dSPACE Reviews | Glassdoor

dSPACE Reviews

Updated 27 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
97%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
dSPACE CEO Herbert Hanselmann (no image)
Herbert Hanselmann
17 Ratings
  1. "Great innovative company with hands on experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Wixom, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at dSPACE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Multiple learning possibilities. This company offers exposure to the entire Automotive and Aerospace industry. Challenging projects. Each day is different.

    Cons

    Benefits and vacation are not special in the industry.

    Advice to Management

    DSpace in surrounded by competitive companies management needs to increase attractiveness. Better health/dental plan, more vacation, free lunch...

    dSPACE2019-09-28
  2. "Very nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Controls Engineer in Rolling Meadows, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at dSPACE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good work environment and people

    Cons

    very hard to progress within the company

    dSPACE2019-07-17
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Wixom, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at dSPACE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice office, flexible schedule. Upper management means well.

    Cons

    Can work long hours at year's end.

    Advice to Management

    Stop the revolving door of hiring and find a way to keep good people.

    dSPACE2018-10-16
  4. "Hardware Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at dSPACE full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Company Bonus policy,

    Cons

    There are communication issues

    Advice to Management

    Communicate better with new employees on specific topics. Time off, how to fill out time sheet, decrease use of tribal knowledge.

    dSPACE2018-09-04
  5. "Great small company to feel like you make a difference, and big enough to feel like you're a part of something"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wixom, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at dSPACE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This company has many things to offer regarding stability, opportunity for growth and professionalism. People come here to work and take pride in it. You feel like management cares about your overall happiness. Daily coffee and Friday breakfasts are only a few of the small ways we are taken care of. Company events and activities are regular and help make it easy to meet and mingle with everyone even if they are not... in your department. Meet a group of diverse people and work for a company that develops technology for the future. It's good to feel good about coming to work every day.

    Show More

    Cons

    The flex hours make it really hard to have a work-life balance.... said no one ever.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening, offering advice and being open to new ideas.

    dSPACE2018-01-10
  6. "Incredible Engineering Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engineering Intern in Wixom, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at dSPACE

    Pros

    Awesome people, good atmosphere, free breakfast on Fridays (good breakfast too), great learning opportunity, get to put your knowledge and understanding to the test when it comes to circuits and software, overall challenging (in the good way).

    Cons

    No good coffee creamer, only half-and-half is offered...

    Advice to Management

    Get good coffee creamer, nobody likes half-and-half.

    dSPACE2016-10-28
  7. "Ongoing Chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at dSPACE for more than 3 years

    Pros

    We need to work somewhere, right? Free coffee.

    Cons

    Management is lacking. High turnover. Limited leadership and poor internal communication.

    dSPACE2016-10-21
  8. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at dSPACE

    Pros

    Great company culture. A lot of talented people who are committed to their work. The opportunity to work with cutting edge products and applications that will drive the automotive, aerospace and argcultural industries into the future.

    Cons

    The company has few advancement opportunities .

    dSPACE2016-06-30
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Applications Engineer in Wixom, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at dSPACE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work can be very interesting and is very relevant to industry trends (dSPACE helps make the trends). I would recommend this job for young engineers hungry for experience. You get paid to learn industry leading tools and processes, which can be applied directly at your next job, or you can have a nice long career there if you want.

    Cons

    It's a small company, and the US presence is mostly sales and customer support. Senior engineers may find this stifling because you rarely get to develop your own thing. Mostly you take what you're given from Germany and you tweak it to accommodate special requirements. There are lots of exceptions to this, but since it's a small company you're really at mercy of whatever the immediate business needs are. I also... found the rewards and recognition to be lacking. They didn't really have a mechanism for rewarding exceptional performance when I was there. I consider myself a super-talent and the work I produced went far beyond anyone's expectations (even my perf review basically said this) but when it came time to make me feel valued and wanted with year end bonuses they really came up short (by at least an order of magnitude, maybe two). Everyone knew I was good, and treated me with great respect, but they didn't put their money where their mouths were.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have a more competitive incentive structure that does more to compete with silicon valley. Do more engineering work in the US. Hire hungry junior engineers and train them because I think it's going to be easier than trying to retain senior talent. Also a more attractive location could help (nice building, but Wixom is kind of a dump, IMO).

    dSPACE2016-01-11
  10. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Wixom, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at dSPACE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work with talented people, Interesting technology, Plenty to learn, challenging work, most of the groups had good leadership.

    Cons

    Opportunities within the company are available, but limited due to the size of the company. Understaffing causes a lot of stress with deadlines.

    Advice to Management

    Need better communication with developers.

    dSPACE2016-01-10
Found 32 reviews