Alcon Reviews | Glassdoor

Alcon Reviews

Updated May 24, 2017
586 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.1
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Alcon CEO Michael Ball
Michael Ball
53 Ratings

586 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • This is a great work/life balance position with exceptional bonus potential (in 27 reviews)

  • The company has good benefits and the salary is good (in 53 reviews)

Cons
  • Work life balance, lack of accountability, location of the office (in 24 reviews)

  • Complete lack of transparency from upper management (in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (10)

    "Positioning for success"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Alcon is on the road to winning in business and with its associates. It is an exciting time to be here.

    Cons

    Previous lack of innovation, but that is changing. Change can be tough for some and energizing for others. Alcon will reassert itself as a leader in medical surgery and eye care products.

    Alcon Response

    Aug 17, 2016

    Thanks for your comment. We agree that it is an exciting time to be here! We love our associates and appreciate your support.


  2. "Good company with inspiring mission, Novartis gets in the way"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer II in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer II in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcon full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    - Challenging technical problems to solve on a day-to-day basis
    - Always pushing the boundaries of technology to deliver the best product possible
    - Skilled co-workers that are driven to excel
    - Lots of opportunity for people that get things done and are willing to try new things

    Cons

    - Big company means large separation from decision makers for company strategy
    - Sales growth is expected of us as a company, but being the market segment leader means growth is difficult
    - Lately, constant feeling of being "prepared for sale" by Novartis

    Advice to Management

    - Focus more on the future game-changing products with tight integration. Working on too many things at once means few projects achieve 100% of their potential.
    - Leverage internal skill more. Alcon employs some of the best in their field, and time and time again we end up instead buying a small company developing an inferior product.
    - Faster iteration of product portfolio. Alcon sales growth will come from good customer experience paired with the best products and most integrated portfolio. Yet, Alcon has products that have been on the market for more than 5 years and are just now getting approved for US sale. We can't drive sales with "new" products based on 5 year old tech.


  3. "Sales Representative"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Philadelphia, PA
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alcon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Lots of flexibility
    Good fellow co-workers
    Great Benefits
    Good Products
    Fun selling Environment
    Great Training Program

    Cons

    Novartis itself. It was very clear to everyone that Novartis did not care about Alcon's employees and were merely there to make as much money as possible.
    Upper management; Save for one, I really think they were all full of themselves and would say some things that don't really make sense, like selling 10 extra swimmers ear drops a day by the end of the year in November.

    Advice to Management

    Honestly, actually listen to your employees. I felt very distant emotionally from the upper management, and since they all came from Novartis and not Alcon, it really shows.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "On the right track, but . . ."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - Director in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcon full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Current senior management (Mike, David, Ian) seem really capable, and are turning the company in the right direction. It's fun to work for them, and you can appreciate their vision.

    Cons

    Alcon's growth is still hampered by years of poor management and over-zealous focus on bottom line to the detriment of long-term growth. Separation from Novartis will help (everyone is hoping for a spin-off), but it will take years to truly right the ship.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course, and look for positives in the future.

    Alcon Response

    May 23, 2017

    Thank you for your 5+ years of commitment to Alcon! We appreciate your review and dedication to the company.


  6. "assembler"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX

    Pros

    good schedule
    nice people
    good communication
    very diverse they promote organic growth within the company
    good benefits for full time and transition from contract to full time is very transparent and fair

    Cons

    they have extremely long hour .they are very strict attendance policy
    it is a very accelerated pace environment.they have an ongoing parking issue.

    Advice to Management

    please be more lenient in your attendance policy. life happen sometime we don't have a choice as single mom working we sometime have to take day off for our kids and we don't always plan the course of event such as leaving early or coming in late

    Alcon Response

    May 23, 2017

    We appreciate your feedback. Thanks for taking the time to review.


  7. ""A clear direction to the bottom!""

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Alcon in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - Alcon in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alcon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    There are many dedicated employees that are accustomed to the fear tactics and they give an awful lot of themselves to the bad, old school leader. The products are important and do change people's lives. You will never meet so many blue eyed people in one place.

    Cons

    The ongoing investments needed to be in place years ago can't be replaced by creativity and grit. If you don't mind being intimated and occasionally yelled at on email or in a meeting-then you will enjoy working here. If you are accustomed to professional management and work/life boundaries-don't work here.

    Advice to Management

    Let the "millionaires" retire and get some professional leadership in place. Stop the fear tactics. Embrace diversity and inclusion-mean it and live it. The Old Alcon wasn't great, just profitable and it can't get its groove back. Move forward or the people will leave you behind. The landscape is ripe for AMO pickings.

    Alcon Response

    May 23, 2017

    Thank you for your honest review.


  8. "Engineer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Lake Forest, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Lake Forest, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcon full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Interesting and challenging work, smart people, good benefits

    Cons

    Poor and over-sized management. Decision-makers have evident lack of professional knowledge

    Advice to Management

    Give power to experts

    Alcon Response

    Apr 21, 2017

    We appreciate your feedback.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "R&D Engineer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Huntington, WV
    Former Employee - Engineer in Huntington, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alcon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good benefits.

    Good 401k matching.

    Cons

    Culture. Constant ego matches in R&D. Low accountability and large amounts of politics. Individuals in positions of power are not knowledgeable and cannot lead.

    High turnover

    Annual merit increases does not beat inflation. The longer you work here the more behind you get.

    Advice to Management

    Be more approachable. Invest in your direct reports and they will invest in the organization. Worry less about how you look to your boss and worry more about doing what is right for our patients.

    Alcon Response

    Mar 28, 2017

    Thank you for your review. Your honest feedback is what will help us improve.


  10. "engineer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    internal growth
    diverse
    good PTO
    great paid vacation
    multicultural

    Cons

    long hours
    strict on attendance
    very long process

    Alcon Response

    Mar 28, 2017

    We appreciate your review.


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compounder in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - Compounder in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alcon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good benefit, great people, excellent career grows

    Cons

    Underpay, high turn-over rate

    Alcon Response

    Mar 14, 2017

    We appreciate you taking the time to review us!


Showing 586 of 668 reviews
Reset Filters