KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Botify

Is this your company?

Botify

Add a Review

Botify Reviews

Updated Jul 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 of over 62 reviews

3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Botify CEO Adrien Ménard (no image)
Adrien Ménard
36 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Primed for takeoff

    Jun 3, 2021 - Sales in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - World-Class Product - Happy Customers - Growing Deal Sizes - Great New Talent - Engaged and Humble Leadership Team - Summer Fridays - Killer Expresso - World-Class Product

    Cons

    - AC in the NY office is always on full blast

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great vision & product, honest and kind leadership & employees

    Feb 11, 2021 - Chief Product Officer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been impressed since day 1 at Botify by the culture: Botifyers are nice people who enjoy their work and are always willing to go the extra mile and test new ideas. This makes everyday life so much easier! On the business side, the product is unique on the Enterprise SEO market, with few competitors providing anything close at this scale: this means the company is always growing and that we are helping the most important websites in the US and Europe to grow their organic search traffic.

    Cons

    The US benefits aren't the best in the market (healthcare especially)

    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great vision, not-so-great ability to execute

    May 7, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Best product on the market - Bright coworkers on some teams - Global team, ambitious vision - Great work/life balance - World-class clients to work with

    Cons

    - No bottom-up feedback system, Officevibe doesn't nearly do the job, and leaders don't seem to care about feedback from frontline team members. This seems to be the root cause of a lot of issues. - Culture and mood in NY office has been gloomy - Territory management needs big improvements... 6 months to sort out account distribution, poor rollout, and reps are expected to hit quota in the meantime - As an AE or SDR, expect to have severely overworked accounts to be handed to you, and/or accounts that clearly aren't a good fit - Serious misalignment between business development (which until 2019 was compensated for activity goals, not end results) and sales. SDRs having spammy practices and burning bridges with accounts - Employees are terminated silently and unless executives, nothing is mentioned, which affects the overall culture negatively - High employee turnover as shown on the company's LinkedIn page. Average tenure around 1y - Compensation below par with industry levels

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Innovation handicapped by greedy shareholders and execs

    Sep 27, 2020 - New York Team in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Bright colleagues in many departments -Comp is slightly above average -Benefits have gotten better (401K match(4%), paternity(12wks)) -Convenient location in FiDi -One of the best SEO softwares that innovate -Company tries to change and improve culture but it's not working.

    Cons

    Botify has really been on a downhill spiral since the Series B funding. Growth at all costs has shot down morale across the teams, more so in the NYC with key members that built out the culture/teams leaving in droves. COVID-19 accelerated some of that unbalanced expectations of the company when pay cuts were introduce with pay cuts ranging from 9% to 18%. Exec teams by most standards took a low pay cut. For instance, the CEO, with large ownership of the company still took the same range pay cut as others who make significantly less and have no ownership at all. That is likely why they most recently announced equity for all employees, albeit very little. There was a small stipend of $482 (exact) for work from home equipment. But limited to only specific equipment. Those who wanted desks, chairs, etc were not allowed since we had to return the equipment if an employee left. Company tries to be "transparent" but doesn't actually provide transparency when it comes to things like pay cuts, equity, revenue forecasts and goals, and how/why some decisions are made. The company is not able to be transparent when it's the tough topics to talk about. Going as far as to call individuals out when asking a tough question in an "anonymous" Q&A.

    Continue reading
    23 people found this review helpful

    Botify Response

    SVP of People and Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback and we sincerely regret that we aren’t meeting expectations. While it is always hard to hear constructive criticism, we appreciate reviews like this because they help us to get better - and we are always striving to get better. Part of trying to improve as much as possible and push our employees to share their feedback on the current organization and management is so we can work towards positive solutions. We would love for you to connect confidentially with our HR team about your feedback and specific actions we can take to make Botify a better place to work. If you are uncomfortable reaching out to HR, you can anonymously submit feedback on OfficeVibe so we can start an anonymous dialogue. Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to (hopefully) speaking to you further!

  5. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Don't join this company

    Feb 6, 2021 - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some of the people are great. The product is decent.

    Cons

    Management doesn't care about employees and sees them as disposable. Leadership, especially CEO, is inexperienced and immature and the massive amounts of turnover in the company demonstrate that the culture is dysfunctional beyond what most employees are willing to tolerate.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    Botify Response

    SVP of People and Culture

    We appreciate hearing your feedback and wish your experience had been more positive at Botify. We work hard to create an environment where people can be heard and feel like they have an opportunity to grow personally & professionally. If we were unable to provide this reviewer that experience, that is hard to hear but ultimately, good feedback to receive so we can do better in the future. And while we think we have a lot of opportunities and excellent employee offerings that make working here great, we are committed to improving when we receive feedback like this. For instance, just this week we launched our first ever Culture Survey - this is to help us understand what we are doing right (so we can keep doing it) and where we need to improve (so we can make positive changes). Through feedback from our employees, we have recently added unlimited professional career coaching for every employee, 3 volunteer days off per year, and new career pathing that we hope will continue to support our employees in their pursuit of personal and professional development.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Rocketship preparing to launch

    Mar 8, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people and the product. Botify is incredibly well-positioned to succeed as the go-to SEO solution for enterprise websites. The right leaders are in place to accomplish this vision, the product is more advanced than anything I've seen in the market, and my co-workers are some of the brightest, most caring people I know. I'm excited to come into the office every morning, and I can't wait to see what's in store for Botify in the upcoming years.

    Cons

    I want to align my success with Botify's success. Currently, equity is not part of our compensation packages. This is the only thing that comes to mind when thinking about Cons of the company.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Rapidly Growing Company with Great Leadership

    Jan 30, 2020 - Sales Development Representative in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Benefits package is pretty good - The people here are excellent. They contribute to a great overall culture and make work fun to come to. The company is currently in a good size where it's growing quickly but still small enough where you can talk to the CEO and hang out with people in other departments - The Product is second to none in the industry. That alone will allow the software to be a part of many enterprise toolstacks - Good work hard play hard environment. People can keep their nose to the grindstone but there are still opportunities to put your guard down; happy hours, holiday parties, etc. - Management has been very transparent overall - If you do well, you will be rewarded. - Management gives you the tools and resources to succeed

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons as of now

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Innovative, smart, fun company

    May 19, 2020 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Best in class product - Continuous improvement and innovation at company’s core - Challenging projects that allow for massive professional and personal growth - Great, smart, passionate hard-working team, including management - Regular communication - Fun office and culture

    Cons

    Don’t expect things handed to you, be proactive

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Growing Global Company

    Jan 30, 2020 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Global company with the opportunity to interact with team members in the US, UK and France. -Great product with a really strong future in the space. -In general, the team is hardworking, kind and driven. -A chance to gain experience in a growing tech company.

    Cons

    This is more a matter of what you want in company culture and not a concrete con, but Botify is growing and because of that it's fast-moving internally. If you prefer a slower-paced organization this may not be the best fit for you.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Fast moving company

    Feb 9, 2020 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Dont listen to negative reviews on here, Botify is an exciting young company with talented employees and high profile clients. If you dont like to grind, then this place wont be for you. The product is top notch.

    Cons

    Some processes aren’t perfectly defined but its evident that the company is working to improve this.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 49 Reviews

Popular Careers with Botify Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Botify? Share Your Experiences

Botify logo
or