AAAS Reviews | Glassdoor

AAAS Reviews

Updated Jan 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
45%
Recommend to a Friend
AAAS CEO Sudip Parikh
Sudip Parikh
0 Rating
Pros
  • "Good company culture, nice office, HR puts on events pretty frequently, good benefits(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great benefits if salaries are a bit low(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sadly, they have become less like a non-profit and more like an corporation that has no heart(in 5 reviews)

  • "Senior management issues throughout organization(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "A once-in-a-career experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Science and Technology Policy Fellow in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at AAAS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Offers the chance to exercise and build scientific skills in a federal agency and to work with top-tier agency scientists. Excellent professional development and mentorship opportunities. Competitive salary that takes your earnings history into account. Many placements include a health benefits package.

    Cons

    The fellowship's professional development offerings are aimed more at early-career than mid-career scientists. However, I found it easy to work with my host office and other fellows to get what I wanted out of the program.

    AAAS2019-07-10

    AAAS Response

    August 23, 2019Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. If you would like to chat further, please feel free to contact our HR Department at HRSupport@aaas.org. Best of luck in your future endeavors. - Shannon

    Continue reading
  2. "Need for investment, stability for employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editorial Coordinator in Washington, DC

    I have been working at AAAS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great mission, measurable success, good coworkers.

    Cons

    We've had a lot of recent changes in leadership. Weak effort to reassure employees. They rely on hiring temps, don't address pay disparities. They provide no clear path for improvement or progress or raises. The work can be tedious. The employees are some of the biggest assets, but it doesn't seem like AAAS knows that.

    Continue reading
    AAAS2020-01-29

    AAAS Response

    February 7, 2020Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. If you would like to speak with someone from HR, we are more than welcome to discuss your concerns. Please feel free to contact me at: SBenson@aaas.org.

    Continue reading
  3. "Unethical Aggressive Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AAAS full-time

    Pros

    hard to say anything positive at this disappointing time

    Cons

    toxic organizational culture, horrible treatment of employees, favoritism, boys club at the top

    AAAS2019-12-19

    AAAS Response

    February 7, 2020Director, Human Resources

    I am so sorry to hear this. As the Director of Human Resources, I believe your feedback is critical. If you would like to provide additional thoughts/comments, please feel free to contact me at: Sbenson@aaas.org. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Siloed, outdated, and unfocused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AAAS

    Pros

    Very good benefits including a great retirement match, lots of sick time, and good location

    Cons

    I've worked in multiple departments but this has only confirmed my original feeling that everything AAAS does is outdated and in severe need of improvement. The teams even in the same department are extremely siloed and there are uncountable amounts of money being wasted on old unnecessary systems and different teams doing the same work (but not talking). I don't know how to turn this around as it has been this way the entire time I've been here with multiple managers. We're getting a new CEO soon so maybe there is some hope that we can finally make some changes

    Continue reading
    AAAS2019-11-08

    AAAS Response

    November 15, 2019Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. As the Director of Human Resources, I value your thoughts and concerns. If you would like to discuss your experiences with AAAS further, please feel free to contact me directly - Shannon Benson (sbenson@aaas.org). Thank you.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "A Good Stepping Stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editorial Coordinator in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AAAS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I learned a lot about scientific publishing and non-profit culture. The people are nice.

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for growth and low pay.

    AAAS2019-07-29

    AAAS Response

    August 23, 2019Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. If you would like to chat further, please feel free to contact our HR Department at HRSupport@aaas.org. Best of luck in your future endeavors. - Shannon

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Big red flags"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AAAS

    Pros

    Benefits Retirement Office is nice, but a ton of open offices

    Cons

    Publishing lacks direction Sales is run by customer service Culture of fear and back stabbing

    AAAS2019-08-20

    AAAS Response

    August 23, 2019Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. As the Director of Human Resources, I value your thoughts and concerns. If you would like to discuss your experiences with AAAS further, please feel free to contact me directly - Shannon Benson (sbenson@aaas.org). Thank you.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Tail wags the dog"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AAAS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Generous retirement plan, good location. Interesting work

    Cons

    Organizational priorities are unclear. No consequences for poor performance and no recognition of excellent performance. Departments that should work together are siloed. Some departments are put on a pedestal, making work for the rest of us more difficult. There is a lack of consistent standards and expectations. Advancement within is simply a waiting game, not due to merit. SB: please do not leave a note on this review. We've already met and discussed.

    Continue reading
    AAAS2019-05-29

    AAAS Response

    June 13, 2019Director, Human Resources

    Ok. Wanted to thank you for your feedback though and I'm here if you want to chat more. SB

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Don't waste your time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Services Associate in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AAAS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -WMATA benefits -Holidays off -Close to metro

    Cons

    -Workload -HR extremely unorganized -Pay was low -Management

    AAAS2019-05-03

    AAAS Response

    May 8, 2019Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. As the Director of Human Resources, I value your thoughts and concerns. If you would like to discuss your experiences with AAAS further, please feel free to contact me directly - Shannon Benson (sbenson@aaas.org). Thank you.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AAAS full-time

    Pros

    The mission of the organization is extremely important and meaningful

    Cons

    No transparency regarding motivations and goals in executive office/leadership actions that directly impact staff, total disconnect b/t leadership and staff, misaligned priorities in needed goal to align achieve sustainable financing. Unbelievable salary disparity between staff and top executives in face of financial hard time.

    AAAS2019-01-06

    AAAS Response

    January 15, 2019Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. As the HR Director here at AAAS, I would love to meet with you to discuss your concerns further. Please feel free to reach out to me (Shannon Benson - sbenson@aaas.org) directly. Thank you again.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (7)

    "A non-profit mission with corporate leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AAAS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Exposure to a lot of interesting people and areas of science that keep the day-to-day work interesting -Flexibility in my own position to try new things and come up with new ways to get my tasks done -A lot of the staff who work on various programs are passionate and committed to their jobs -Good benefits

    Cons

    -Senior leadership is fairly disrespectful to staff as a whole. As a result, many of us get our work done in spite of guidance from executives, not because of it. Executives will say one thing to appease you and then do the opposite behind your back -Executives recognize that we need to modernize in a lot of ways, but a lot of initiatives don't work out because of poor planning and no transparency with the staff who will actually execute the initiatives -There is a general sense that we're going in the wrong direction. The people who run the programs (the bread and butter of AAAS) don't have the ear of the executives like those in membership, publishing, etc. do. The result is that the programs are treated as an afterthought and it often feels like the executive team's main goal is to make money. This is a problem, because AAAS is a non-profit, not a corporation, so we have to balance our revenue-generating activities with the programs that we exist to provide to the public.

    Continue reading
    AAAS2018-11-04

    AAAS Response

    November 16, 2018Director, Human Resources

    The AAAS Management team appreciates that you have brought your concerns to our attention. We consider our doors open to all employees and I invite you to schedule a confidential meeting with me (Shannon Benson, Director of Human Resources) to continue the conversation. I hope to hear from you and thank you for your feedback.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 76 reviews
</>Embed