A9.com Reviews | Glassdoor

A9.com Reviews

Updated Jan 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
A9.com General Manager Brian Pinkerton (no image)
Brian Pinkerton
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good team of people, constant knowledge, flexible work life balance(in 10 reviews)

  • "people are smart, offices are nice in downtown palo alto(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Good because we get to utilize some of Amazon's resources, bad because Amazon is not as personal as A9(in 7 reviews)

  • "Office space is too crammed, only 2 buildings near each other in Palo Alto, sharing one office room with 3-4 people(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Architect in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A9.com full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good team of people, constant knowledge, flexible work life balance

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Continue reading
    A9.com2020-01-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Average working experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Scientist 

    I worked at A9.com full-time

    Pros

    Good working environment, nice location.

    Cons

    Working in small teams. Expensive housing

    A9.com2019-11-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "getting worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at A9.com full-time

    Pros

    more amazon like after 2018

    Cons

    still have some free food

    A9.com2019-06-25
  4. "Learn a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer-II in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A9.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learning a lot while working here (ML, in particular)

    Cons

    Product management / high level project needs improvement.

    A9.com2019-02-26
  5. "Quality Assurance Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at A9.com full-time

    Pros

    - Good work life balance - Free snacks , free drinks , lot of internal events (Halloween, Chinese new year, Saint Patrick)

    Cons

    - No promotion or career path for QA analysts

    A9.com2019-01-14
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Messed up company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A9.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Small company - but part of big company we get the benefits of amazon AMZN is doing great!

    Cons

    * I did not find anything enthusiastic to work about.. * Higher management tells what others should work upon and IC's cant contribute ideas.

    A9.com2018-06-12
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Have loved working here for over 10 years!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A9.com full-time

    Pros

    Although A9 has continued to grow tremendously each year, we've managed to maintain our start-up feel. The company is very employee-centric rather than corporate, and I feel that A9 really does care about its employees.

    Cons

    A9 is starting to become more and more Amazonian, which is both good and bad. Good because we get to utilize some of Amazon's resources, bad because Amazon is not as personal as A9. With new leadership, what has made A9 special for all these years is disappearing, so more and more people are moving on.

    Continue reading
    A9.com2018-03-12
  8. "Great place with a lot of learning opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategic Partner Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A9.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture. Inspired teams with managers that have quite a bit of experience navigating large organizations.

    Cons

    A9 is a lean team, but growing aggressively with the support of leadership.

    A9.com2018-01-26
  9. "QAA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QAA in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A9.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    We work on very cool projects.

    Cons

    Things can move slowly sometimes

    A9.com2018-01-31
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Technical Data Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A9.com full-time

    Pros

    Great Culture. Full of intelligent and energetic people around you to encourage learning.

    Cons

    Promotion from mid to higher level is hard

    A9.com2017-12-13
Found 50 reviews