BlackLine Reviews

Updated May 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
BlackLine CEO Marc Huffman (no image)
Marc Huffman
0 Rating
Pros
  • "Free food all the time as well as a ping pong table and pool table(in 18 reviews)

  • "Providing a true work life balance and opportunity for career growth(in 17 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Some growing pains, but that is to be expected with the rate of growth(in 16 reviews)

  • "Although change is a must to continually improve and adapt to a fast paced market(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Company that cares for their Employees

      Nov 5, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits and compensation package. Fast growing company with tons of opportunities to grow since they promote within.

      Cons

      Nothing significant to report as such.

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      BlackLine

      Apr 16, 2021 - Tech Lead 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast paced environment, lots of challenging work

      Cons

      The company is experiencing growing pains of rapid expansion.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Diversity of thought is NOT encouraged.

      Mar 12, 2021 - Enterprise Business Development Representative in Woodland Hills, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed my time at BlackLine for the most part. In the business development position you can expect to become more confident in your abilities, an increase in drive for success and to be compensated appropriately. I was able to progress rather quickly from Inbound to Enterprise and then Team Lead of Enterprise, which was the most rewarding position I held. I loved seeing my team succeed and working together to think creatively to navigate hitting quota during the global lockdowns.

      Cons

      Although they preach diversity at BlackLine, diversity of thought is NOT encouraged. It was unfortunate to leave BlackLine with a bad taste in my mouth having been discriminated against by employees and management. Especially after the hard work and energy I put in to help the team succeed. Promotions are fueled by favoritism. While at BlackLine multiple times people who didn't have experience working the Enterprise market, got promoted to then manage the team of individuals who have worked that market for two plus years. This imbalance created unnecessary animosity among the team. Others may be able to overlook, but for me personally, these things added up and I could no longer give my all to an organization who clearly looks at you as a number. On top of that, to protect their image, they made it look like I got fired, not letting me say goodbye to my teams even though I had only positive words of encouragement. The blatant disrespect was very disheartening and made BlackLines motives abundantly clear. Other departments may be better, but this seemed to be a reoccurring theme in the Business Development department.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Don't be fooled

      May 7, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home currently. Some people are extremely nice.

      Cons

      Abusive work environment at times. No work life balance what so ever. I have never been able to take a vacation and not work. The expectation is that you will work while on vacation.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company

      May 11, 2021 - Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture and a lot of opportunities for training and development. Work with some very smart people. Amazing diversity.

      Cons

      It's who you know. Not all departments have upward mobility, promotions, or raises. Having an accounting background is almost a necessity.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Fake Reviews to boost bad culture

      Apr 21, 2021 - Sales in Woodland Hills, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They try and focus on supporting sales Trying hard to get the organization sales focused and customer supported. They use to have a true care pressure you - you use to have a life outside of work but now they cross all sorts of boundaries and expect you t be available 24/7. Employees are seen as a number vs a person now. Product development is good. Salary use to be competitive but now it’s below average, once Covid passes, I suspect they will have an exodus. Which leads me to it being good for inexperienced folks to move up as they think everyone is replaceable - management likes to talk a lot about themselves even if it’s based off of fiction vs facts, and young inexperienced folks will listen and do there bidding.

      Cons

      They use to have a true care about there employees culture but when they CEO left and they hired a ton of ex NetSuite executives it became a boys club and the employees are seen as a number vs a person now. A lot of the management is stressed out and it shows in there health, all they do is push and pressure you. You use to have a life outside of work but now they cross all sorts of boundaries and expect you t be available 24/7. Money means more to them then anything else. You’re measured on everything, and that’s how you are viewed - it’s a what have yo using for me lately culture. You could hit 150% of quota 3 quarters in a row then get 50% and there all over you. I’m surprised they haven’t GPS’d us! If you ever looked at the ratings on here, BlackLine has hovered around 3-3.5 stars, suddenly were 4-4.5. Lookalike Ike HR has been puffing up the reviews

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great company with tons of potential

      Apr 7, 2021 - Principal Implementation Consultant in Woodland Hills, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic product, great culture, great compensation, fiercely loyal customers

      Cons

      Departments can be a bit silo'd

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A Great Place to Work

      Apr 27, 2021 - Senior Manager in Woodland Hills, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employee Benefits, Leadership, Colleagues, Work/Life Balance

      Cons

      While it is getting MUCH better, there are still silos that exist but leadership is working through this.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Amazing Company

      Mar 19, 2021 - BDR 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture at BlackLine is best in class. The team will support you to thrive and be successful.

      Cons

      None that can come to mind. Joining has been a great decision!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great culture and perks

      Mar 4, 2021 - Mid Market Account Executive in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People/Culture, Leadership, Benefits, Growth, Market Leader

      Cons

      Not a lot but now that we've grown to a decent size and public we've naturally and understandably lost some of that original 'startup' vibe.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 230 Reviews

    Popular Careers with BlackLine Job Seekers

    Customer Success Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Business Development Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Partner Customer Success Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at BlackLine? Share Your Experiences

    BlackLine logo
    or