Cover image for Tokopedia
Logo

Tokopedia

Engaged Employer

Tokopedia

Add a Review

Tokopedia Reviews

Updated Nov 25, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 905 of over 1K reviews
4.5
95% Recommend to a Friend
Tokopedia CEO William Tanuwijaya
98% Approve of CEO

Found 917 of over 1K reviews

4.5
95%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Tokopedia CEO William Tanuwijaya
William Tanuwijaya
477 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

494

70 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Gender

This rating reflects the overall rating of Tokopedia and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best

    Sep 18, 2022 - Consulting Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It was good working there.

    Cons

    There are no cons working there

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Tokopedia Response

    People Experience

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about Tokopedia! We are glad to hear that you enjoy working with us! We would love to hear more of your experience, feel free to share some good or unpleasant things so that we will do our best to improve our working culture to provide the best experience for all employees. - People Team

  2. 5.0
    Former Employee

    nice company

    May 8, 2022 - HR Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Always available for their clients

    Cons

    A foreign company with good intent

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. Join the Tokopedia team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Work at Tokopedia

    Jul 2, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good etiquette and working environment

    Cons

    Long working hours and high target

    5 people found this review helpful

    Tokopedia Response

    People Experience

    Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you loved your experience at Tokopedia, we put employee experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. So thanks for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again!

  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Intern

    Jul 28, 2018 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good ambience Comfy workspace A lot of new knowledge Free breakfast Work/life balance

    Cons

    low salary (only IT get the bigger one) bad working environment unclear frameworks confusing career-path and policy

    27 people found this review helpful

    Tokopedia Response

    People Experience

    Thanks for your review. We would love to hear more about your experience, so that we can use your valuable feedback to deliver an even better experience next time. We will also continue to evaluate existing issues and strive to provide the best facilities and experience for all employees.

  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    The Golden Age is Over

    Nov 3, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Jakarta
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Good insurance benefit. - Gopay allowance start from 500k for SE, 1 million for SSE, and 2 million for lead/PE. - Good teammates. - WFH. - Good tech stacks and challenge for high traffic (depends on your team/tribe) - English speaking environment (depends on the team). - You can find good mentors for work and life. - A good experience to learn things about marketplace.

    Cons

    - WLB is not good because we have monthly event(s) and so we will need to do "loadtest" around 2-5 times. The loadtest will be done after midnight and will finish around 2-5 am. You will get 0.5-1 day dispense leave but still, you still have your task in sprint and destroying your sleep schedule is really bad. - Each event, the request per second (RPS) target is really arbitrarily. The management was really afraid or traumatized by the first failure that happen around 2019. As example: Let's say our (Business as usual) BAU RPS is around 2k and for the event the target becomes 12k. Even though the real RPS when the event is 4-5k. Then suddenly we have this "exciting" event and upper management suddenly says let's double our rps target and it becomes 24k. We have already done this for almost 2 years now and the actual RPS target was not even going more than 3 times the BAU RPS. - The way we create features already changed, previously we developed features for users but now it's for the "numbers" in business metrics. - Salary is below the average of other unicorns. - The politic after the Lead level is really toxic, everyone here just cares about themselves. There are some exceptions but it's really rare. Everyone trying to get a promotion, it's rare to see managers that trying to help their team to grow. - There are a lot of useless meetings, the content basically explains issues/something to your higher higher ups. Let's say A is your manager, B is A manager, and C is B manager. There will be meetings to explain to B and C. The communication is not efficient. - Some managers just care about what the upper management wants, not protecting the team from unreasonable requests. - Access requests can be a bottleneck because of the team that can grant the access to busy and overwhelmed by the total of requests. - If you get a bad manager, just prepare to resign otherwise you will be burnout. The bad managers don't really care about their teams. - Promotion Driven Development, "if it's not giving me a good point for Performance Appraisal then I don't really care" Attitude. - Information flow from upper management never goes to everyone, just several people. Like some new features or changes that can impact our workload, you can suddenly be told "hey we have this new feature/event tomorrow, can you help us do this. - Some people are sweet talkers because of the promotion thingy (Exposure > actual work). - Individual Contributor that can't really perform can just change to managerial, it's really stupid if you think about it. It's great if they can perform as managers but the reality is not like that. They are the kind of people that the team will become much better without them. - Can pay billion rupiah for events but refuse to increase salary increment even though it's already below market standard. For reference, several engineers that left to another company (not even go to Gojek/Traveloka/Bukalapak) get salary increase around 30-60%.

    Continue reading
    262 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Culture, learning experience, WFH.

    Nov 24, 2022 - Software Engineer in Jakarta
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good learning experience in marketplace environtment. Good compensation benefit for fresh graduates. Supportive teammate and good culture. Work from home with some teams having occasional WFO arrangement.

    Cons

    Currently enduring unstable economy condition, causing uncertainty about future works (possibility of layoff etc).

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Best place to work and grow

    Nov 22, 2022 - Software Engineer in Jakarta
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Clear career path journey, good people and good leader

    Cons

    Salary might not as good as it's competitor

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    So far, best company i have ever worked in.

    Nov 22, 2022 - Squad Lead in Jakarta
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Clear career path. Challenging and quite work life balance.

    Cons

    Some PO's only care for OKR, not team.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee

    cool

    Nov 22, 2022 - Software Engineer - Engineering Productivity 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Engineering Productivity role at Tokopedia is the same as Test Engineer. the main goals are to create and maintain automation scripts

    Cons

    Sometime need to be awake until 3 am to conduct performance teat

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Former Employee

    great one

    Nov 22, 2022 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work culture and work life balance

    Cons

    Salary is slightly less and no free food given

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 917 Reviews
</>Embed

Tokopedia Reviews FAQs

Tokopedia has an overall rating of 4.5 out of 5, based on over 1,215 reviews left anonymously by employees. 95% of employees would recommend working at Tokopedia to a friend and 79% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 4% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Tokopedia employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.2 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Tokopedia. This rating has improved by 9% over the last 12 months.

95% of Tokopedia employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Tokopedia 4.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.5 for culture and values and 4.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Tokopedia to be career development, benefits, culture and the cons to be management, work life balance, compensation.

Popular Careers with Tokopedia Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Tokopedia? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Tokopedia Photos

+ Add Photo
Tokopedia photo of: Tokopedia with Jakarta View
Tokopedia photo of: Tokopedia Office
Tokopedia photo of: Noida
Tokopedia photo of: Noida
Tokopedia photo of: Noida
Tokopedia photo of: Noida
Tokopedia photo of: Noida
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Bridestory

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Tokopedia Job Seekers Also Viewed

Xtremax Logo
Xtremax

2.7

254 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,215 Tokopedia reviews submitted anonymously by Tokopedia employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Tokopedia is right for you.