CAL State LA Reviews | Glassdoor

CAL State LA Reviews

Updated Feb 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
CAL State LA President William A. Covino
William A. Covino
68 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay, could pay student more than minimum(in 8 reviews)

  • "You can’t work more than 20 hours as a student so be aware of your financial needs(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at CAL State LA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Worked in University Times department. Fun people and learned a lot

    Cons

    Not much to say here

    CAL State LA2020-02-19
  2. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Lab Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at CAL State LA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment and good support from supervisors

    Cons

    The only con is minimum wage only

    CAL State LA2020-01-14
  3. "Great job that worked with my school schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CAL State LA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *Very Flexible* was able to make adjustments as a full time student to accommodate for exams and events.

    Cons

    Only allowed 20 hour per week, with a starting wage slightly above minimum.

    Continue reading
    CAL State LA2020-01-15
  4. "Lead People not manage numbers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CAL State LA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work schedule, no late nights no weekends. Holidays off.

    Cons

    There is no communication between upper management and staff. There was no budget, not financial goals to achieve. Staff was extremely rude and obnoxious and the upper management tolerate d the behavior.

    Continue reading
    CAL State LA2020-02-03
  5. "Peer Mentor at Pathways Program, Cal State LA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Peer Mentor in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CAL State LA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great flexible schedule and awesome staff to work for. I am having a wonderful experience working and developing my leadership skills with students and senior staff.

    Cons

    It is a federal work study program. These type of programs may last 1 school year (2 semesters). A student can always reapply to work as federal work study student every school year.

    Continue reading
    CAL State LA2019-12-25
  6. "Great as a part-time campus job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Videographer/Marketing Assistant for Housing in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at CAL State LA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Extremely convenient if you're a Cal State LA student - Flexible hours - Racial and gender diversity in the workplace - Great professional experience

    Cons

    - You don't get reimbursed for parking

    CAL State LA2019-12-18
  7. "Semi - Good Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Coordinator in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CAL State LA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good health benefits + tuition is free if you go half-time (6 units) Supportive department chair + faculty members (at least in the department I worked at) Students

    Cons

    Unnecessary bureaucratic paperwork Lack of communication amongst higher administrative members and department administrative members Paperwork takes forever to get processed -- sometimes the office does not tell you it gets lost Constantly have to check in on paperwork to see if office received it

    CAL State LA2019-12-30
  8. "Convenient while studying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Operations Aide 

    I have been working at CAL State LA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    On campus, Works with your school schedule, sick hours

    Cons

    Work does not help you grow

    CAL State LA2019-11-13
  9. "Great colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adjunct Faculty 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CAL State LA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loved working with my colleagues. Had sense of community within Communication department. Very inclusive.

    Cons

    Pay is eh. Equipment needs updating.

    CAL State LA2019-11-08
  10. "Lecturer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at CAL State LA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible, positive environment, I had great supervisor.

    Cons

    Not many available teaching assignment

    CAL State LA2019-10-28

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 199 reviews