ACRT Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

ACRT Services Reviews

Updated Dec 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
60%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
ACRT Services Chief Executive Officer Michael B. Weidner (no image)
Michael B. Weidner
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "Variety of work schedules, independence in the field, company vehicle, upward and lateral mobility(in 12 reviews)

  • "Company truck/Compensated for gas(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "It will take a year to really evaluate if you are making the right decisions on whether to prune trees(in 7 reviews)

  • "Low pay, make you pay the taxes on your own work truck(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Opportunities abound!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stow, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ACRT Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    ACRT is a rapidly growing company in a service industry that demands a high level of professionalism and challenges but produces great amounts of opportunity for personal and professional growth. Pay and benefits are in line with the industry. Company vehicles, flexibility and the ability to work independently are important factors to me. There is a strong safety culture and a respect for employees as it is an employee owned company.

    Show More

    Cons

    ACRT is in the contract labor market and is subject to shifts in the economy and frivolous litigation.

    Advice to Management

    Dont ever lose sight of the culture that built ACRT.

    ACRT Services2019-09-03
  2. "Love it so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rover in Concord, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ACRT Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Travel, OT, starting pay, training.

    Cons

    Some of the finances as a rover were not explained to me

    Advice to Management

    More contact, information

    ACRT Services2019-12-30
  3. "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consulting Utility Forester 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ACRT Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Independent work and being outside

    Cons

    Low pay, make you pay the taxes on your own work truck.

    ACRT Services2019-10-23
  4. "Good stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consulting Utility in Little Rock, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ACRT Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Freedom, independence, low stress and outside work

    Cons

    Pay is not great, but upward movement possible

    ACRT Services2019-09-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "ACRT CUF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consulting Utility Forester I in Auburn, CA

    I worked at ACRT Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company truck/Compensated for gas Available overtime if you want it Work outside (good or bad thing depending on the weather) Good path to ISA arborist certification if you are looking for it As long as you are doing your job, Supervisors have your back. Felt like a supportive environment Not a lot of experience needed, learn on the job If you have a lot of energy and like to stay active this job is great

    Show More

    Cons

    Mandatory overtime Training period felt very short. First projects you work on are going to make you feel dumb Need to deal with upset property owners fairly frequently Working in poor weather conditions, poor environmental condition. Always have to look out for poison oak/rattlesnakes Unclear/inconsistent policy, changing frequently. The company is behind schedule and made clear their priority is "catching up" to the years milestone but some of the policies feel like they slow down their workers Unless you want to be a supervisor for the company/ work in this field directly, here aren't any hard skills that can be transferred to other fields

    Show More
    ACRT Services2019-09-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Independence at a Very High Cost"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consulting Utility Forester 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ACRT Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Spend many days in the great outdoors walking through beautiful landscapes others never glimpse.

    Cons

    Extremely dangerous job for incredibly low pay!! While the solo nature of the work appealed to me, this is not a job that anyone should perform alone. We made decisions that may or may not lead to a fire or hazardous scenario all while being chased by dogs, threatened by irate customers with guns, and walking through backyards of drug dealers. On top of that, there is minimal recognition when you go above and beyond (except for maybe a company-paid meal). In the four years I was there, I carefully reshaped every single file to make it clear, accurate, and easy for tree crews to digest. Yet, I was paid 15 dollars an hour for those entire 4 years. I also constantly obtained tree removals and worked tirelessly towards preventing wrong tree/wrong place plantings. As I was leaving for graduate school, a higher up at PG&E finally noticed the hard work I was doing and was going to offer a better position had I not returned to school. In those 4 years, I gained very few useful skills beyond a great understanding of tree growth rates (naturally and post trimming). I would recommend this job as a 1 year max experience. Although the second year is interesting because you can learn from tree trimming decisions you made the prior year. However the hazards of this job make it not worth your time and possibly a threat to your physical and mental health.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There should be no solo patrolling, especially if the power lines are in a backyard. All vegetation patrolling should have two CUFs that decide when to trim or remove trees together. Not only will this improve decision making, it will also make the job much safer as no one would be working alone. Provide clear PG&E contractor signs on every truck!!! No one knows ACRT and this increases the danger of parking in front of a house and entering a yard to inspect lines/trees.

    Show More
    ACRT Services2019-09-22
  7. "Not for females"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consulting Utility Forester 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ACRT Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company vehicle was very nice

    Cons

    Customers can be rude and scary

    ACRT Services2019-09-19
  8. "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting and Retention Specialist in Stow, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ACRT Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Employee owned company - Great work/life balance - Friendly and helpful co-workers - Forward thinking department - Access to everything and anything you need to do your job

    Cons

    - There is not a rec room/gym in the building but the Cleveland Clinic gym is right down the road for the hour lunch break.

    ACRT Services2019-07-29
  9. "Great place to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Roving Utility Forester in Fresno, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ACRT Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best thing about working for ACRT is the amount of time you spend in the woods. The company does have your back.

    Cons

    The main downside is you are contracted to different utilities. You work for them without the perks of working for them.

    Advice to Management

    Keep having your employee’s backs!

    ACRT Services2019-07-23
  10. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consulting Utility Forester in Stockton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ACRT Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Strong support from ACRT, benefits are good

    Cons

    Pay isn't great for the work we do, and sometimes client demands are unreasonable

    ACRT Services2019-07-09
Found 77 reviews