ampm Reviews | Glassdoor

ampm Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 128 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
ampm CEO Lamar McKay
Lamar McKay
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "Stable work, good business structure, flexible hours, awesome staff, basic questions for interview the manager is really nice and understanding(in 4 reviews)

  • "Great place to work and benefits(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sometimes you are required to work long hours(in 7 reviews)

  • "Never closed work holudays long hours little pay no benefits(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company for a start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Torrance, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at ampm part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    it helped me to gain my Associate Degree

    Cons

    not the relevant field of work for me for my knowledge , ability and education

    ampm2019-07-25
  2. "Nice ppl clean place gas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at ampm part-time

    Pros

    Clean gas station nice ppl

    Cons

    Gas pumps sux gas sux everything over priced debit fee

    Advice to Management

    Lower store items get new gas pumps give employees rise.

    ampm2019-09-16
  3. "Revolving door of mangers and employees and homeless people and drug addicts are always around."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Colton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ampm part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a job if you need one

    Cons

    They want you to work harder but give you no incentive to want to

    ampm2019-08-28
  4. "Convenience store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Carson City, NV

    I have been working at ampm full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fast paced and customer relationships.

    Cons

    Trying to find and keep employees

    ampm2019-06-29
  5. "Asst manager ampm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at ampm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1 week of paid vacation

    Cons

    Don’t have much of a say so Long hours Owners will micromanage you No benefits No sick days

    Advice to Management

    Better training for all associates including the managers Managers should also show a little bit more respect and compassion to other employees. Should also empathize

    ampm2019-06-26
  6. "Good place to start, not to stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Night Crew in Manteca, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ampm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *Good way to earn more pay

    Cons

    *Night work is harder to balance with work/life

    Advice to Management

    If an employee works alone, you need to let them know (and the morning crew know) they should LIMIT the spectrum of what they are expected to do. Do not expect perfection unless you hire another person to help them. If you say "must work Saturdays and Sundays" don't shrug off your workers leaving early without reason. This happens too often at these jobs and a meek manager is easily exploited by this behavior... if it continues. Do not say "ensure prevention loss" if the police response is "we won't prosecute". Especially when the store owners opinion WILL differ as compared to managers.

    Show More
    ampm2019-07-09
  7. "overall all bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ampm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    there is not best reason

    Cons

    standing 8 hours at least

    ampm2019-07-21
  8. "handling transaction and operate cash register"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ampm part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The job was flexibility, so I can work on my free time from school

    Cons

    Not much I can complain about it.

    ampm2019-06-03
  9. "Only family situation matters except the managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Casa Grande, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ampm full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You might get close to 40 hours after 10 + years if family members need the day off. You will get 40 hours if dating the manager and if in the country illegally will be paid under the table and receive a choice of shift.

    Cons

    All employees are belittled unless related to the manager

    Advice to Management

    Care about all employees and term of service. Take care of employees and they will respect you. Don't pay special treatment to the family.

    ampm2019-06-29
  10. "Great Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Apple Valley, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at ampm full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Love the customers that come in

    Cons

    Graveyard shift isn't my cup of tea

    ampm2019-05-15
Found 128 reviews
</>Embed