Alcon Reviews | Glassdoor

Alcon Reviews

Updated November 17, 2017
649 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Alcon CEO Michael Ball
Michael Ball
83 Ratings

649 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • This is a great work/life balance position with exceptional bonus potential (in 30 reviews)

  • Great benefits in orange county (in 61 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "HR Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I worked at Alcon full-time

    Pros

    Good opportunities to grow.
    Have chance to join or lead the projects.
    Nice colleagues and sound benefits.

    Cons

    A little bit serious work environment. Not many young professionals in office.

    Alcon Response

    Nov 16, 2017

    Thank you for your honest review.


  2. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcon full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    easy advancement, collaborative environment, great products

    Cons

    old style thinking of upper management

    Alcon Response

    Nov 16, 2017

    Congratulations on your 5+ years worked at Alcon! Thank you for your review.

  3. "decent for staff, train wreck for management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lake Forest, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lake Forest, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alcon full-time

    Pros

    outstanding benefits - generous 401k retirement matching

    Cons

    completely dysfunctional mangement - the "strategic plan" changes like the wind - project funding, staffing, prioritization changes weekly resulting in continuous turmoil, The arrogance of senior management means they cannot recognize that they have issues, and therefore the situation will neer improve; dysfuntional culture, toxic environment; short signed plan - company is trying to make the financials looks good for a spinoff

    Advice to Management

    make a decision and stick to it


  4. "Sr mechanical engr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Alcon full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are very comparable to industry standarda

    Cons

    None at this time thanks

    Alcon Response

    Nov 16, 2017

    We appreciate your review and commitment to Alcon!


  5. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alcon full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits, perks, and fantastic campus (workout facility, cafeteria, events, etc.)

    Cons

    Change the level of Bureaucracy and be more flexible to new processes.

    Advice to Management

    Adaptability to changing healthcare and business environment. Update the systems and processes.

    Alcon Response

    Nov 16, 2017

    We love our associates! Thank you for your review.


  6. "Mgr/director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcon full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    People, benefits, compensation are a plus

    Cons

    Ambiguity in day to day life.

    Advice to Management

    Better growth opportunities

    Alcon Response

    Nov 16, 2017

    Congratulations for 10+ years worked at Alcon! We love our associates and are happy to hear of your positive experience all these years.


  7. "OK place to work and for some a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician B in Johns Creek, GA
    Current Employee - Technician B in Johns Creek, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Job is easy in a medical device setting. Clean work environment. OK benefits and voluntary overtime.

    Cons

    12 hour shifts for production workers is not for everyone. Getting hired on can take up to a year. Some coworkers don't have good work ethics.

    Advice to Management

    Recognize the hard workers and hire them faster before they leave for other jobs. Training needs to be better for new hires.

    Alcon Response

    Nov 16, 2017

    Thank you for your honest feedback.

  8. "Alcon Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    It was a great experience, with great people!

    Cons

    Help with providing housing, like many companies do

    Alcon Response

    Nov 16, 2017

    We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your internship experience and hope you will think of Alcon again in the future!


  9. "Manufacturing Engineer Co-Op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alcon full-time

    Pros

    Good industry experience doing real engineering projects

    Cons

    Can get boring if there aren't a lot of projects. Not a lot of people my age (early 20's) here.

    Alcon Response

    Nov 16, 2017

    We hope you are having a great experience at Alcon during your Co-op. Thanks for your review.


  10. "Professional Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Sales Representative in Savannah, GA
    Current Employee - Professional Sales Representative in Savannah, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcon full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Company Culture. Great Products. Best Training.

    Cons

    Systems. Corporate. IT. Marketing strategy.

    Alcon Response

    Nov 16, 2017

    We love our associates! Thank you for your commitment to Alcon.


Showing 649 of 740 reviews
Reset Filters