KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Byte Back

Is this your company?

Byte Back

Add a Review

Byte Back Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 of over 13 reviews

2.9
40%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Byte Back Executive Director  Elizabeth Lindsey (no image)
Elizabeth Lindsey
5 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,930

973 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
    There are no pros to display at this time.
Cons
  • "There is a huge amount of recent staff turnover after the organization shifted somewhat and a new CEO was brought on.(in 1 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Staff members want people to succeed

    Oct 3, 2019 - IT Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is an excellent, free program for DC residents! Take advantage of these classes!

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to say about this program.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Byte Back Response

    COO

    Thank you so much for your kind words! We have a lot of dedicated staff members who work tirelessly to help students reach their goals.

  2. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Good mission bad leadership

    Aug 15, 2022 - Project Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Admirable mission and great students to support.

    Cons

    Lack of service minded leadership, hostile work environment, antiquated Outlook from management. High turnover rate.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    High turnover, lack of transparency, understaffed

    Apr 7, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's a great mission, the organization is well-known in the DC area and has been around for quite a while. Most of the staff are competent, kind, and care about the organization's mission. Most of the managers/ supervisors are supportive and genuinely want to help you grow. Prior CEO (Elizabeth Lindsey) was great. Used to be more flexibility and more of a supportive workplace culture.

    Cons

    (My negative CEO approval review is for the new CEO who is not listed here yet.) Byte Back used to be a good, community-based organization. The organization has shifted focus (trying to expand) from being a local, community-based organization, and decisions are more and more being made without really understanding or listening to feedback from people in the communities that the organization is serving. Staff are overworked (yes, being overworked is normal for a non-profit, but even when managers know their staff are overworked, they don't always have buy-in or support from executive level staff to actually do anything about it.) There is a huge amount of recent staff turnover after the organization shifted somewhat and a new CEO was brought on. This is at all levels of the organization. This turnover is somewhat because of how overworked staff are and how understaffed the organization is, but also because it is not clear that the new CEO has a vision that aligns with the original mission of the organization. There is a stated commitment to DEI but limited actual back-up of those statements by action within certain types of diversity. There is a focus on racial equity but not much focus on gender equity, accessibility, and LGBTQ+ issues.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Things may not end well....

    Feb 8, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mission Benefits (minus 401K contribution) Schedule flexibility

    Cons

    Leadership Lack of organization Staff burn out staff are asked for input but leadership doesn't respond

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Review

    Jul 28, 2021 - Training and Logistics Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great mission and Dedicated staff.

    Cons

    Poor leadership, lack of mentorship and support

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Used to be a Great Organization

    Jun 6, 2020 - Career Services in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The students and the staff and instructors who care about the org's vision

    Cons

    Decision-level management does not have a community building mentality

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Good people stuck in a struggling organization

    Dec 30, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This organization manages to attract some smart, hardworking people who genuinely care about the work being done there. And I do think the organization is making a difference within the community. If you really want to break into the nonprofit sector, you can gain a lot of valuable experience here.

    Cons

    The director rules the organization like a dictatorship. There's very little administrative support and no HR presence (though this is changing). Some employees are held to impossible standards while others have too little to do. There is extremely poor communication among the employees and with the management. I've heard that some of this has improved since the hiring of the new deputy director, but the organization has lost a lot of employees over the past two years due to poor management.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Byte Back Response

    Operations Director

    Let me start off by saying thank you so much for your input. I am sorry that your experience in 2014 with Byte Back was not one that would motivate you to provide a positive review about us. We have made major changes to our organization since your experience with Byte Back. I would like to list a couple of things that relate directly to your concerns. - We currently have a designated HR Associate who works directly with the Operations Director to provide a HR presence. - Our new Executive Director, Elizabeth Lindsey firmly believes in empowering and supporting staff. As we expand as an organization, we realize that allowing staff to grow and develop in their roles must take place. - We have gone to great lengths to re-evaluate our staff, their roles, and adjust work loads accordingly. This has also involved hiring more staff, increasing our volunteer pool, and most importantly ensuring our development of management to support staff, takes place. - We have begun using software specifically designed to ensure employees have clear goals, firm understanding of their progress towards those goals, and understanding how they will be evaluated on those goals. - We love input from our staff, and push individuals to provide input so that we can grow as an organization and as individuals. I again apologize that your experience was not necessarily a pleasant one. I wish that you could have experienced the change that has taken place since 2015 with our new Executive Director.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing team of people who believe in Byte Back's mission

    Jan 16, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hardworking coworkers who love Byte Back's mission; Executive Director has an amazing vision for the organization which has improved in recent years; real potential for upward mobility and professional growth; diverse and inclusive workplace with a great culture; management are more than willing to listen to staff and push for changes.

    Cons

    Due to the small number of staff, things can sometimes get a bit hectic, but work/life balance is still good overall.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Byte Back Response

    Operations Director

    Thank you for the review! We have been concentrating a lot on how we can communicate better and listen to our staff more. We do understand that input from staff is vital to progressing as an organization and reaching our mission.

  9. 3.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Culturally challenged but good intent.

    Oct 19, 2015 - Anonymous Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The professional staff really care about the outcomes of the trainings they conduct on employees and trainees.

    Cons

    Sometimes there is a disconnect between the way they treat individuals east of the bridge and the northwest types with their performance expectations.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Understaffed on purpose?

    May 19, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working there, you can help real people and learn on the job, feel like you make a difference in the DC

    Cons

    Hiring is so slow, that you always had two jobs to do and nobody trusted each other - there was too much favoritism

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Byte Back Response

    Operations Director

    Thank you for your review. We're always working to improve our processes and become a more effective organization. Part of that review is evaluating our staffing and the length of time it takes to fill open positions. We have made a lot of good progress over the last couple of months in improving the length of time it takes to fill open positions. We will continue to focus in this area to improve and make sure our staffing plan is adequate to meet the needs of the organization. I'm sorry to hear that you felt individuals were treated differently. Our goal is to always treat individuals with respect and meet their needs on an individual basis.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

Popular Careers with Byte Back Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Byte Back? Share Your Experiences

or

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Byte Back Job Seekers Also Viewed

Enterprise Business Solutions Logo
Enterprise Business Solutions

3.5

60 Reviews
Compare