W. R. Grace & Co. Reviews | Glassdoor

W. R. Grace & Co. Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 209 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
W. R. Grace & Co. CEO Hudson La Force
Hudson La Force
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good people, good benefits and great location(in 14 reviews)

  • "Great people working in a collaborative environment(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance could be improved(in 11 reviews)

  • "Upper level management constantly micromanages to the point that the mid-level managers have no autonomy or decision-making authority at all(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great, favourite job I've ever had."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician Specialist in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at W. R. Grace & Co. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Professionals treat me like an equal. Very kind and understanding management who care that you have a life outside of work. Flexible

    Cons

    After some of the previous jobs I've had, I have nothing to complain about Grace. It is a great place to work.

    W. R. Grace & Co.2019-07-03
  2. "A great summer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Intern in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at W. R. Grace & Co. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great pay - Fun intern events - Great working with a variety of people, including the fellow interns

    Cons

    - Could be a lot of downtime

    W. R. Grace & Co.2019-08-16
  3. "Good company to work and get experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - QC Lab Technician 

    I worked at W. R. Grace & Co. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary, Opportunities to move within the company, Good team environment, Safety is a priority

    Cons

    High turnover, work place is not very clean

    W. R. Grace & Co.2019-08-14
  4. "Great experience but hourly employees are difficult to get a long with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Foreman in Curtis Bay, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at W. R. Grace & Co. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary and 401k benefits. Great environment amongst upper management.

    Cons

    Working schedule is flawed. Work schedule is consistent but plant operates 365 days a year.

    Advice to Management

    Scheduled shut downs.

    W. R. Grace & Co.2019-07-02
  5. "An intelligent and energetic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at W. R. Grace & Co. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is so much innovation and creative thought taking place here. Employees are fully engaged in really moving the company (and our industry) forward with our contributions. This is a place where I feel like I can make a difference and have an impact and I am constantly impressed with the genius of my co-workers.

    Cons

    Some of the buildings (at HQ) are pretty dated, but I see some renovation going on so hope it comes my way.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course...good strategic direction.

    W. R. Grace & Co.2019-05-30
  6. "Nice and enjoyable place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paralegal 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at W. R. Grace & Co. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    On-site cafeteria Nice work environment cubicle setting Good benefits

    Cons

    No work from home options

    W. R. Grace & Co.2019-05-10
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internal Auditor in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at W. R. Grace & Co. for less than a year

    Pros

    Great internship experience, it got me a hand-on and in-field experience. I truly appreciate the opportunity.

    Cons

    None, I just wish I could work there longer.

    W. R. Grace & Co.2019-04-16
  8. "not a bad gig"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at W. R. Grace & Co. full-time

    Pros

    pay and benefits were good if you are not working shift hours are good

    Cons

    not enthusiastic to grow from within

    W. R. Grace & Co.2019-04-30
  9. "Marketing intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at W. R. Grace & Co. part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very nice and friendly! Great learning experience

    Cons

    Managers we're usually pretty busy

    W. R. Grace & Co.2019-03-27
  10. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EHS&S in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at W. R. Grace & Co. for less than a year

    Pros

    -employees are very friendly -lots of opportunities to learn -they make the internship program fun with a lot of scheduled fun events -final presentation with high level managers is a great learning experience

    Cons

    -somewhat disorganized internally, so hard to get things done efficiently -not really a con, but employees are extremely busy so interns sometimes have a hard time getting managers' attention

    W. R. Grace & Co.2019-02-16
Found 209 reviews