Americaneagle.com Reviews | Glassdoor

Americaneagle.com Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Americaneagle.com CEO Tony Svanascini (no image)
Tony Svanascini
4 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work/life balance was very difficult(in 4 reviews)

  • "At the end of the day Americaneagle is trying harder to force their employees to do work, instead of making employees enjoy working there(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very good company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PHP/Front End Developer in Des Plaines, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Americaneagle.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Positive environment. Both superiors were very knowledgeable and supportive of their developers. Lovely co-workers and great senior developers to learn from. All project managers I've worked for were fantastic. QC and server teams great to work with as well. HR is there for you.

    Cons

    Development process and deployment was rough and outdated in a particular department. At times I felt I was blamed by senior developer for flaws in their ancient system. It caused stress to all parties involved. Following coding standards was encouraged but not enforced. Would have liked to see linters put in place in addition to peer review to keep code base clean and easy to work with.

    Americaneagle.com2019-07-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Revolving Door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Des Plaines, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Americaneagle.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice office space but not much else in the way of positives.

    Cons

    Overworked staff makes it impossible to deliver quality web sites to clients. AE cares more about selling than delivering. Also, it is hard to advance your career if you are not part of the "boys club".

    Americaneagle.com2019-09-09
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Americaneagle.com Career Setback a terrible company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Des Plaines, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Americaneagle.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Insurance, 401k, Dental, learning opp

    Cons

    Pay, Culture, Sexist, Discrimination, Turnover

    Advice to Management

    No matter how successful your company gets you should understand that you work for your employees. The culture you try to portray during your cheesy State of the Eagle meetings of a family culture should be words you live by.

    Americaneagle.com2019-09-04
  4. "Total honesty in this review of the company..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Americaneagle.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is decent. The owners (and spouses) are friendly and approachable. Great place for an intern or first job. Nice co-workers who care. Great resume builder. Impressive TV commercials. There is an unusually large percentage of people who were hired because they are friends or relatives with someone who works here. This is a good sign, but it is awkward and sometimes uncomfortable because you never know who... has a personal connection to someone else.

    Show More

    Cons

    Management is mostly out of touch, but give the impression otherwise. Overly detailed and antiquated time tracking. I have never felt so 'watched'. Most people spend about 15-30 minutes each day entering their time, yet you are not allowed to put this time in your time sheet. Very few people take an hour lunch, go out to eat or spend time at the ping pong table. Everyone feels the pressure to keep their billable... hours as high as possible. Management likes the open-office layout and brag about how clients rave about how nice the office looks (and they are correct - it looks really nice). But from a practical side, there are too many distractions and the noise level is high. People who concentrate and think for a living need privacy and quiet. Half the company is working on old technology and there is a resistance to investing in new technologies until there is a guaranteed payback (typically through a large client). Many managers routinely talk trash about the employees in private. I have and know of others who have been asked to do questionable and deceptive practices behind the customer's back. Not a place for people with experience. The happiest associates are the ones right out of school that don't know better (yet). The salesreps sign contracts that are either terribly vague or impossible for the Project Managers to deliver on time with quality. The PMs transfer the impossible to the Front and Back End Developers, who are overworked and stressed out. All this is then dumped on the QA team to sort out the inevitable mess. When it is all done, there is little to no documentation for the Account Manager during their effort to keep the client happy for the coming years. On the positive side, the company has become very good at delivering good websites to happy clients (by somehow, successfully adapting to the constant chaos). Expect to work very long hours at times with little or no compensation. I have seen or heard of several people who ended up sick or in the hospital after working several 60-80 hour weeks in a row. You might be able to work from home on occasion, but expect to be watched like a hawk and be prepared to prove in detail that you worked 8 hours. It's kind of funny, but I have heard many people say that they want to look for another job, but they don't have the time or energy by the time they get home.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Empower and trust the little guys in your company. Give them more control and let them have more impact. I don't think you realize that there is a very small group of people who carry most of the weight. If a few of them leave the company, it will be bad news. As the company continues to grow, stay in contact with your staff and lower management. The conditions out here in the desks are far from what is reported... in the company meetings. Your approach of hiring mostly inexperienced workers and molding them into your home-grown processes has brought success in the past and present, but it is not setting the stage for the next phase as the company needs to find very big clients and some overseas. Those companies will laugh at us if they find out how the company is run and the low level of certifications among the associates. The developers don't know what is coming next, don't have a chance to plan and always seem to end up working long hours to catch up.

    Show More
    Americaneagle.com2019-08-16

    Americaneagle.com Response

    September 13, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your review. We appreciate the feedback and we’d be happy to discuss some of the concerns you’ve brought up as we continually look to improve upon our internal processes and ensure a rewarding work experience and the overall happiness of each ...

    Show More
  5. "cool place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at Americaneagle.com full-time

    Pros

    it was very cool and stuff

    Cons

    not much to say about cons

    Americaneagle.com2019-04-22

    Americaneagle.com Response

    May 1, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you so much for your positive review and we are happy that you enjoyed being a part of the team!

  6. Helpful (4)

    "Once in a lifetime experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Applications Developer in Des Plaines, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Americaneagle.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great peers to work with, hard-working and customer-minded

    Cons

    If you are a dev be prepared to be taken aback atleast a couple of years in your career here! The stack and methodologies they use in most teams are primal and the management will really force you to think they are above the game. Unfortunately, a lot of the work here is unplanned which could be better implemented if everything in the company was not ticking like a time bomb (yes their time card system)! Devs are... often most excited to learn, innovate and build the best - leverage this quality of good devs. They developed sites like CTA which is commendable but when other companies had been offering transit benefits to their employees for years, they found this out from their old client only very recently. This is how much they care about their employee if you are one in the lower tier. No profit sharing.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The management, laterally through the upper and middle, has been making decisions that are critical for this kind of business only to sustain. Unfortunately, this works much against the devs who are seeking a good future in their careers. They should really not be so conservative to fresh ideas and techniques that the young and new have to bring. Bring in a little innovation and just do not follow the advice of the... tried and tested era, times have changed!

    Show More
    Americaneagle.com2019-04-23

    Americaneagle.com Response

    April 30, 2019HR Manager

    We are sorry to hear you didn’t have a positive experience with our team at Americaneagle.com. We always try to implement the best technologies to assist our clients. 60% of our clients have been with us for 10 years or more and we value those relationships. With the amount of projects ...

    Show More
  7. "Great company to grow at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Des Plaines, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Americaneagle.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been working here for a little while now and love it! They have an amazing environment and have great opportunities for growth.

    Cons

    None, I really enjoy working here!

    Americaneagle.com2019-02-25
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Programming sweatshop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer in Des Plaines, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Americaneagle.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big name clients to add to your resume

    Cons

    Horrible pay discrepancies, on-call with not compensation, lack of work life balance, fraternities. Below standard benefits.

    Americaneagle.com2018-10-17

    Americaneagle.com Response

    October 18, 2018HR Manager

    We are sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your time with the team at Americaneagle.com and wish you the best in the future. There is compensation for the 1 week a year we ask employees to be on call. Employees are rewarded with additional PTO and they are always able to switch that week ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Americaneagle.com full-time

    Pros

    This company is for those that are willing to dive in and get stuff done. Americaneagle.com offers ample opportunity to learn new technologies, offer new ideas and work with incredible clients. This is not an environment to just "sit back."

    Cons

    For those wanting to grow their career and learn, this is an awesome company. Hours can be long on given days, weeks or months, which some may look at as a Con. However, if you want to be successful, it's part of the job.

    Americaneagle.com2018-06-28
  10. "Great Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Americaneagle.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people here are very friendly and genuinely enjoy working here. It's a great space to learn more about your own role and others. I hate to use the word synergistic, but you can really feel a natural connection between departments that helps get things done. Overall, my time here has been great.

    Cons

    There are some late nights and some very high energy moments. While there is the expectation that some days you may need to stay late to help a client, it is not forced on you. Like any other job, there will be long days.

    Americaneagle.com2018-06-28
Found 64 reviews