constantly working to ensure employee success; I've never been in a more encouraging collaborative environment - The learning curve is diminished through coaching & training - Benefits are great: free medical, company stock, bonuses, etc.

    Cons

    - Type of work opportunities are dictated by contract awards and some government contracts I've worked haven't been the most exciting

    Continue reading
    Technomics2015-06-05
Found 26 reviews