KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos
Best Places to Work 2022

Atlassian

Engaged Employer

Atlassian

Add a Review

Atlassian Reviews

Updated May 24, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,325 of over 1,461 reviews

4.7
93%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Atlassian Co-Founders Scott Farquhar & Mike Cannon-Brookes
Scott Farquhar & Mike Cannon-Brookes
945 Ratings

What people are saying about Atlassian

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Atlassian and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Fantastic Company with Strong Values

    May 24, 2022 - Principal Product Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Work/life balance is respected - Vacay-your-way - Competitive compensation - Values-driven, product-minded employees and culture - Customer-first ethics and mindset - Tons of useful and fun benefits - Compassionate, inclusive, and bold leadership - Agile, goal-oriented business with clear vision and focus

    Cons

    - I can't think of any. I loved my time at Atlassian.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A Company That 100% Follows Its Values

    Apr 5, 2022 - Senior Support Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The culture at Atlassian is definitely different than any company I have worked at. It eats, sleeps and breathes its company values in a way I never would have expected. The benefits are amazing. Just a few include: - Remote first company. Working in an office is available, but never required. - Untracked PTO and they want you to use it. They even schedule refresh days where they want everyone to take the day off to refresh and recharge. - Generous parental leave. 26 weeks for the birthing parent, 20 weeks for the non birthing parent. The company is also big on providing clear career paths and performance feedback which is refreshing to see. Atlassian really seems to be headed in a good direction as it has been historically. It keeps acquiring startups that align with its values and using their technology to improve its own and expand their customer base. These seem to be smart moves and for the most part, seem to go well.

    Cons

    This is the company that invented Jira, so it's Jira EVERYWHERE. If you are one of those people that can't stand using Jira, you might have a hard time. Open Company, No BS (Glassdoor made me sensor 😅 ) is one of the company values. This means they welcome feedback from employees and sometimes people really run with that. You may come across some spicy comments on announcements. Not necessarily a con since it's nice to see that management wants to hear the feedback, but sometimes it can drag on you if you are affected by negative comments. Or you can just not read the comments.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best company ever?

    Mar 30, 2022 - Senior Data Scientist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love working at Atlassian. I primarily joined for a better Work-Life balance, and it delivers on that--though I will say it might vary based on what team you are on (though generally good). The Atlassian values are embraced by everyone. You'll find support for your new ideas, and you'll be less impeded by office politics. I hope to never leave. - Really collaborative culture - Strong adherence to values - Great support for innovation - Solid benefits - They are still newish to data science, so a lot of opportunities to contribute in a meaningful way to the business - You don't need a PhD to work on machine learning models here - Remote work is well-supported - Large company but still feels startup-y in many ways. You thus get the stability of a company that's not about to go under

    Cons

    - Funding decisions are often driven by initiatives; infrastructure work or long-term projects are often underfunded and understaffed - Wish they offered a stipend for remote employees to join coworking spaces - Less data maturity than some tech peers, so tooling or data quality may be work-in-progress - A lot of "data science" work is actually analytics--know what you're applying for - Still very Australia or Pacific-coast staff heavy, so east coast workers may find it annoying - Promotions are less quick than I'm used to

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Best company I've ever worked for

    May 12, 2022 - Senior Marketing Program Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - values-led (not just window dressing) - empathetic executive leadership and founders - great overall compensation & benefits - amazing community of customers - solid career development pathways - positive, helpful, and collaborative coworkers - great flexibility in work environment

    Cons

    - steep learning curve for those who aren't already in the work management for software teams space - still learning how to make the values fit with rapid employee growth

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    It's as good as they say it is!

    Mar 14, 2022 - Senior Business Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing supportive culture that prioritises psychological safety, transparency and constructive feedback. Senior staff are approachable and everyone truly lives by the company values. Company values come up in conversations all the time and truly lead the way with decision making. Pay is excellent and they don't glamorise overworking but encourage balance and rest.

    Cons

    Sometimes the openness of the company means random people will give you feedback which can seem a little scary at first, but there is good intent and all communication is encouraged to be delivered in the most productive way and not as something to tear others down. They truly do prioritise diversity and inclusion but it is definitely a male dominated company in the engineering / development teams which can be a little intimidating when you join as a woman. Everyone is really lovely though and I have not experienced or witnessed any sexist remarks. My manager has not been super hands on with setting career milestones and plans for my future development yet, so I am a little concerned of lack of trajectory in my career but it is still very early days for me so that could change in future.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Mix Bag

    May 5, 2022 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Benefits - amazing!!! Best I've experienced from any company - great health & wellness benefits - all though not crazy about the dental insurance. - You can probably just retire here comfortably if you are ok with just status quo

    Cons

    - At some point you hit the ceiling. No movement unless your boss leaves. - Its not that easy to move around - unless you know someone - Dare I say - politics....politics....politics - It's growing so fast there are people coming and going. You have to re-work how you work as a team every 6-8 months. - Lots of egos!! - NO WORK LIFE BALANCE since working 100% remote. - Not enough diversity and inclusion training. - Not enough women in leadership roles and definitely not diverse women in leadership roles - because there are so many new people, not really living the Atlassian way

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing place to work

    May 16, 2022 - Senior Software Engineer in Rochester, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Seriously great coworkers. - Lots of opportunity to contribute, learn, and grow. - Top-notch benefits and competitive salary. - Work from anywhere. In-office or remote – whatever works for you. - Excellent work-life balance. You're actively encouraged to make use of the unlimited PTO to regularly recharge.

    Cons

    Not much, at this point.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best place I've ever worked

    Mar 31, 2022 - Product Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Competitive salary, benefits, bonus, stock - Thoughtful work/life balance measures like "Refresh" days for my whole team so we can take time off without getting lots of messages while we're out. - Flexibility - work from anywhere, unlimited PTO, lots of different ways of working across teams and individuals - Interesting projects and challenges - the company is large but many orgs are exploring exciting new things and have exciting start-up energy - Regular growth check-ins and opportunities to try new things - Lots of chances to give back through paid time off for volunteering and company donation matching

    Cons

    - Can be long hours, especially if you're on a global team (meeting times across Australia, Europe, India, USA can lead to 12 hour days at times) - Pretty high workload, often with some degree of ambiguity - the company is growing quickly and supports lots of new ideas meaning you're often across multiple projects at once

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Three months in

    May 3, 2022 - Engineering Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Strong engineering culture and practices. Company lives its values. Interesting engineering challenges to meet scale demands of business. Good practices for hiring and promoting people.

    Cons

    There are more Confluence pages than time in the day to read them all. Fully remote and have not met any Atlassians in person yet. Atlassian stock is going through a rough patch. Lack of gender diversity on my team.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    The most caring company

    May 18, 2022 - Product Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Very open - Caring and empathetic colleagues - Bottom-up culture

    Cons

    - Sometimes the bottom-up culture creates a sense of confusion across departments

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,325 Reviews

Atlassian Reviews FAQs

Atlassian has an overall rating of 4.7 out of 5, based on over 1,461 reviews left anonymously by employees. 93% of employees would recommend working at Atlassian to a friend and 93% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Atlassian employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.5 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Atlassian. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

93% of Atlassian employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Atlassian 4.6 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.7 for culture and values and 4.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Atlassian to be career development, benefits, culture and the cons to be senior leadership, management.

Popular Careers with Atlassian Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews