UDig Reviews | Glassdoor

UDig Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 54 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
UDig CEO Andy Frank
Andy Frank
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "On my last assignment I worked with Jeff Bonniwell who placed me in a contract that I was able to turn it into a full time position(in 7 reviews)

  • "His approach made me feel if I was the only person that he worked with from 9 to 5 each day(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance- be prepared to take your work home with you(in 3 reviews)

  • "Paid time off option would be a nice perk(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent Growth potential and exemplary life/work balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UDig full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    UDig is by far one of the best places that I have worked at. The management hierarchy is very flat and there is absolutely no micromanagement. You have the ability to work on some really cutting edge projects as well. UDig is a place to work if you want to learn other languages, new technologies, and help implement them into a business solution. UDig is also a growing company which allows people to help mold and shape...

    Show More

    Cons

    Currently our one location is running out of space, but this will be solved in the fall when we move into our new larger location.

    Advice to Management

    There's nothing that I can think of. The management does a good job being as transparent and open to the rest of the company as they can.

    UDig2017-05-31

    UDig Response

    June 7, 2017Director of Marketing

    Thanks for the feedback! We are excited about moving into our larger, more innovative space later this year. We are focused on building a team of learners who want to grow and build interesting technology solutions such as yourself. Thanks for being a part of our team!

  2. "Great company with an excellent culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UDig full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I really enjoy the people that I work with each day and the work that I am doing. In the technical space a lot of the projects we are winning are cutting edge, so it's exciting to be available for a company's growth!

    Cons

    We have great leadership here, but because we are growing, sometimes I wish there was middle management to go to with questions or discuss tasks. Our leadership sometimes seems to be stretched a little thin.

    UDig2018-06-13
  3. "Great company Awesome work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UDig full-time

    Pros

    Management cares about employees and puts technical people in a position to succeed.

    Cons

    Hard to work remote when most jobs are in Richmond

    UDig2018-01-28
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Like Working at a Startup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UDig full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great people, good clients, fun environment

    Cons

    UDig is struggling to become a player in the mid-atlantic consulting market. At this point, will take almost any work, even if it's not a great fit for their consultants' skill sets.

    Advice to Management

    Be more open and up front with employees about direction of the company, especially as you begin to try to get everyone on the same page as far as compensation, bonus structure, etc.

    UDig2017-12-29

    UDig Response

    January 2, 2018Director of Marketing

    Thank you for your comments! We are working hard to provide an open, collaborative culture by communicating early and often about both our challenges and our successes through regular meetings, Friday stand ups and slack. We continue to refine our offerings and are targeting projects ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UDig full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Upbeat fun company. Did alot of fun office activities and Christmas party

    Cons

    Terrible industry. Lack of training

    UDig2017-10-13
  6. "Software Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UDig full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Interesting projects with an opportunities to learn new skills and languages. Relaxed environment with knowledgable coworkers.

    Cons

    Going through growing pains. Path for advancement isn't clearly defined.

    Advice to Management

    More regular 1 on 1s. Easier HR processes. More defined consultant levels.

    UDig2017-05-22

    UDig Response

    June 7, 2017Director of Marketing

    Thank you for your feedback! Creating a consulting culture and building out the things you mentioned are among our top priorities for the remainder of 2017. Please continue to provide your perspective on our progress!

  7. "One of the few I recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UDig full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked and interviewed at all kinds of places in RVA. UDig is one of the few places that combines the small team culture while working on big time projects effectively. The Studio is an awesome place to come to every day. Everyone is pretty open and honest, there's always exciting work, and if you ever need help with something you can tap on a shoulder and get an answer. We all have standing desks, given the freedom...

    Show More

    Cons

    A lot of the bugs got worked out in the past couple years from transitioning to a consulting agency. The only con right now is that there's no more room in our Studio, but that's being solved with the CEO buying a building, gutting it, and renovating it.

    Advice to Management

    Make that new office building awesome, with some phone booth and smaller offices.

    UDig2017-05-22

    UDig Response

    June 7, 2017Director of Marketing

    Thank you for the recommendation!! We are super excited about our new space and the flexible work environment we will be able to offer there. We take great pride in our team of smart and effective consultants, thanks for being part of our growing team!

  8. "Business Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UDig full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Leadership is very open to feedback and trying new things. - Lots of collaboration between sales team and technical managers/consultants. - Leadership is invested in learning and development, regular training sessions, and transparent with feedback and expectations. - Work hard - play hard environment.

    Cons

    - Sales team is spread out and there is often a dis connect on collaboration between tenured team members and new reps. - No proven track to success, still trying to figure out what works and what doesn't.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the positive reinforcement and celebrating the small wins with the bigger picture in mind.

    UDig2017-05-30

    UDig Response

    June 7, 2017Director of Marketing

    We are working every day to stress collaboration and team work as part of our core values. As we grow, developing process and best practices are paramount to our success and we value employees, such as yourself, who want to participate in helping us to define these processes. Keep ...

    Show More
  9. "Great culture, exciting industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UDig full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Big focus on delivering results for the clients Exciting projects in varied industries Fun, casual culture Collaborative environment Great work/life balance

    Cons

    Can't participate in 401k plan for 12 months

    Advice to Management

    Make sure to keep investing in your people and staying true to the brand strategy.

    UDig2017-05-15

    UDig Response

    June 7, 2017Director of Marketing

    Thanks for your feedback! We have given more recent attention in the last few months to our 401(k) plan with feedback from our employees. We have begun offering options that provide more immediate savings opportunities and hope that will help during our 12 month waiting enrollment ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Headed in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at UDig

    Pros

    Ability to impact and mold the organization as they solidify the transition into project based consulting. Leadership team highly approachable about feedback and welcoming to betterment and change.

    Cons

    Still completely figuring out their new voice. Part of the company is all on board with the changes and the other part is stuck in their ways and more resistant to the changes happening around them. Haven't started profiting heavily from their new work so most employees are underpaid for the value they bring to the organization.

    Advice to Management

    Recognize the value of your employees by investing in them financially AND culturally.

    UDig2017-05-24

    UDig Response

    June 7, 2017Director of Marketing

    Thank you for your feedback, we are definitely in the midst of a transformation as an organization. We are very focused on building a reputable consulting culture and creating an environment where employees are excited to help us in our journey. As you mentioned, we are very receptive ...

    Show More
Found 54 reviews