UFG Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor

UFG Insurance Reviews

Updated May 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
UFG Insurance CEO Randy A. Ramlo
Randy A. Ramlo
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is a sense of community at UFG(in 10 reviews)

  • "Company also still has a pension plan as well as parental leave(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Based on my experiences outside of UFG, I do not have any comments to report in this section(in 5 reviews)

  • "Expensive claims system doesn’t work and auto assigns claims to wrong adjusters(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "One of the Best!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Commercial Underwriter in Cedar Rapids, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UFG Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    UFG is the only place I have worked that I can truly say has an employee focused culture. Here you have a face & a name, opposed to just an employee number. Since it is a small/mid-size company your voice actually matters, and the ideas you have can actually change how & the way things are done. They provide their employees with opportunities to grow personally & professionally, and are really focused on the...

    Show More

    Cons

    Systems upgrade that is being worked on will help with efficiencies and to work more productively.

    Advice to Management

    Create more opportunities for knowledge transfer with so many upcoming retirements. With that, hire in advance with growth and retirements, while also continuing to hire the best people. Keep the employee focused culture, which makes it easy to do a good job for the company & our insureds.

    UFG Insurance2019-04-04
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Best Place I've Ever Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Cedar Rapids, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UFG Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great benefits - Exciting programs - Ongoing education opportunities - A genuinely caring workplace UFG is the first job I've had that didn't just 'talk the talk' about caring for its employees and providing them with opportunities and what they need to succeed. UFG genuinely cares about its employees and providing the best benefits, educations, social programs and opportunities for success available. More than that,...

    Show More

    Cons

    Every concern I might have regarding this workplace is already in the process of being addressed by upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course! The current goals for improving company culture and values is definitely the right path and if you stay focused on that, people will be happy. Recognition and acknowledgement are two areas in which you excel (at least in my department) - continue your focus on those, it makes a big difference

    UFG Insurance2019-04-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "This is a growing company with alit of opportunity for personal development and career advancement."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Underwriter in Cedar Rapids, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UFG Insurance full-time

    Pros

    The people are very friendly here. There is a big focus on career and personal development. Management looks out for their employees.

    Cons

    The company seems to be going through growing pains with larger than normal workloads. Salaries are quite a bit lower than similar jobs with similar educational backgrounds.

    Advice to Management

    I think the pay here is way below similar types of jobs at other companies. If you want to attract better talent with more experience and education I would look at adjusting salary ranges. Also, with the amount of growth we are experiencing we may want to look at hiring more employees to bring down the size of workloads. I think that the amount of work being forced on people is hindering the learning process especially...

    Show More
    UFG Insurance2019-05-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Business Analyst position and PMO office at UFG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Cedar Rapids, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UFG Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growth opportunity, great benefits, and the company invests in their employees

    Cons

    Culture is very established which can make change/adopting new methodologies slow and somewhat rocky.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in great people along with more efficient technology and methodologies.

    UFG Insurance2019-04-08
  5. "Join our team!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter in Cedar Rapids, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UFG Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    UFG has welcomed me with many smiling faces and helping hands. There is always someone there to help and guide me on my career path. UFG has awesome benefits as well as a great work life balance. I am not overloaded or stressed with work due to the fact that training is taken seriously. All together I feel valued and encouraged at UFG.

    Cons

    Our systems are old but updates are being made and a new system will be rolling out to eliminate that issue.

    UFG Insurance2019-04-08
  6. "Pleasantly surprised, the culture fit was perfect."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant in Cedar Rapids, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UFG Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is a sense of community at UFG. The company promotes work/life balance for employees, volunteerism, and numerous clubs and activities bringing colleagues together. Benefits are competitive with other well known and successful companies.

    Cons

    Based on my experiences outside of UFG, I do not have any comments to report in this section.

    UFG Insurance2019-04-04
  7. "Corporate Wellness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health and Wellness Director in Cedar Rapids, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UFG Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Welcoming, friendly, employees who truly have passion and respect for what they do! There is so much opportunity for growth here. I love it.

    Cons

    The parking is definitely difficult at times, since we are located downtown Cedar Rapids.

    UFG Insurance2019-04-04
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal Audit in Cedar Rapids, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UFG Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people and work environment are great. There is an excellent focus on work life balance. Benefits and compensation are comparable to other large area companies. UFG is one of the few companies that still has a pension plan.

    Cons

    Technology at the company needs to be improved.

    UFG Insurance2019-04-04
  9. "Great Place to Work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cedar Rapids, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UFG Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment, good work stations and office space. It feels as though everyone has an opportunity to contribute to the success of the company. -Onsite company gym -Yearly bonuses -Great Benefits -Pension Plan -Flexible Schedules -Competitive Pay

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. It seems to be working.

    UFG Insurance2019-04-04
  10. "Enjoying my time here so far."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal Auditor in Cedar Rapids, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UFG Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Tons of options for flexible work hours (four 10 hours days, four 9 hour days and a half day, etc.) which allow you to work when you want to. Working remotely is allowed when a family member is sick or you are sick which helps to maintain PTO. -Very Unique benefits. Corporate office has a free state of the art fitness center. Lots of employees work out over lunch which is cool to see. Company also still has a pension...

    Show More

    Cons

    -401(k) Employer matching is a little low compared to what I've seen at other companies. This is most likely due to the pension the company offers. -Company switched to HSA's only this year which is a little rough when you have kids that have to go to the doctor a lot.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in your younger employees. The company has done a great job creating a culture that should be able to retain young talent for the foreseeable future. Some recommendations I can make to improve. -Make a bigger contribution to first year employee's HSA's so that they can get a better safety net starting out. -Look into Student Loan assistance for recent grads and young employees. -Add textbook and material...

    Show More
    UFG Insurance2019-04-04
Found 58 reviews