Byte Back Reviews | Glassdoor

Byte Back Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Elizabeth Lindsey
2 Ratings
  1. "Amazing team of people who believe in Byte Back's mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Byte Back full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hardworking coworkers who love Byte Back's mission; Executive Director has an amazing vision for the organization which has improved in recent years; real potential for upward mobility and professional growth; diverse and inclusive workplace with a great culture; management are more than willing to listen to staff and push for changes.

    Cons

    Due to the small number of staff, things can sometimes get a bit hectic, but work/life balance is still good overall.

    Advice to Management

    I think management is already doing a great job, I would just advise them to continue listening to all staff input and be as open and communicative ad possible.

    Byte Back2018-01-16

    Byte Back Response

    August 16, 2018Operations Director

    Thank you for the review! We have been concentrating a lot on how we can communicate better and listen to our staff more. We do understand that input from staff is vital to progressing as an organization and reaching our mission.

  2. "Good community-based computer training organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Byte Back

      Pros

      The organization adjusts to needs of participants in a timely way.

      Cons

      Doesn't always notify participants of events well in advance.

      Advice to Management

      Provide more feedback mechanisms for programs.

      Byte Back2018-10-29
    • "Understaffed on purpose?"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Byte Back part-time

      Pros

      Working there, you can help real people and learn on the job, feel like you make a difference in the DC

      Cons

      Hiring is so slow, that you always had two jobs to do and nobody trusted each other - there was too much favoritism

      Advice to Management

      spend time and resources with all your people

      Byte Back2018-05-19

      Byte Back Response

      August 16, 2018Operations Director

      Thank you for your review. We're always working to improve our processes and become a more effective organization. Part of that review is evaluating our staffing and the length of time it takes to fill open positions. We have made a lot of good progress over the last couple of ...

      Show More
    • "Great Mission & Team Make a Great Workplace"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Byte Back full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      The team is united in working toward a great, meaningful mission. Benefits, support from leadership, beautiful offices...

      Cons

      There is a lot of ambitious work to do, but work-life balance is valued and staff is supportive.

      Byte Back2018-01-04
    • Helpful (3)

      "Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Certification Programs Administrator in Washington, DC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Byte Back full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Helping low income to get certified and employment

      Cons

      No communication, a lot of gossip, lot of blames because people are not doing what they supposed to do. Unnecessary meetings! No Instructions

      Advice to Management

      Management should listen to the employees instead of thinking they are just complaining

      Byte Back2016-10-14
    • Helpful (2)

      "Culturally challenged but good intent."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Byte Back for more than a year

      Pros

      The professional staff really care about the outcomes of the trainings they conduct on employees and trainees.

      Cons

      Sometimes there is a disconnect between the way they treat individuals east of the bridge and the northwest types with their performance expectations.

      Advice to Management

      People are people, know this, regardless of class designation. Also don't rely on Americorp so much to fill staffing needs.

      Byte Back2015-10-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good people stuck in a struggling organization"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Byte Back full-time

      Pros

      This organization manages to attract some smart, hardworking people who genuinely care about the work being done there. And I do think the organization is making a difference within the community. If you really want to break into the nonprofit sector, you can gain a lot of valuable experience here.

      Cons

      The director rules the organization like a dictatorship. There's very little administrative support and no HR presence (though this is changing). Some employees are held to impossible standards while others have too little to do. There is extremely poor communication among the employees and with the management. I've heard that some of this has improved since the hiring of the new deputy director, but the organization...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Provide more structure for the organization (clear goals and regular evaluations). Be open to receiving feedback from employees (and don't punish those you label "complainers"). Managing employees needs to shift away from the director completely. The future of the organization is really going to depend on who is hired as the new executive director.

      Byte Back2014-12-30

      Byte Back Response

      December 20, 2017Operations Director

      Let me start off by saying thank you so much for your input. I am sorry that your experience in 2014 with Byte Back was not one that would motivate you to provide a positive review about us. We have made major changes to our organization since your experience with Byte Back. I ...

      Show More
    Found 7 reviews