BetterHelp Reviews | Glassdoor

BetterHelp Reviews

Updated Oct 31, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Alon Matas
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to grow and enjoy our work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BetterHelp full-time

    Pros

    Mature and growing company, meaningful product, friendly culture, good work life balance

    Cons

    Can feel like too few people taking on a very large and complex mission

    Advice to Management

    Maintain the culture as team grows, grow the team faster

    BetterHelp2018-10-31
  2. Helpful (4)

    "counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BetterHelp

    Pros

    nice boss, great benefits, kind workers

    Cons

    low pay, no pto, low salary

    Advice to Management

    higher pay

    BetterHelp2018-07-30
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BetterHelp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Mostly fun/social place to work, incredible office manager that gives the environment more energy than you'd expect. Excellent perks, benefits, 401k, free GOOD lunches everyday.

    Cons

    Numbers/Data hold precedent to everything else, although you can work/explore other departments but not a ton of upward mobility

    Advice to Management

    Solid overall, but need to hear out all employees and not dismiss their ideas or convictions. Put providers/clients over numbers.

    BetterHelp2017-12-19
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Changing the world one person at a time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BetterHelp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When I tell stories to my relatives and friends working outside silicon valley they can't believe a place like this exists. Betterhelp bends over backwards to foster community and keep it's exceptionally skilled team intact and pushing forward toward it's lofty goals. This small but close knit group has accomplished more in the past year than competitors 10x our size and we have made meaningful impacts in countless...

    Show More

    Cons

    You have to be a self starter. If you are someone that needs to wait to be told what and how to do things, then this is not the place for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing but find a inspiring clinical leader to help bring what you've created locally to the distributed network of professional counselors so they can better see the broader picture of what they are helping to accomplish.

    BetterHelp2017-11-13
  5. "Enjoy getting up and going into the office again!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BetterHelp full-time

    Pros

    -Amazing location (close to freeways/has Caltrain shuttle option) -Super friendly work environment (also dog-friendly!!) -Office kitchen always has your favorite snacks in stock -Growing company with the opportunity to make an impact and share your ideas -Focus on health and wellness in an office environment -Work/life balance with frequent team bonding outings

    Cons

    - everyone works hard so this won't be a good fit if you tend to blend in and slack, everyone pulls their weight and contributes to the team everyday -sometimes the weather is bad so you have to sit inside and watch Tv with the company during lunch hour instead of sitting in the sunshine

    BetterHelp2017-11-14
  6. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community and Support Administrative Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BetterHelp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment. Everyone here is very friendly and great to work with. It makes coming in to work fun!

    Cons

    There are no cons to working here!

    BetterHelp2017-11-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Better Employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BetterHelp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great office culture of work-life balance. This includes flexibility, understanding, and compassion. Management is made of real people that take into consideration that employees are also real people with real life issues outside of work sometimes. Plenty of office events, celebrations, and activities to keep us happy and motivated. Lots of things going on to remind us what a great service we are building. An environment...

    Show More

    Cons

    When it rains, it pours. This isn't about BetterHelp specifically, but just start ups in general. When we're busy, we're really busy, meaning sometimes we work some long days/evenings. It gets really cold in the office sometimes.

    Advice to Management

    Keep treating us like humans with real outside-of-work-lives, and you will retain loyal and happy employees :)

    BetterHelp2017-11-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "It was a pleasant experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BetterHelp full-time

    Pros

    1) Small company means as an individual you have a lot to contribute directly. 2) Provides free lunch 3) Surrounded by smart coworkers 4) It's in the Bay Area 5) Competitive pay

    Cons

    1) This job can be demanding 2) Sometimes have to work during vacation time

    Advice to Management

    Hopefully employees can spend less time working overtime

    BetterHelp2017-09-12
  9. Helpful (2)

    "BetterHelp promotes wonderful office culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Data Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BetterHelp full-time

    Pros

    Everyone is super friendly. We all eat lunch together, support each others projects, and make sure the office stays lively. People are able to make serious contributions to the company and feel like what they do matters.

    Cons

    Open concept office- though I see this as a major plus.

    BetterHelp2017-05-01
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Awesome place for providing help to those who need it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BetterHelp

    Pros

    1. Compared to other platforms, BetterHelp has the most options for any kind of expertise and service offered. 2. It's the most robust (and oldest?) player in the market which is very assuring when working in the mental health field.

    Cons

    1. The platform is constantly changing which often creates confusion and concerns among providers. 2. While pay is fair, it still doesn't compare to private practice rates.

    Advice to Management

    Make more regular communication about upcoming changes ahead of time.

    BetterHelp2017-04-01
Found 13 reviews