Western Express Reviews

Updated May 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Western Express President Paul Wieck (no image)
Paul Wieck
455 Ratings
Pros
  • "Your DM will work with you as a team so you can get home time plus money(in 35 reviews)

  • "Good miles, good money and good people combined with priority home time(in 34 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Home time depends on where you stay(in 48 reviews)

  • "Some of out trailers are in rough shape(in 32 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      happy with new pay

      May 13, 2021 - Truck Driver in Plainfield, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      i get good miles and money

      Cons

      they need better night crew

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Western Express

      May 6, 2021 - Class A CDL Professional Driver in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been working for Western Express for the last 5 months. I have to say I have grown in so many ways as a new driver. My DM (Jimmy) listens to my concerns about time management and being successful. The company overall is trying to improve with drivers that care about their equipment and making money. Western Express is known for being a starter company...i have turned into a professional driver and they have increased my pay to the point of its competitive with other companies. I drive a 2021 Freightliner they are constantly bringing in new trucks. My pay is always accurate and they listen to me and work with me. If you are just starting out this is a great company to start with...i think I will stay!

      Cons

      Low pay but now I just jumped to $.46 a mile. I think that their trainers need to have more than 3 months experience in order to produce a confident driver.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Western Express Response

      Marketing Coordinator

      Hey there! Thanks for the positive review. So glad things are going well for you. We're definitely proud of the new pay increase. You guys have certainly earned it! We're constantly evaluating our driver trainers as well as all safety concerns and requirements and will make sure that everyone is getting both the quantity and quality of training that they need. Thanks again and feel free to reach out to us at any time!

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Fuel management

      Apr 20, 2021 - OTR Driver in Morrisonville, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall, the company has treated me very well oh, especially the DMs, the reason why I've been with the company for now 10 years.

      Cons

      Micromanaging and nonsensical fuel restriction. When requesting fuel, I did not get a fuel solution, but a question, that being, what was wrong with the original fuel solution? I didn't have time nor the patience to answer the question so I delivered the load with what I had. But I will answer the question now. I did not need the fuel in Pennsylvania with 5/8ths of a tank, I did not want it at the time ,because I wanted to get past the state scales first, it was a little out of route, I always enter less fuel than I actually have, so I knew my situation better than both you and the computer, I also knew how much fuel I actually had and basically how far I could go, and finally to Western Express and the fuel Department, you're welcome for saving you money at the pump by bypassing the original fuel solution.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Kubri 29363

      May 11, 2021 - KUBA in Bethlehem, Alexander, NC, Optional[NC]
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Reliable, accommodating, good working relationship, good training program, and good trip planning

      Cons

      Slow in checking the trucks, the tarps are old, slow in updating the inspection book, slow in road side assistance.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Glad I stayed

      May 11, 2021 - Truck Driver in Bethlehem, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Always said it was a good company now they up the pay got to say it’s gonna be a great company

      Cons

      The pay was the only downside but can’t complain about that no more

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      just getting started

      May 13, 2021 - Truck Driver in Richmond, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      new pay package is great. home time every weekend is also much appreciated

      Cons

      no real cons so far so good!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      good team pay

      May 12, 2021 - Truck Driver in Bethlehem, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      i driver with a friend and we make good money

      Cons

      sometimes waiting to be loaded takes a while

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      so far so good

      May 10, 2021 - Truck Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      happy to be in my own truck now, excited to get rolling on my own and happy to have the dm that i have

      Cons

      no cons that i can think of yet

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      I love this company

      Feb 3, 2021 - Truck Driver in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have nothing bad to say about this company. I have heard a lot of negative things when I first started work here. I cant really say anything bad. I am new and have lots to learn but they have been nothing but nice and very helpful. My DM Avery Mckinley ( shout out to him) is absolutely amazing. He is the best. He is on point and professional. He is the best!! He never makes me leaves me hanging. If I need something he makes sure I have what I need. He does everything he can to make sure me and his team have what we need and know what we need to know. I just cant say enough because he is that awesome!

      Cons

      I cant really say anything bad about this company. First off I have a job and they have been nothing but good to me. They work with you when you have issues in your personal life. They keep you rolling and they are great.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      Apr 19, 2021 - Truck Driver in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My dm Lisa chaffin is wonderful. She talks and treats everyone with respect ad she works with you if you have any kind of problem. It is a great 2nd chance company. Western gave me another chance when I thought my trucking career was over. I am very grateful.

      Cons

      The only con I really have is sometimes the gps wi take you on a alternate route but every company has their cons. It just depends on how much money you want to make. If you want runs western will give them to you but if you want to be lazy and not run alot you won't get alot of runs.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 824 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Western Express Job Seekers

    Truck Driver
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Western Express? Share Your Experiences

    Western Express logo
    or