italki Reviews | Glassdoor

italki Reviews

Updated Dec 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
italki CEO Yongyue Jiang (no image)
Yongyue Jiang
13 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Italki-Language"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at italki

    Pros

    I so enjoy teaching English as a second language to adult learners on Italki. Quick response time from support.

    Cons

    At times people will sign up for a class that I got no notification for until after they cancelled.

    italki2019-04-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Was great, now overrun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Teacher in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at italki part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Super flexible, awesome system, don’t have to learn advertising

    Cons

    Too many teachers, they take 15%, teaching in general is difficult because you have to use your voice all day and it’s awful

    Advice to Management

    Make user experience better for teachers (already great for students)

    italki2019-12-20
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Good Freelance Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Professional Teacher 

    I worked at italki part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Quick responses to support requests.

    Cons

    Saturated field with many teachers traveling in third world countries that afford them a lower cost of living and driving the prices of professional teachers down for the rest of us who have higher cost of living.

    italki2019-03-24
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Fun Part Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at italki part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to help a lot of interesting people from all around the world.

    Cons

    There isn't a lot of flexibility with the types of lessons that you can offer students.

    italki2019-02-20
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Too many trolls"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Tutor in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at italki full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible time schedule, students from all over the world

    Cons

    Too many students asking for free lessons

    Advice to Management

    Encourage students to behave and respect teachers

    italki2019-02-10
  6. Helpful (12)

    "Constant emails requesting free lessons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at italki part-time

    Pros

    Lots of students around the world to connect with

    Cons

    Wow. I made my account and within hours was flooded with messages from students asking to do a "language exchange" (e.g. they teach you their language and you teach them your language). I also received many emails from men who were clearly interested in...something other than learning English. I didn't respond to those messages and some of them quickly turned hostile with the men swearing at me in both English and their language. I reported them and deactivated my account. It wasn't worth the headache...especially since most English teachers are charging $15 or less an hour.

    Show More
    italki2018-08-06
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Washington, DC

    I worked at italki

    Pros

    Adult students whom are very eager and very interested. Very convenient working from home. Flexible hours. You can work as little or as much as you wish.

    Cons

    There are no cons really.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    italki2017-04-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Marketing Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at italki full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic product, helping people all around the world learn languages. Fun and creative environment, with the team always looking to innovate. Accessible and open founders who are constantly trying to grow the business -- and put a lot of focus on the staff (outings, personal development). For me, was one of the most enjoyable companies I have worked at.

    Cons

    It's a startup tech company, and with that you always need to be open to constant change.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest back into the staff, like you've been doing

    italki2016-12-16
  9. Helpful (3)

    "working at italki"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at italki full-time

    Pros

    - Lot of creative freedom - exciting edtech space - get free credits to learn languages - fun team and workspace

    Cons

    - pushing new features into production tends to happen very slowly - multilingual workspace can make it tricky to communicate at times

    Advice to Management

    not much - great people in charge. things got better and better over time during my employment their. trending positively.

    italki2016-12-11
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at italki

    Pros

    Great opportunity to earn extra income and learn about different cultures around the globe. Meet different people and have interesting talks about culture etc. Have friends all over the world! Remote

    Cons

    Low wages to start with for all the time and effort put in. If you want to make at least minimum wage working at italki you will have to start off around 5 or 6 per hour.

    Advice to Management

    Make minimum hourly rate higher, or reduce commission amount. Overall however good service.

    italki2016-05-28
Found 31 reviews