Alcon Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Alcon Reviews

Updated February 17, 2018
679 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Alcon CEO Michael Ball
Michael Ball
97 Ratings

679 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Work life balance could improve (in 30 reviews)

  • t seem to care about employee concerns only upper management requirements (in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Working for a winning organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - Director in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Alcon is a fantastic place to work. Great company values and behaviors manifest from the top down. Working environment is fast paced but manageable. Great welcome and orientation for new employees helps you to connect from the start. Fun activities and amenities on campus throughout the year. Main campus cafeteria is state of the art with several options. Excellent health benefits, both short term and long term incentives with development & growth opportunities. Opportunities for short wins and long term success.

    Cons

    need for flexible schedules & lack of forward thinking culture

    Advice to Management

    Continue trend to hire and promote talented people who are innovative, out of the box thinkers that question with purpose and are self aware.

    Alcon Response

    Jan 5, 2018

    We value our associates feedback and appreciate your dedication to Alcon!


  2. "Great positions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Scientist II in Fort Worth, TX
    Former Employee - Research Scientist II in Fort Worth, TX

    I worked at Alcon (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    facilities are top notch including gym, on campus store, bank, and cafeteria.

    Cons

    There were no real cons while working here. People were nice and helpful.

    Alcon Response

    Feb 15, 2018

    We appreciate your 5+ years worked at Alcon and wish you all the best!

  3. "Financial Planning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Planning in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - Planning in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcon full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits, great products and nice campus. The work Alcon does is very impactful to whole human race. I a

    Cons

    Leadership team is all white boys club. F on diversity. Women and minorities don’t have any chance to move up in the ladder. 20 years behind in technology. Management thinks everything is solved by SAP.
    Management likes to sugar coat on everything and they don’t foster openness and transparent conversation.

    Advice to Management

    Make sincere effort to open up the opportunities for minorities. You have virtually zero minorities in any commercial role.


  4. "Warehouse Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alcon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good place to work in

    Cons

    It is difficult to move up

    Alcon Response

    Feb 5, 2018

    Thank you for your review.


  5. "Eyecare company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alcon full-time

    Pros

    Excellent pay and benefits. Company's heart is at right place, looking out for customers.

    Cons

    Younger candidates gets preference over experienced professionals.

    Alcon Response

    Feb 15, 2018

    Thank you for this feedback.


  6. "Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alcon full-time

    Pros

    Culture. Mission. Technology. Resources.

    Cons

    Career acceleration can be competitive and difficult. Can get a bit political.

    Alcon Response

    Jan 29, 2018

    Thank you for your review of Alcon.


  7. "Machine operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Alcon full-time

    Pros

    once hired as Alcon employee you get many benefits

    Cons

    It takes long time to get hired

    Advice to Management

    Please do not let experienced people go away, hire them at least after 4 months of experience

    Alcon Response

    Jan 29, 2018

    Your feedback is important to us. Thank you for your review.

  8. "Toxic culture of blame and intimidation in Technical Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Laser Field Engineer
    Former Employee - Laser Field Engineer
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alcon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits, decent 401k plan.

    Cons

    Culture of one upmaship, blame, silence and intimidation, specially from service mgmt and specially in the southeast US. Even co-workers do not help, they throw others under the bus.

    Advice to Management

    it is beyond repair, as you will do nothing suggested.

    Alcon Response

    Feb 15, 2018

    We are sorry to hear of your experience as this is not our wish or expectation for our associates. We thank you for your honest review and wish you well in your future endeavors.


  9. "Professional Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Sales Representative in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Professional Sales Representative in Richmond, VA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Alcon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Value their people, industry leader

    Cons

    Large and (at times) overwhelming organization

    Alcon Response

    Jan 29, 2018

    Thank you for your review!


  10. "QA Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Alcon full-time

    Pros

    Great people, building skills, quality

    Cons

    Over time, weekend shift, commute

    Alcon Response

    Jan 17, 2018

    Thank you for reviewing us.


Showing 679 of 780 reviews
Reset Filters