ADESA Reviews | Glassdoor

ADESA Reviews

Updated Jan 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
36%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
ADESA President John Hammer  (no image)
John Hammer
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "good benefits, lots of great people across the nation(in 25 reviews)

  • "Interesting business, solid market, good people(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "If you decide to work there document EVERYTHING an Trust no one(in 10 reviews)

  • "Adesa employees are being paid less than AFC and KAR Auction Services for the same position, and they are all under the same company(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanic Technician II in Framingham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ADESA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of benefits you cant beat anywhere else

    Cons

    Not much but having a license for applying for a job there

    ADESA2019-09-29
  2. "Challenging - great people - not so great processes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at ADESA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good benefits, lots of great people across the nation

    Cons

    inconsistent practices, administrative issues, lack of real support from leadership

    ADESA2020-01-17
  3. "Stay far far away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Hoffman Estates, IL
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ADESA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Off on weekends to look for other employment.

    Cons

    HR is a joke. Managers come and go and are unprofessional. Everyone in the Chicagoland area hates ADESA, Several of the large accounts don’t pay fees because we are so desperate to hang on to business and there is lots of corruption another other accounts. ie independent dealers selling cars through franchised dealership sales. Too management knows this but won’t change it in fear of losing their jobs.

    Advice to Management

    Close it down! It’s a circus at best

    ADESA2020-01-16
  4. "Overall, loved my job. Management was lousy and uncaring."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Redemption Clerk in Franklin, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ADESA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked independently and was left on my own most of the time.

    Cons

    Didn't make enough to live on, my boss was morally decrepit.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the little guys, management doesn't care about the well-being of their staff.

    ADESA2019-12-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Cannot wait to move on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plainfield, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADESA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Set schedule for the most part, coworkers are friendly, no micro-managing

    Cons

    Management is a joke, there is no room for advancement within the location and they look down on you if you go to a sister company. No training provided, they just throw you in the deep end and it's sink or swim. Liked my job up until new manager took over.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, follow through on what you say you are going to do and quit being so judgmental without knowing what you are talking about!

    ADESA2019-10-25
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Evil lurks here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ADESA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, weekends off

    Cons

    Demented HR personnel. Club/click mentality headed from HR down with no culture. Upper management does not care and stays away. Don't know why anyone would want to work there.

    Advice to Management

    Go out of business.

    ADESA2019-11-16
  7. "HR is a joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ADESA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    M-F no weekends or nights

    Cons

    District HR person has close relationships with employees and believes anything they say to go along with getting rid of people that are not part of the "clik". HR should have a separation from employees as close personal friends.

    Advice to Management

    Corporate need to look closer at what goes on rather than let HR make things up and basically ostracize employees when asking questions. VERY UNPROFESSIONAL!

    ADESA2019-11-10
  8. "Fast Paced- High Energy Work Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Account Manager in Sacramento, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADESA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fast paced- never a dull moment. Lots of moving parts, keeping daily work busy and interesting. Relationship driven business, with compliance and safety a key component

    Cons

    The work doesn't stop, sometimes making it hard to take vacation or time off

    ADESA2019-10-06
  9. "Great company, some issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative 

    I have been working at ADESA full-time

    Pros

    Interesting business, solid market, good people

    Cons

    Constantly changing business strategy

    ADESA2019-09-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Long road ahead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADESA for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The time off they offer is by far the best I have seen.

    Cons

    The amount of work and stress that's levied on the people needs to addressed.

    Advice to Management

    Customer service is not just for the customers, but also for your employees. If you don't embrace and work with them, who will take care of your customers as you want or need.

    ADESA2019-09-24
Found 296 reviews