Ahern Rentals Reviews | Glassdoor

Ahern Rentals Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 88 reviews

2.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
29%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Don F. Ahern
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "Clean shop and a steady variety of rental equipment to work on(in 3 reviews)

  • "good working atmosphere, good training, upper management helpful(in 3 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "It’s what you make of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Bloomington, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ahern Rentals full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great company culture. A fun industry giving you the opportunity to go out and make friends.

    Cons

    Wish we had more equipment available to us

    Advice to Management

    Find a way to correct our fleet mix

    Ahern Rentals2019-04-20
  2. "Good opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanic A in Pacoima, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ahern Rentals full-time

    Pros

    Overtime, vacation and some paid holidays, sick days

    Cons

    No yearly bonuses, no rollover sick pay

    Ahern Rentals2019-03-10
  3. "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ahern Rentals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co truck but track your every move

    Cons

    Terrible micromanagement, inexperienced management, invoicing constant problem

    Advice to Management

    Hire the experienced

    Ahern Rentals2019-03-21
  4. "Not worth while"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ahern Rentals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ahern owns their own manufacturing company for equipment

    Cons

    Can’t seem to ever have parts on hand and ordering them is a hassle. Upper management doesn’t take advice or intergrate that info into what is happening

    Advice to Management

    Self awareness and assess if some people are actually fit for job.

    Ahern Rentals2019-03-18
  5. "Mechanic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanic in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ahern Rentals full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Not many, decent pay, some training offered

    Cons

    Horrible management and leadership. Coworkers get high on the job, hire and retain employees with felony records, no real regard for safety of employees, managers lead by yelling.

    Advice to Management

    Send supervisors to leadership training. Complete evaluations of employees. Understand the worth of your employees and expand their skill set. Do not lead from behind the desk, get out and see, talk and hear your employees.

    Ahern Rentals2019-03-14
  6. "Worst Place I ever Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Mount Pleasant, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ahern Rentals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The only Pro of this job was the not guaranteed pay.

    Cons

    There are so many cons of this job especially for the OSR position Extremely Micro Managed, need to send a weekly agenda, followed up by a daily summary followed up by a weekly meeting to go over everything you already went over The company loves watching GPS on your company truck all day. Upper management just as horrible had an issue so I sent an email explaining it and was told that they don’t read e-mails...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management would be to do research in the markets that you open stores. Majority of the construction that is going on in SE Wisconsin is earth moving at the moment and you have no dirt equipment in 7 months. You open up into a market where there are 15-20 established aerial companies and expect accounts to be opened because you’re new. Need to overhaul everyone that has a title as VP. Most of all...

    Show More
    Ahern Rentals2019-03-08
  7. "Toxic Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Office Worker 

      I worked at Ahern Rentals full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      They will hire without experience.

      Cons

      Horrible culture and even worse leadership. Management has no idea how to run a company. Low wages and a toxic environment. They push good people out the door.

      Advice to Management

      Be competitive with your wages.

      Ahern Rentals2019-02-12
    • "Terrible place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Ahern Rentals full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      It’s a job not a career

      Cons

      Upper Management team needs a overhaul

      Advice to Management

      Actually try to care about your employees

      Ahern Rentals2019-02-27
    • Helpful (4)

      "Horrible, just horrible"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Port Saint Lucie, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Ahern Rentals full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Manager never drove with me, that was a plus. Decent pay but then it starts to decrease. You never know what kind of commissions you're getting.

      Cons

      No CRM, no lead service. Customers are in an area of responsibility. Problem with that is that the people who have been there 5-8 years have picked up the best customers in your area of responsibility. If you can last a few years, you'll feed off of others leaving.

      Advice to Management

      Spend some cash on sales tools. Forget the area of responsibility. Sell to United while you can.

      Ahern Rentals2018-11-03
    • Helpful (1)

      "Couldn’t catch a break"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Ahern Rentals full-time

      Pros

      You can make a solid bonus when other people aren’t cheating the system

      Cons

      Micro managing like hell and empty promises. They made me feel like I had to work work work work to maybe get an okay raise. They say they want you to stay in the company but won’t let anyone move around. It doesn’t make sense

      Advice to Management

      Look into those “high” bonus numbers. They aren’t legit

      Ahern Rentals2018-09-01
    Found 88 reviews