Aztec Engineering Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Aztec Engineering Group Reviews

Updated Sep 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
63%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Aztec Engineering Group CEO Scott Mckenzie
Scott Mckenzie
1 Ratings
  1. "Senior CAD Technician/Designert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Civil Graphics Technician/Designer in Mesa, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Aztec Engineering Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Not a sweat shop. You are respected for your talents and your trusted to run on your own. Nice benefit package.

    Cons

    There is currently no work load. They need to spend some more efforts in marketing and diversify and spread out a bit more.

    Aztec Engineering Group2015-11-18
  2. "Good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Transportation Design Engineer 

    I worked at Aztec Engineering Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As an EIT, I was eligible for overtime pay when working beyond 40 hours. I learned a lot very quickly . Upper management was very approachable and it was a somewhat casual work environment.

    Cons

    Overwhelming amount of work and lots of expected over time. On the plus side, when staying late, management always bought dinner for the office as we all pushed to meet a deadline.

    Aztec Engineering Group2019-05-25
  3. "Work in Progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aztec Engineering Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay by industry standards Flexibility Interesting projects

    Cons

    Passive-aggressive tendencies Old school ways of thinking - have a desire to grow, yet are unwilling to change from the way "things have always been done." Currently an "each man for himself" culture/feel

    Advice to Management

    Open mindedness would go a long way to establishing a positive firm culture

    Aztec Engineering Group2019-05-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Production Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Aztec Engineering Group full-time

    Pros

    great work environment and people

    Cons

    hard to move up because everyone is trying to get a raise

    Aztec Engineering Group2017-01-19
  5. "Cad Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Aztec Engineering Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, various projects to work on.

    Cons

    Appears to hinge on large projects for revenue, so when things get slow theres not much to fall back on.

    Advice to Management

    plan for the slow times to retain good employees.

    Aztec Engineering Group2015-11-20
  6. "Project Hr Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Human Resources Assistant in Bloomington, IN
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Aztec Engineering Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Hours, Great Pay, Nice People

    Cons

    Need More room for growth and Oppurtunity

    Advice to Management

    Management was great, just not enough room for growth

    Aztec Engineering Group2015-11-17
  7. "Project Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Assistant in Bloomington, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Aztec Engineering Group

    Pros

    Working with diverse group of people. Learning about the entire project (This one is building an interstate) from the ground up. I'm overall proud of working with Aztec and their talented engineers.

    Cons

    Proper management not being on job site full time. Supervising jobs handled by those not necessarily qualified.

    Advice to Management

    Someone who is very talkative and seems friendly is not necessarily supervisory material. A supervisor needs to be able to communicate through good and bad.

    Aztec Engineering Group2015-10-19
  8. "Great Work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager (Subsurface Utility Engineering) 
    Recommends

    I worked at Aztec Engineering Group for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You don't get micro managed. In addition, my direct superior empowered me to make decisions. Overall very positive experience . PTO and benefits are very generous.

    Cons

    Lack of career growth opportunities within the organization.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on career development for those who hungry, humble and capable..

    Aztec Engineering Group2015-09-01
  9. "Small Company Managed like Corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Engineering Technologist in Grande Prairie, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Aztec Engineering Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free structure, great benefits. Good people.

    Cons

    Benefits based on participation at social events Very little structure Will let employees go without reason or cause with no prior negative incidents.

    Aztec Engineering Group2019-09-29
  10. "great experience ang good oppurtunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Manila, Manila
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Aztec Engineering Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    more project the merrier the better

    Cons

    good salary with annual incentives

    Advice to Management

    watch promotions to generous employees

    Aztec Engineering Group2012-10-05
Found 10 reviews