Tire Discounters Reviews

Updated Jul 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Tire Discounters Chairman and CEO Chip Wood
Chip Wood
81 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are a lot of good people that work for the company(in 8 reviews)

  • "It is very fast paced and it makes the day go by very quickly(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sometimes long hours as the only tech(in 13 reviews)

  • "Upper management only values their employees when they quit(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "BEST COMPANY AND FAMILY I COULD ASK FOR"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Technician in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tire Discounters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loyal to their employees if you WORK HARD!!!! I see and hear complaints but half the people I’ve heard them from barely worked anyway so I get why they were not happy

    Cons

    Long hours and sometimes crazy and hectic

    Continue reading
  2. COVID-19

    "Proud to be a part of the TD family"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tire Discounters full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I'm proud to work for Tire Discounters, even more so during this COVID pandemic. Tire Discounters is an essential business. I'm an essential worker. Working with a great team of folks, all centered around a common goal, helping the customer.

    Cons

    evening hours and Saturday hours

    Continue reading

    Tire Discounters Response

    May 26, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thanks for the five star review! We’re proud to serve our communities during the Covid-19 crisis. Thank you for working hard to keep our customers safely on the road.


  3. "Almost"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tire Discounters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cant say a single nice thing about any upper management

    Cons

    To many chiefs not enough Indians

    Continue reading

    Tire Discounters Response

    June 18, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for leaving a review. Your feedback is important to us and we’d like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please reach out to your manager or to your HR Business Partner so we can better understand your concern and work with you on a solution.

  4. "Regional Manager overseeing 12 retail units"

    5.0
     

    I have been working at Tire Discounters

    Pros

    Great Culture and Work Environment, Closed on Sundays!

    Cons

    Nothing negative, much better than prior employment.

    Continue reading

    Tire Discounters Response

    April 15, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for the five-star review. As a family business, we take pride in treating our employees like family. We’re proud to offer the benefits and perks (like No Sundays!) that our employees want. Thank you again for leaving a review.

  5. "Poor upper management with no vision for the future."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tire Discounters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are a lot of good people that work for the company. Flexible hours and competitive pay.

    Cons

    Lack of communication. Lack of training. Severe lack of leadership. High turnover rate. Toxic culture. Poor upper management with no vision for the future. Company wants to grow but still run like a mom and pop shop. Regional Managers are not held accountable at all for lack of customer service. IT is treated as a nuisance and not respected whatsoever.

    Continue reading

    Tire Discounters Response

    January 22, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We value feedback from our employees and would have liked the opportunity to address your concerns before you left. We are growing fast to meet customer demand, and with that growth comes the challenge of also adjusting infrastructure. As a family-owned business treating our employees right is important to us. Employee feedback, like from surveys, is used to identify solutions for employee pain-points. Please reach out to HR@tirediscounters.com so we can learn more about your experience.

  6. "Absolutely no work-life balance. If you are single or willing to lose your family and sanity this is the place to be."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tire Discounters full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Meet good people and make long term friendships. Money is there if willing to work long hours. Decent discounts on products and services.

    Cons

    You are expected to do your job and and everybody else's also. Corporate is constantly adding additional work to an already overworked understaffed stores. When it comes to customer complaints upper management never has your back.

    Continue reading

    Tire Discounters Response

    January 24, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for your review. We agree Tire Discounters has the best people. We’re proud to hire folks who are willing to work hard and are passionate about customer service. Being a General Manager at Tire Discounters is like running your own small business. As the leader of the store, General Managers are responsible for every sale, every service, every customer, and every employee that walks through their door. To run their store efficiently, our General Managers are also responsible for inventory and ensuring all policies and procedures are being followed. We’re disappointed you dodn’t feel supported by your upper management. Please reach out to your HR Business Partner or to hr@tirediscounters.com so we can connect and learn more.

  7. "No work life balance, decent pay."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tire Discounters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Leader of the pack, maker of the decisions. Decent pay, decent PTO program.

    Cons

    Unruly hours. No family time during days we’re open. Only “have” to work 48 hours, expected to work 55+ Typical work day is 7:30AM to 7:00PM. Monthly inventories

    Continue reading

    Tire Discounters Response

    December 20, 2019Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for your review. We’re proud to be a family-owned company that treats our employees like family. We know working retail hours can be difficult, so we offer a five day work week and are closed Sunday to allow our employees quality time off with their families.

  8. "Love my job!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Manager in Fort Oglethorpe, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tire Discounters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family owned, respectful to employees, acknowledge employees and their efforts, good bonus structure, great equipment to work with, clean and nice facilities

    Cons

    Longer hours than most shops, feel they are a bit lower on the pay scale.

    Continue reading

    Tire Discounters Response

    December 12, 2019Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for the five-star review. We’re glad to hear that you love your job! That’s one of the biggest compliments we could get. Serving our customers is a top priority, so there will be days when you are finishing up past closing so you can get your customer back on the road safely and as quickly as possible. We value your experience and are honored you’ve chosen to work for the Tire Discounters family. We pride ourselves in offering growth potential and want to help you achieve your goals. Please connect with your manager and HR business partner to discuss your career goals.

  9. "Part of the TD family team!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Associate in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tire Discounters full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Family friendly and understanding working parents needs. Flexible hours good atmosphere and caring team of people.

    Cons

    Career building can be difficult

    Continue reading

    Tire Discounters Response

    December 3, 2019Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for the five-star review. We’re glad that Tire Discounters is a good fit for you and your family, and that you’ve had a positive experience. It’s important to us that every TD employee feels appreciated. Our employees are like family, and we want our family to know how much they mean to us. We’re disappointed that not every member of our TD family feels appreciated, and we want to change that. Your feedback will be shared with the team so we can take steps to ensure every TD employee knows they are a critical member of our TD family. Thank you again for sharing your feedback. If you have ideas on ways we can better show our appreciation, please share them with your manager or with your HR representative.

  10. "Cool place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Specialist in Sharonville, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tire Discounters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cool people to work with decent benefits. Flexibility when i need a day off friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    yearly reviews are only done in spring. If you have not been employed for a year you will have to wait until the next go around for a raise. This can be almost 2 years depending on when you start.

    Tire Discounters Response

    October 11, 2019Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you leaving a review. The people you work with are like family and it sounds like you’ve got a great crew. We’re glad you like your team and we’re certain they feel the same about you. If you have questions regarding your pay and opportunity for advancement you can work directly with your manager or your HR Business Partner. Thank you again for you feedback. We’re glad you’re a part of our TD family.

Found 137 reviews