Texas Workforce Commission Reviews | Glassdoor

Texas Workforce Commission Reviews

Updated Sep 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 149 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Texas Workforce Commission CEO Thomas W. Pauken (no image)
Thomas W. Pauken
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "Stability, Great Benefits, Helps Customers who want to help themselves(in 12 reviews)

  • "they do have good benefits plans(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, no upward mobility, inflexible schedule(in 11 reviews)

  • "pay sucks, traffic sucks, no room for advancement or pay raises(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Best Co-Workers-Supervisors I've had in a long time!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSR2 in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Workforce Commission full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly and helpful culture including Supervisors. Awesome Trainers that do their best to teach you the antiquated system; Kudos to them! Awesome help desk people for they really try to help and, I only complained about one that was not in that building. Very, Awesome and, Fantastic people whom I would have loved to continue to call my coworkers if circumstances were different. Love and miss you all! ... Management at that office is the best I've encounter. I gave this place a five only because of the wonderful people that work there because it is they that make the place great.

    Show More

    Cons

    Biggest Con will have to be the Parking issues; That's because there is no parking available. You have to park 5 1/2 blocks away at the parking lot of a church that the state pays for. Try doing that morning and afternoon and it gets old especially, in very hot weather or very cold weather. You have to call every morning to see if there is parking available at the actual site were the building is at and most of... the time there isn't. You only get parking at the site if someone is out for the day and, there is Zero chance of ever getting a permanent parking space because honestly someone has to leave the company in order for one to become available and when that happens there is a waiting list. Also their, systems is outdated and, not user friendly. Honestly what they need is to be moved to a better sight were they can offer parking for all of their employees but, since its a State office I doubt that will ever happen. I would like to add that having to call for parking on a daily basis does take its toll. Career Opportunities are not that good though.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice is not really to management at the Dwyer building but, to the State of Texas-Governor Abbot; Move this people to a better sight were all can have a parking space for it is the number one reason why the place is a revolving door and while you are at it please bring the system up to the 21st century. I say this with the upmost respect because I actually like the Governor. As a matter of a fact the... antiquated system makes the work more difficult than it ought to be and, may be contributing to delays in peoples claim/payments.

    Show More
    Texas Workforce Commission2019-02-07
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Risk Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Workforce Commission full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people, good leadership atmosphere, good work life balance, meaningful work.

    Cons

    They pay in the lower range of the salary band for most jobs.

    Advice to Management

    You'll get a better selection of people if you offer salaries that can compete with those offered by Health and Human SErvices

    Texas Workforce Commission2019-09-04
  3. "Good job security, bad pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Analyst IV 

    I have been working at Texas Workforce Commission full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work-life balance. Work from home days. Job security.

    Cons

    Low pay compared to private sector.

    Texas Workforce Commission2019-07-17
  4. "Good place to work if you want work/life balance and retirement benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Trainer in Austin, TX

    I worked at Texas Workforce Commission full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ability to choose projects based on your interests; plenty of creative freedom. Flexible work schedules and ability to telework once a week.

    Cons

    They are behind on technology. Facilities are old, outdated. Hard to get promoted.

    Texas Workforce Commission2019-06-06
  5. "Great Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Specialist in Austin, TX

    I have been working at Texas Workforce Commission full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Heath insurance, PTO and schedule

    Cons

    Pay is really low for the amount of work required

    Texas Workforce Commission2019-06-04
  6. "Behind the scenes politicking effects everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clerk IV in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Workforce Commission full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free health insurance Paid Holidays Sick & Vacation leave

    Cons

    Management plays favorites and those select few can have far too much influence

    Texas Workforce Commission2019-05-24
  7. "run, dont walk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transition Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor in Temple, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Texas Workforce Commission full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the position has a great benefit for the community

    Cons

    The office in Temple has terrible leadership and it also goes up the chain for region 7

    Texas Workforce Commission2019-05-28
  8. "Nice Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Examiner in Tyler, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Workforce Commission full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *Lots of days off *not micro managed *doing audits at different companies

    Cons

    *Pay is not great. *paid once a month

    Advice to Management

    none

    Texas Workforce Commission2019-04-25
  9. "twc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Workforce Commission full-time

    Pros

    they do have good benefits plans

    Cons

    management on some department not the greatest and there is a lot of favoritism. the pay is low for all the challenges you encounter and growth is slow.

    Texas Workforce Commission2019-04-17
  10. "Good if you don't mind bad pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor in Austin, TX

    I have been working at Texas Workforce Commission full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great counselors, great work culture and support, flexible and lots of paid time off, decent health insurance and free for employed person

    Cons

    lazy/incompetent support staff, no pay raises, constantly covering caseloads because counselors leave for higher paying jobs, management does not advocate for staff pay, work culture varies wildly by each office, even in the same city. Poor retirement benefits for new workers.

    Advice to Management

    getting higher pay for staff needs to be the number one priority

    Texas Workforce Commission2019-04-11
Found 149 reviews