Cover image for Botify
Logo

Botify

Engaged Employer

Botify

Add a Review

Botify Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 78 of over 84 reviews
4.2
73% Recommend to a Friend
92% Approve of CEO

Found 60 of over 84 reviews

4.2
73%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Botify CEO Adrien Ménard (no image)
Adrien Ménard
52 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

494

70 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great technology and team

    May 22, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Been in the space for a long time and the tech is super solid for really large and complex websites.

    Cons

    Trying to grow fast brings a lot of challenges and sometimes much less than ideal outcomes.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Decent, but quite a headache

    Oct 13, 2022 - Business Development Representative in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun group of super smart people Pay is above average Good benefits & perks

    Cons

    Too many to list, but I’ll try. The roadmap for the product is extremely murky, nobody knows what is going on Revolving door on all teams, major issues with retention Leadership does not want to hear what you have to say if you’re an IC, prepare to be bulldozed by middle management Next to no enablement tools for sales. Working with marketing is worse than going in for a root canal, specifically middle management. Months and months of buzz around new office space that nobody wanted just so leadership can force mandated office days. Who is this benefiting other than C-suite egos? Also, after all that the new office isn’t even very well done. Gossip, gossip, gossip. Anything that should be confidential won’t be. And don’t bother going to HR. Marketing forcing events that do nothing to generate or nurture pipeline, and again, I’d rather go to the dentist than hold a conversation with events. Absolute boys club, especially sales.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Botify team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Not Great

    Sep 30, 2022 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    SEO is a fun field to work in

    Cons

    They don't pay as much as they could

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great people, best product, hard work with reward.

    Jan 19, 2022 - Account Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people, the product, the perks, the pay.

    Cons

    Somewhat difficult of a product to wrap your head around but the tech teams are so helpful, they really support you along the way.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Place to Work

    Oct 27, 2021 - Director of Marketing Operations in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fast Growing startup, series C funded Flexibility People are going the extra mile to achieve their goals and help others achieve theirs. Transition possible within the organization

    Cons

    There isn't that many benefits.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great vision & product, honest and kind leadership & employees

    Feb 11, 2021 - Chief Product Officer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been impressed since day 1 at Botify by the culture: Botifyers are nice people who enjoy their work and are always willing to go the extra mile and test new ideas. This makes everyday life so much easier! On the business side, the product is unique on the Enterprise SEO market, with few competitors providing anything close at this scale: this means the company is always growing and that we are helping the most important websites in the US and Europe to grow their organic search traffic.

    Cons

    The US benefits aren't the best in the market (healthcare especially)

    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Primed for takeoff

    Jun 3, 2021 - Sales in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - World-Class Product - Happy Customers - Growing Deal Sizes - Great New Talent - Engaged and Humble Leadership Team - Summer Fridays - Killer Expresso - World-Class Product

    Cons

    - AC in the NY office is always on full blast

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great vision, not-so-great ability to execute

    May 7, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Best product on the market - Bright coworkers on some teams - Global team, ambitious vision - Great work/life balance - World-class clients to work with

    Cons

    - No bottom-up feedback system, Officevibe doesn't nearly do the job, and leaders don't seem to care about feedback from frontline team members. This seems to be the root cause of a lot of issues. - Culture and mood in NY office has been gloomy - Territory management needs big improvements... 6 months to sort out account distribution, poor rollout, and reps are expected to hit quota in the meantime - As an AE or SDR, expect to have severely overworked accounts to be handed to you, and/or accounts that clearly aren't a good fit - Serious misalignment between business development (which until 2019 was compensated for activity goals, not end results) and sales. SDRs having spammy practices and burning bridges with accounts - Employees are terminated silently and unless executives, nothing is mentioned, which affects the overall culture negatively - High employee turnover as shown on the company's LinkedIn page. Average tenure around 1y - Compensation below par with industry levels

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Innovation handicapped by greedy shareholders and execs

    Sep 27, 2020 - New York Team in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Bright colleagues in many departments -Comp is slightly above average -Benefits have gotten better (401K match(4%), paternity(12wks)) -Convenient location in FiDi -One of the best SEO softwares that innovate -Company tries to change and improve culture but it's not working.

    Cons

    Botify has really been on a downhill spiral since the Series B funding. Growth at all costs has shot down morale across the teams, more so in the NYC with key members that built out the culture/teams leaving in droves. COVID-19 accelerated some of that unbalanced expectations of the company when pay cuts were introduce with pay cuts ranging from 9% to 18%. Exec teams by most standards took a low pay cut. For instance, the CEO, with large ownership of the company still took the same range pay cut as others who make significantly less and have no ownership at all. That is likely why they most recently announced equity for all employees, albeit very little. There was a small stipend of $482 (exact) for work from home equipment. But limited to only specific equipment. Those who wanted desks, chairs, etc were not allowed since we had to return the equipment if an employee left. Company tries to be "transparent" but doesn't actually provide transparency when it comes to things like pay cuts, equity, revenue forecasts and goals, and how/why some decisions are made. The company is not able to be transparent when it's the tough topics to talk about. Going as far as to call individuals out when asking a tough question in an "anonymous" Q&A.

    Continue reading
    30 people found this review helpful

    Botify Response

    SVP of People and Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback and we sincerely regret that we aren’t meeting expectations. While it is always hard to hear constructive criticism, we appreciate reviews like this because they help us to get better - and we are always striving to get better. Part of trying to improve as much as possible and push our employees to share their feedback on the current organization and management is so we can work towards positive solutions. We would love for you to connect confidentially with our HR team about your feedback and specific actions we can take to make Botify a better place to work. If you are uncomfortable reaching out to HR, you can anonymously submit feedback on OfficeVibe so we can start an anonymous dialogue. Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to (hopefully) speaking to you further!

  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Rocketship preparing to launch

    Mar 8, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people and the product. Botify is incredibly well-positioned to succeed as the go-to SEO solution for enterprise websites. The right leaders are in place to accomplish this vision, the product is more advanced than anything I've seen in the market, and my co-workers are some of the brightest, most caring people I know. I'm excited to come into the office every morning, and I can't wait to see what's in store for Botify in the upcoming years.

    Cons

    I want to align my success with Botify's success. Currently, equity is not part of our compensation packages. This is the only thing that comes to mind when thinking about Cons of the company.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 60 Reviews
</>Embed

Botify Reviews FAQs

Botify has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5, based on over 84 reviews left anonymously by employees. 73% of employees would recommend working at Botify to a friend and 75% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 4% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Botify employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Botify. This rating has improved by 7% over the last 12 months.

73% of Botify employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Botify 4.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.2 for culture and values and 4.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Botify to be career development, benefits, culture and the cons to be senior leadership, management.

Popular Careers with Botify Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Botify? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Botify Photos

+ Add Photo
Botify photo of: Open space
Botify photo of: Fifa
Botify photo of: Board Games
Botify photo of: Fun time
Botify photo of: Team meeting
Botify photo of: Designers at work
Botify photo of: Teamwork
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Glassdoor has 84 Botify reviews submitted anonymously by Botify employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Botify is right for you.