Alcon Reviews | Glassdoor

Alcon Reviews

Updated February 16, 2017
555 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.2
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Alcon CEO Michael Ball
Michael Ball
38 Ratings

555 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • This is a great work/life balance position with exceptional bonus potential (in 25 reviews)

  • Great company with great benefits (in 48 reviews)

Cons
  • Work life balance, lack of accountability, location of the office (in 25 reviews)

  • Complete lack of transparency from upper management (in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (7)

    "Positioning for success"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Alcon is on the road to winning in business and with its associates. It is an exciting time to be here.

    Cons

    Previous lack of innovation, but that is changing. Change can be tough for some and energizing for others. Alcon will reassert itself as a leader in medical surgery and eye care products.

    Alcon Response

    Aug 17, 2016

    Thanks for your comment. We agree that it is an exciting time to be here! We love our associates and appreciate your support.


  2. "Pharmaceutical Sales Representative"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcon full-time

    Pros

    This is a great work/life balance position with exceptional bonus potential.

    Cons

    There is constant movement and restructure in the company.


  3. "Great first job"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Huntington, WV
    Former Employee - Engineer in Huntington, WV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alcon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    1. Career growth and flexible career options. I was contacted for new internal positions all the time.
    2. Friendly people
    3. Dedication and pride of employees to provide the best eye care
    4. Some projects were fast-paced, contrary to popular belief about the medical device industry. The challenge was to get work done by employees who were used to a slow pace.

    Cons

    1. Salary
    2. Only some managers are very smart
    3. Lot of churn in projects

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest more in R&D and keep up the great work!

    Alcon Response

    Feb 13, 2017

    We appreciate you taking the time to review us. Best of luck to you in your future endeavors.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Great place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcon full-time

    Pros

    Great company with great benefits and perks, not a lot of micromanaging on the admin side, not sure about the production side.

    Cons

    Everyone here is stretched to their limit. You have 0 time to breath at times and workload is never ending!

    Advice to Management

    Stop stretching employees, hiring 1 more person to help can help out in the long run.

    Alcon Response

    Feb 3, 2017

    Thank you for your honest feedback!


  6. "Engineer II"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer II in Lake Forest, CA
    Current Employee - Engineer II in Lake Forest, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Alcon full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    You can't beat the retirement contribution plan here.

    Cons

    This place is a pressure cooker. Pretty much every group here is under staffed and pressed so hard that employee retention is a serious problem. Everyone from top talent to mediocre talent is dropping like flies.


  7. "Pharmecutical Sales"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay, great benefits and great management.

    Cons

    Uphill battle, always requiring to produce more.

    Alcon Response

    Jan 25, 2017

    Thank you for the review. We appreciate your feedback.


  8. "Good company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electro-mechanical Technician in Johns Creek, GA
    Current Employee - Electro-mechanical Technician in Johns Creek, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Alcon (More than a year)

    Pros

    The pay and benefits were great

    Cons

    The shift hours were long

    Advice to Management

    Got nothing

    Alcon Response

    Jan 25, 2017

    We appreciate your review!


  9. "Great company to work for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Designer in Lake Forest, CA
    Current Employee - Mechanical Designer in Lake Forest, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Nice company, nice people, place to grow

    Cons

    No cons, eveything is just fine

    Alcon Response

    Jan 25, 2017

    We love our associates! Thank you for your review.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company to many layers"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Specialist in Lake Forest, CA
    Current Employee - Technical Support Specialist in Lake Forest, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great Culture and good people

    Cons

    Too many layers of management

    Advice to Management

    many improvements can be done

    Alcon Response

    Jan 12, 2017

    Thank you for your review!


  11. "Struggling Biotech"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alcon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Large company with great resources and potential

    Cons

    Very little investment in the manufacturing group with repetitive problems

    Advice to Management

    Empower personnel with external experience to drive change.

    Alcon Response

    Feb 3, 2017

    We appreciate your review. Your feedback is what will help us improve.



Showing 555 of 630 reviews
Reset Filters