BuildDirect Reviews | Glassdoor

BuildDirect Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 74 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Dan Park
7 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Poor business model, going nowhere despite new investment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time

    Pros

    Great view from the office, unlimited vacation, some good people are left, they have exited CCAA successfully, have received new funding

    Cons

    The business model for this company is flawed, they have been losing money for a long time and despite a reduction in burn rate I very much doubt they can turn it around. The company has recently focused on sectors of the market they think will save them but have failed to differentiate themselves from competitors. Talent and senior leadership left in large numbers after they went into official financial restructuring...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't just think about your exit strategy...

    BuildDirect2018-06-02
  2. "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Logistics Coordinator 

      I worked at BuildDirect full-time

      Pros

      Benefit is unlimited vacation time

      Cons

      Employees abused unlimited vacation time

      BuildDirect2019-07-18
    • "Great company to work with"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Engineer 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at BuildDirect full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      1. Good benefit 2. Flexible vacation policy 3. Beautiful view

      Cons

      The software engineering team is relatively small

      BuildDirect2019-05-03
    • Helpful (6)

      "Horrible Workplace"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at BuildDirect full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      • unlimited vacay • flexible working hours • challenging work

      Cons

      • horrible pay • leadership/direction is all over the place • communication is difficult • work culture is hostile

      BuildDirect2019-06-04
    • "Culture Plus"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Marketplace Account Manager in Vancouver, BC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at BuildDirect full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Fun, young, vibrant culture. Open and transparent leadership. Always available to talk.

      Cons

      Constantly changing goal posts. Long term goals often dropped for immediate short term gains to please investors

      Advice to Management

      Stick to the long term vision and commitment as laid out by the strategic plan and success will follow.

      BuildDirect2018-09-26
    • "Solid tech team, job stability can be a bit of a worry though"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at BuildDirect full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Note that I can only speak from the perspective of the tech team: - lots of really great people on the tech team; smart, friendly, care about their work, committed to improving - opportunities to learn interesting tools and frameworks (AWS lambda, serverless, docker/Kubernetes, react-redux) - great work-life balance; generous with vacation time and benefits, very little crunch time

      Cons

      Again, this perspective is limited to my experience on the tech team: - flip-flopping on internal tools to use causes throwaway code and sometimes feels like we waste our time developing things that end up being re-written anyway - recent financial troubles have lead to a slightly uneasy feeling of job instability in the back of many of our minds - workplace culture has degraded slightly in recent years; this is in...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      - you've done a better job than previous management in fostering a sense of trust in your communication and transparency; keep doing this - stop flip-flopping on internal tools and technology; get an engineering perspective from those who would be implementing the tools at the start

      BuildDirect2018-09-13
    • "Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Career Opportunities
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at BuildDirect full-time

      Pros

      Lots of opportunity to learn, unlimited leaves and flexible working hours

      Cons

      Low compensation and slow growth for some areas

      BuildDirect2018-08-16
    • "Good People, poor direction"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at BuildDirect full-time

      Pros

      Great people to work with

      Cons

      constant change in direction makes it difficult to stick to one goal

      BuildDirect2018-07-31
    • "Inside Sales Rep"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at BuildDirect full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great coworkers, fun atmosphere, unlimited vacation. Managers will have your back in almost all situations and you'll make lasting friendships

      Cons

      Very hard to advance anywhere else in the company. BD will frequently hire outside before moving people internally, but I have seen it happen.

      Advice to Management

      If you are going to give people an opportunity to work with other departments, create a development plan to foster talent and retain employees.

      BuildDirect2018-06-27
    • "Good company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at BuildDirect full-time

      Pros

      People are friendly, and there are good benefits and flexibility

      Cons

      There is not a lot of opportunity to learn or grow.

      Advice to Management

      Need to figure out direction, and plans, and help employees see where they fit into that.

      BuildDirect2018-06-04
    Found 74 reviews