KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Workopolis

Is this your company?

Workopolis

Add a Review

Workopolis Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 79 of over 90 reviews

3.1
47%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Workopolis President Andrea Ziegler
Andrea Ziegler
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and lots of interesting work(in 13 reviews)

  • "Great culture and work colleagues(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The senior management response is to have a secretive Mass layoff (30 people in Nov 2012) to save face with the board(in 4 reviews)

  • "no room(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Dying company

      Oct 24, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun working atmosphere, great parties, strong teams

      Cons

      Management directions, layoffs, lots of voluntary departure, focus on sales rather on technology

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great working environment

      Jul 15, 2021 - Financial Analyst in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture. Freedom to work autonomously. Lots of responsibility and accountability. Good pay. reasonable working hours

      Cons

      Difficult competitive envrionment ultimately led to the company being sold. tough decisions needed to be made yearly (restructuring)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Very difficult and irrational management - not worth it

      Feb 10, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Markham, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Office space and specious nice

      Cons

      This is to review real estate developer with the head office at 85 Renfrew Drive, Markham - for everyone who is considering being employed by this company - think twice. The management is exceptionally toxic thinking that everything should be either their way or no way. There is no dialog between the management and employees - just the instructions that you have to follow without questing them. They only want to see in their employees obedience and submissiveness. Unfortunately, being a young company with a different cultural background without any experience working in Canada and Ontario, their instructions also usually range from simply ridiculous borderline outrages. If you don't want to loose your good professional reputation and your voice, do not go work there. PS did I mentioned that they will constantly expect you to do overtime without any extra pay?

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good Company

      Mar 15, 2021 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great People Good Culture Good Location Fun Events Good People

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Not bad

      Feb 16, 2021 - Currently Unemployed in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work structure, adept at management, good customer service

      Cons

      Carrot dangle criteria, insufficient work ratings

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good company

      Jul 16, 2020 - Data Scientist in Mumbai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best team work and can get lot of experience here

      Cons

      work load and there is no time limit

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      A Case Study in Disruption

      Jan 25, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you were fortunate to land on the right team in the right era, real investment and mentoring was available. Some pockets of the company had remarkable cohesion and deep talent. During its heyday, Workopolis invested in technology and talent and produced some good results. Periods of good leadership.

      Cons

      Workopolis was a marketing company that ultimately couldn't compete against engineering focused companies. Failure to adapt and respond, sacred cows, refusal to properly acknowledge and learn from mistakes, and internal misalignment contributed to its demise. Lack of insights and over reliance on Hail Mary products that never successfully materialized left it ripe for disruption. Arrogance in certain senior leaders destroyed much of the good culture.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee

      It was wonderful for a time

      Mar 2, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture at Workopolis was extraordinary. I've worked at other organizations praised for great cultures, but the people at Workopolis really made it a great place to work. One notable example--when longtime employees left the company, we'd have a sendoff party and former employees, some who hadn't worked there in years, would come to the celebration.

      Cons

      Unfortunately, the company was dragged down by a crippling re-platforming in 2007 or so, and the tech debt hampered it for many years. Also, the owners seemed content to invest in marketing over technology or product.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      If I were to leave Workopolis one day, the people will be what I miss the most.

      Apr 21, 2014 - Corporate Development in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've worked at large corporations before. In a lot of big companies, you feel like a number as you are just one of the hundreds of people working in the office...But here at Workopolis, people are so nice and respectful. People care about each other. It actually feels like a family. I started with an entry level position and I always feel that I have a say in the projects I'm involved with. And it is a really great feeling when your voice is heard and appreciated by the management. I am really lucky to have a great manager who is very supportive and caring. I feel really comfortable to come to her whenever I have a question or problem at work. And with her help, I was able to grow both personally and professionally.

      Cons

      Sometimes communication between departments can be an issue. For the same project, different people may not have the same level of commitment.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Fantastic place to work and belong

      Nov 23, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing Culture, Solid Compensation, Good Benefits, Great Autonomy, Excellent Vacation, Excellent Leadership Team - this is a unique place to work. People really matter and leadership cares about both you and what you deliver to the organization equally. Overall, my time here has been engaging, fun, and challenging. Totally pleased with the experience.

      Cons

      Data Systems are inconsistent but improving, Pricing is ever evolving and a bit slow to keep pace with the industry, Consistency of service delivery and support can be improved. Times are tough these days with all of the new competition entering the market but we're still doing a great job delivering results.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 79 Reviews

    Work at Workopolis? Share Your Experiences

    Workopolis logo
    or