CDM Smith Reviews | Glassdoor

CDM Smith Reviews

Updated Aug 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 408 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
CDM Smith CEO Timothy B. Wall
Timothy B. Wall
66 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Administrator III in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CDM Smith full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance, flexible schedule, interesting and engaging work. Fast paced and a lot of classes and training available internally.

    Cons

    None at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    CDM Smith2019-02-27
  2. "Great place to call home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Client Service Leader 

    I have been working at CDM Smith full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fulfilling work and great culture!

    Cons

    No shortage of work to be done

    CDM Smith2019-08-19
  3. "Micromanagement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CDM Smith full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, and reputation of firm

    Cons

    Don't practice what they preach

    Advice to Management

    Let people do their jobs.

    CDM Smith2019-08-15
  4. "Good Company, Poor Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CDM Smith

    Pros

    opportunity to work on interesting projects and gain experience; slight flexibility

    Cons

    lack of leadership support; micromanagement; false pretenses; compensation/annual increase and benefits are below industry standard; timekeeping system is outdated

    Advice to Management

    Set proper and most importantly, realistic, expectations for incoming employees and their potential career path. Managers may say that they will “give you the keys to the car” indicating that work may be primarily independent although this is not always the case. Recognize accomplishments of employees without favoritism

    CDM Smith2019-08-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Miserable Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CDM Smith full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing. Absolutely nothing about this company was a positive experience.

    Cons

    I was told during my job interview that I would be challenged, the only thing that was challenged was my patience until I finally quit. This company DOES NOT allow you to have a satisfactory work-life balance. As an entry level employee starting work before the winter holidays, I had no PTO accumulated and was forced to work the full week of Christmas. I asked my manager and HR for unpaid time off and was denied my request...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train your managers before allowing them to manage.

    CDM Smith2019-08-14
  6. "Great firm overall with just a few hiccups"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environmental Engineer 
    Recommends

    I have been working at CDM Smith full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits; great staff to work with; excellent wealth of resources; project managers and senior staff are eager to assist junior staff with advancing their careers and learning through experience

    Cons

    Higher ups (not in the office) aren't pushing to be more competitive with pay; Can be slow to promote deserving individuals

    Advice to Management

    Be more willing to accommodate salaries to remain competitive and retain employees; Focus more on employee performance and work ethic and less on hoops to jump through when considering someone for promotion

    CDM Smith2019-07-09
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - GIS Technician 

    I worked at CDM Smith full-time

    Pros

    Really care about employees, my opinion was valued.

    Cons

    Lots of overnight travel which was not clarified.

    CDM Smith2019-07-02
  8. "Great, laid back culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Civil Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CDM Smith full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibility and freedom to pursue your career - there are few barriers to advancement early in your career, later it becomes more challenging but that is true for any company; great benefits

    Cons

    Upper management has really restricted salary increases in recent years

    Advice to Management

    Overcome the cash challenges and figure out how to better reward your employees with better compensation.

    CDM Smith2019-06-27
  9. "Incredibly supportive team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CDM Smith full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team, good benefits, good work/life balance, privately held, promotes from within, actually tries to live up to their core values

    Cons

    Recruiting bumps up against internal equity issues sometimes

    CDM Smith2019-06-11
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Project Controls Specialist 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CDM Smith full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people, location and flexibility

    Cons

    no downside that I can think of

    CDM Smith2019-06-06
Found 408 reviews