Alphatec Spine Reviews | Glassdoor

Alphatec Spine Reviews

Updated Aug 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 84 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Alphatec Spine CEO Pat Miles   (no image)
Pat Miles
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "There were good people who gave it their best in spite of management(in 8 reviews)

  • "Fun work environment competitive wages decent benefits(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Growth and Innovation pathway"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alphatec Spine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    New management's vision for innovation and growth Re-energized environment, collaborative atmosphere Great health & wellness benefits

    Cons

    Outgrowing current space, need more room for growth and co-location

    Advice to Management

    More frequent opportunities for interaction and discussion

    Alphatec Spine2019-07-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alphatec Spine full-time

    Pros

    Great individual contributors ranging from engineers, distribution channel, regulatory and quality team.

    Cons

    Poor management and lethal politics lead to a toxic environment for many.

    Alphatec Spine2019-08-03
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alphatec Spine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pat Miles brings focus and results. The team that has joined in the past 1.5 years has experience and the energy is palpable. This company will be strong again soon.

    Cons

    Need time to right the ship.

    Advice to Management

    Stay focused and listen to Mr. Miles

    Alphatec Spine2019-01-08
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Toxic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alphatec Spine full-time

    Pros

    There are some very nice people that work here, but everyone seems anxious and unsettled because of the constant turnover and lack of communication from management.

    Cons

    The environment is the terrible. Everyone seems downtrodden and unhappy. The vibe here just feels toxic. Management is secretive and unprofessional. I've never worked in a more oppressive and bleak environment.

    Alphatec Spine2019-01-29
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Ripe for change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alphatec Spine full-time

    Pros

    Nice people. At least it used to have nice people. Everyone there when I was there is now gone...

    Cons

    Dreary environment. No amenities whatsoever. Office in an industrial building, very bland. Leadership turnover extremely high. Lacking strategic focus and market penetration - as always.

    Advice to Management

    Do whatever Mr. Miles says.

    Alphatec Spine2018-05-24
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Too late to succeed... with the same old game plan."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alphatec Spine full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people used to work here.

    Cons

    New management using the "old tricks" of the spine trade. Morale is at an all time low with few experienced people remaining,

    Advice to Management

    I wish you luck.

    Alphatec Spine2017-09-08
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Growing Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alphatec Spine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    With an experienced new management team in place this company is finally headed in the right direction. Small start up feel and you get to wear a lot of hats. I have expanded responsibilities in the two years I have been here and am constantly learning new things. Great potential to make some extra $$ in ESPP program as company grows!!

    Cons

    With recent lay-offs there is still some uneasiness with job security although we seem to have turned that corner.

    Advice to Management

    Keep working with all levels to come up with the strategy. The HPMS process really has everyone bought in and excited for what is to come!

    Alphatec Spine2017-06-05
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Don't be fooled, this company will probably be sold"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carlsbad, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alphatec Spine full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Solid, caring employees (those few who are left), good benefits, decent office

    Cons

    3 major layoffs in one year (feb 2016-feb 2017), extremely understaffed, continued low stock price, stagnant sales, tiny Marketing dept left, all signs point to priming company for sale. They can't continue on current path with no money, tiny staff, no new products and dwindling customer base. Don't be fooled by Exec pep talks, not reality.

    Advice to Management

    Don't leave employees high and dry when you sell, give them warning

    Alphatec Spine2017-06-08
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Regulatory Affairs Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regulatory Affairs Specialist in Carlsbad, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alphatec Spine full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good learning opportunities. Many submissions to FDA.

    Cons

    Too many priorities. Negative culture. Too much employee turn over including bosses.

    Advice to Management

    Improve culture.

    Alphatec Spine2017-05-07
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Bright Future Ahead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alphatec Spine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    We've had a rocky recent past but our new spine-experienced executives have the vision and the proven ability to execute to turn Alphatec around and realize our great potential for success. Current employees have a rare opportunity to grow with a company that has a great culture, fantastic products, and a bright future ahead.

    Cons

    Prior leadership made poor decisions regarding distribution channel strategy that are affecting us in our current state but our new management has had experience at their last company fixing the problems we are currently dealing with.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing and don't lose sight of the importance of transparency.

    Alphatec Spine2017-03-08
Found 84 reviews