Alcon Reviews | Glassdoor

Alcon Reviews

Updated April 23, 2018
690 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Alcon CEO Michael Ball
Michael Ball
103 Ratings

690 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • This is a great work/life balance position with exceptional bonus potential (in 31 reviews)

  • Great benefits, Flex Time and salary (in 67 reviews)

Cons
  • Work life balance could improve (in 30 reviews)

  • t seem to care about employee concerns only upper management requirements (in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Senior Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcon full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work! Lots of opportunity!

    Cons

    I cannot think of anything negative.

    Advice to Management

    Please keep up the good work!


  2. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consumables Team Leader in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Consumables Team Leader in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alcon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay also great employment advancement

    Cons

    Long hours but also terrible management
    They tend to be bias

    Advice to Management

    Hire anyone and everyone

    Alcon Response

    Apr 2, 2018

    Thank you for your time worked at Alcon and leaving us a review.

  3. "Global Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Alcon full-time

    Pros

    Competitive salary and benefits, global workforce and perspective

    Cons

    Pretty much everything else. A relentless focus on sales rather than innovation and service destroyed a once-great company. Poor leadership across the board, with little to no vision.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on your employees. They, in turn, will focus on your customers.

    Alcon Response

    Apr 19, 2018

    Alcon’s foundational principles are to delight in our customers and pursue and drive innovation. We strive for our top leaders to help navigate our vision to our associates and lead them to success... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Can't get reviews/evaluation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Worker in Huntington, WV
    Former Employee - Production Worker in Huntington, WV
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alcon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Nice and helpful team leaders and co workers. Decent pay. Great benefits when/if you receive a permanent position?!

    Cons

    Management is not in top of things! Was owed 2 - 90 day reviews which I would have received 2 raises, sick days, benefits and a permanent position but 220 days went by and still no reviews!!!

    Advice to Management

    When you have good hard working employees, take care of them!!!

    Alcon Response

    Apr 18, 2018

    We are sorry to hear of this experience. Thank you for your feedback.


  5. "alcon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    benefits and salary and gym

    Cons

    work and work and work

    Alcon Response

    Apr 10, 2018

    Thank you for your review.


  6. "AMAZING!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I just started and honestly this is one of the most amazing companies I have had the pleasure of working for. My team is amazing and also my leaders. You can rely on everybody here for advice or just need help answering a question.

    Cons

    There are no downside I have encountered yet.

    Alcon Response

    Apr 10, 2018

    We love our associates! Thank you for dedication to Alcon! Welcome.


  7. "Sterile Fill Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sterile Fill Tech I in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - Sterile Fill Tech I in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great benefits, # 1 company in the world in the eye care business, very professional environment and great SOPs in place. The company promotes from within.

    Cons

    I have not discovered any thus far.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great job

    Alcon Response

    Mar 16, 2018

    We love our associates and to hear of the great experience you are having! Happy you are on the team and wish you much success in your career.

  8. "Excellent Recruitment and Onboarding!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Applications Specialist
    Current Employee - Clinical Applications Specialist
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Alcon full-time

    Pros

    Personable and knowledgeable recruiters. Extremely thorough onboarding process with a very welcoming company!

    Cons

    As a new hire, I do not have any concerns at all!

    Alcon Response

    Mar 8, 2018

    Welcome to the Alcon family! We hope you enjoy your career here and are excited to have you on the team.


  9. "Go! ALCON Go!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customs Compliance Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - Customs Compliance Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Simply put, fantastic "people" and great relationships!

    Cons

    It is still a job....

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the "GREAT" teamwork!

    Alcon Response

    Mar 8, 2018

    We love to hear this from our associates! Thank you for your review and excitement for the Alcon team!


  10. "Overall Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Alcon full-time

    Pros

    Good shift, cultural diversity, respectable people

    Cons

    High intensity work, very strict,

    Alcon Response

    Feb 27, 2018

    Thank you for leaving us a review!


Showing 690 of 797 reviews
Reset Filters