ACDI/VOCA Reviews | Glassdoor

ACDI/VOCA Reviews

Updated May 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Charles J Hall
1 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "New Leadership, Positive Changes & Renewed Spirit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ACDI/VOCA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Organization is committed to positive change, growth, and learning. New leadership in the organization has led to improved morale, some terrific hires and re-hires, and improved policies. The COO really shines. Her work ethic is tremendous and she has played a pivitol role in reshaping the organization into one committed to collaboration, operational excellence, and providing new opportunities for all staff, with...

    Show More

    Cons

    Long hours when on proposals can be tough. Some policies could continue to be simplified and improved.

    Advice to Management

    Enhance policies like maternity/paternity leave and staff wellness to build on the family-friendly environment.

    ACDI/VOCA2019-03-10
  2. "I enjoyed it at first but became disillusioned because of management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Project Coordinator in Washington, DC

      I worked at ACDI/VOCA full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Interesting work and nice people to work with

      Cons

      It was too management heavy - I didn't feel management cared about the lower ranks

      ACDI/VOCA2019-05-24
    • Helpful (5)

      "No comments"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at ACDI/VOCA full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good compensation package, but not worth the drama.

      Cons

      Company culture is very similar to any high school.

      ACDI/VOCA2018-08-17
    • Helpful (2)

      "Re-energized and moving in the right direction (and fast)"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at ACDI/VOCA full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Take the negative reviews with a grain of salt. This organization is pushed forward by its talented and dedicated staff and strong leadership that's about to get even stronger. The COO brought new energy and focus. She had to make some tough decisions but managed to create an open and positive environment in the midst of a tightening market. New Biz VP is streamlining new business operations - a few recent wins...

      Show More

      Cons

      There is some internal dysfunction that sometimes holds things back. Heavy new business workload. Junior and mid-level staff tend to leave when there is no room for them to grow (however, this is not uncommon for this industry). A limited selection of good restaurants and HH options in the area. :)

      Advice to Management

      Keep at it.

      ACDI/VOCA2018-05-03
    • Helpful (2)

      "Seeds for change being planted now will reap long-term benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Associate Director in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at ACDI/VOCA full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      As you may read from some of these other posts, it's no lie that ACDI/VOCA has been through a lot over the past few years. However, former CEO (and CEO listed here as of the time of this posting, it's outdated) has been out as of December 2017, which is a good thing. COO/Interim CEO has been doing a great job since then--very accessible and transparent--and I am optimistic about the new CEO coming in June/July based on...

      Show More

      Cons

      Working on new business can feel relentless.

      Advice to Management

      The seeds for change that are being planted now will reap long-term benefits. This is good news, but may leave employees feeling disgruntled in the short-term. Be sure to address these issues as valid, timely matters, or they'll disease the seeds before harvest.

      ACDI/VOCA2018-05-01
    • Helpful (1)

      "Recent review of COO/CEO"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at ACDI/VOCA full-time

      Pros

      COO/CEO has done so much to make improvements to what was a pretty difficult and disorganized situation. Many problems existed and had festered for some time. She dug in and started to address these problems - with success.

      Cons

      Competition in our space has increased as the pie has gotten smaller; but, we are not alone in that dilemma. Otherwise it is a very upbeat pleasant place with intelligent and resourceful people.

      Advice to Management

      Stay! Good things are happening!

      ACDI/VOCA2018-04-30
    • Helpful (4)

      "A slow lingering death but profitable for the few"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Director in Washington, DC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at ACDI/VOCA full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Proximity to several bars and food trucks.

      Cons

      COO/CEO is worse than who she replaced.

      Advice to Management

      Leave. Just go. Every single one of you. You are responsible for bringing a once fine organization to its knees.

      ACDI/VOCA2018-04-28
    • Helpful (4)

      "The Sears Robuck of Development AID"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at ACDI/VOCA full-time

      Pros

      Decent Pay and Benefits Free Cake last Thursday of the Month

      Cons

      Constant Employee Turnover Layoffs Common Reinvent Themselves "Constantly" but Nothing Works Loosing More Grants than it Wins More Layoffs Expected

      Advice to Management

      Close Shop

      ACDI/VOCA2018-03-23
    • Helpful (3)

      "A lot of great change"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Director in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at ACDI/VOCA full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Over the past year there has been a lot of positive change in the organization. New leadership is building an improved team and rightsize the organization. Recent wins have energized staff. Respectful and supportive management.

      Cons

      Our industry overall is going through a lot of upheaval that is a natural symptom of the current political system. As an NGO we need to assess our role in the overall field of development.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the hard work. Teams are supportive of your efforts and we are all on the same page to get us to the next level of our organization.

      ACDI/VOCA2017-11-14
    • Helpful (3)

      "awesome"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at ACDI/VOCA full-time

      Pros

      great position and work life balance was amazing

      Cons

      cannot think of one. Really a great company

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work

      ACDI/VOCA2017-11-09
    Found 64 reviews