Atlassian Reviews

Updated May 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
93%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Atlassian Co-Founders Scott Farquhar & Mike Cannon-Brookes
Scott Farquhar & Mike Cannon-Brookes
587 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great culture, excellent benefits, amazing work/life balance(in 75 reviews)

  • "surrounded by extremely smart people(in 41 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Good positions tend to be available only in the US or Sydney(in 27 reviews)

  • "Work life balance especially during WFH(in 24 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      I'm consistently impressed

      Nov 16, 2020 - Senior Engineer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture at Atlassian is probably the biggest draw. There are people who often might not necessarily value culture as much, but the culture here is the very reason why it's a great place to work. I'm constantly being impressed by the consideration around policy, work style, trust, and caring shown by management toward their direct reports at Atlassian. I'm also very impressed by my peers. There's a good reason the stock ticker is TEAM. Because that's precisely how people act here. People are caring and will go out of their way to help each other. I've felt very valued while working here. Their onboarding process is the best I've experienced, with lots of dialogue to ensure success. The training is pretty solid too, with a plan for ready for me on day one about how my first 90 days would go. That's pretty rare, especially given how well thought out it was. Being in a high technical field can be chaotic and stressful at times, but there's a lot of attention on employee and team well being. You won't run into issues where you're simply told "this is the way we're doing it".

      Cons

      The type of work can be demanding, but that is expected. The fact that I can't think of anything else that is a con should say a lot.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company with Amazing Values

      May 4, 2021 - Senior Software Developer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work-life balance is amazing, the teams really care for people in the team. The Work is also interesting and anything you do will show an impact on Atlassian customers. The initiatives are great. The benefits are incredible. With a family of four, all healthcare benefits are paid. Atlassian works hard to make sure the employees are taken care of and it shows. The leaders are open to feedback and are transparent, answering the tough questions in company-wide meetings, even when it's hard. Open company is perfectly apt for this company. The TEAM anywhere is an amazing concept and opportunity for employees to work remotely, the way you like it from anywhere.

      Cons

      It's hard to find a company with so many good things and pay you better than this company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Culture, Amazing Benefits, Humble Leadership

      Mar 7, 2021 - Senior Enterprise Advocate in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The benefits are incredible. With a family of four, all healthcare benefits are paid. Atlassian works hard to make sure the employees are taken care of and it shows. They invest in programs to support the mental health of everyone and provide ways to connect with others virtually (through the Pandemic). The leaders are open to feedback and are transparent, answering the tough questions in company-wide meetings, even when it's hard. The culture has been painstakingly cultivated to include all kinds of people. As a parent of a trans child, this in particular has been inspiring to see. There is an emphasis on promotion from within, and there are opportunities to grow your skills to serve the company in new ways.

      Cons

      As an organization that has grown through acquisition, not all systems are integrated, which can make for a difficult experience in learning how to do your day-to-day job. Atlassian is a largely self-organized, self-driven set of software nerds (I count myself among them and don't say that as an insult), as such, it can be difficult to find a human to help you to find answers. It's written down somewhere on a Confluence page, but everything is in Confluence, and if you lack the history and navigational expertise in that platform, it can be very hard to find what you need. Support is always a ticket, but I'm never sure what kind of ticket, what help desk, etc. Be prepared to have lots of systems to learn.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Enterprise Advocate (Account Executive)

      Apr 15, 2021 - Enterprise Advocate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company cares about it's employees Everyone in the company is very easy to work with The products are stellar and our customers rely on them everyday

      Cons

      There is a learning curve with how to work with different teams through tickets and slack channels / leveraging Confluence if you haven't before It's not a typical sales role There is some confusion among teams with delegation of authority and who owns what when working with a customer

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      World Class Culture

      Mar 19, 2021 - Analyst in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hands down, the best thing about Atlassian is the the culture. People at Atlassian live by the Atlassian values and it starts from the Founders setting the tone. It's very evident that the Founders use our values as guiding principles for how they communicate with the rest of the company and how decisions are made. There is a huge amount of trust across the company for individuals to do the same.

      Cons

      We're growing at very fast rate - it will becoming naturally harder for us to maintain culture over time. Work life balance can be a challenge. It's not really emphasized by managers on every team. I think most individuals have to make their own efforts to create balance, which honestly should fall under a manager's responsibilities NOT on the individual.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing Company With Amazing Values

      Apr 30, 2021 - IT Software Engineer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I work with amazing/passionate people. The benefits are pretty great. There is a huge education budget! I feel good about our impact on the world. The work is interested and engaging. WFH is very flexible and higher ups really encourage taking care of yourself :)

      Cons

      I was the only woman on my team for a while. I'm not sure what our numbers are but there's always room for diversity improvements.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Open and Honest Communication

      May 3, 2021 - Strategic Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company is full of people that are smart, positive, honest and upfront people. Everyone shares information willingly and is open about all things going on Atlassian

      Cons

      Still building out the infrastructure as far as a sales organization but its going in the right direction.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Heart in the right place, follow-through to be desired

      May 3, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Mountain View, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Flexible work environment - Autonomous teams and individual workers - Generous benefits - Accessible information (sometimes to a fault)

      Cons

      - Leadership can parrot back but not resolve feedback nor does it engage on controversial issues - Direction is too diversified to gain momentum - The same conversations happen every year without applying learnings - Only the loudest gets promoted

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      New year, same old excuses

      Mar 17, 2021 - Content Designer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Decent work-life balance * You mostly have the tools and resources to do your job properly * The company transitioned to remote well * People are generally polite and respectful to work with

      Cons

      The makeup of content design leadership is 100% white. The makeup of FTE content design team members is almost 100% white. Marketing content, Playbook content, and DevOps content teams are also almost 100% white. I've been surrounded by white content experts who understand the risk and consequences of inconsistent and deceptive messaging when it comes to their products. But they lack credibility and empathy with their diversity and inclusion messaging. For a full year, they've aggressively marketed themselves as inclusive while continuing a long pattern where only white people are hired, promoted, and meaningfully included. It's a disturbing and dangerous pattern, and I'm saddened that Glassdoor is the only outlet where it's possible for leaders to pay attention and hold themselves accountable for their gatekeeping.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Lots of changes but still a great place to work

      Mar 1, 2021 - Talent Acquisition in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been at Atlassian 3 years. It has tripled in size in that time (2k employees to 6k). That kind of growth is going to mean some growing pains along the way, and even more so with the pandemic happening in this time period. Despite this, I'd still say that the core things that made me excited to join Atlassian are still very much part of the environment. - Opportunity to make a big impact right away - The company still values you as a person first and foremost (has shown this during the pandemic) - Personal initiative is rewarded and encouraged

      Cons

      -Atlassian still wants to move fast and break stuff/learn as we go, this can be complicated as a larger company compared to 3 years ago -lots of ambiguity in the environment (prioritization can be a challenge)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 852 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Atlassian Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Software Engineer(Internship)
    Learn About the Job
    Software Development Engineer
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Atlassian? Share Your Experiences

    Atlassian logo
    or