CSU Long Beach Reviews | Glassdoor

CSU Long Beach Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 304 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Jane Close Conoley
80 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some students would spend more time complaining than in the classroom, low pay(in 9 reviews)

  • "Most part-time student jobs only pay minimum wage(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Assistant in Long Beach, CA

    I have been working at CSU Long Beach part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of information about vehicle and electric carts. Work hands on with mechanics to troubleshoot issue with vehicles and carts. Flexible work schedule.

    Cons

    Have to get used to their personal program. Student Assistants can only work part time when school is in session.

    Advice to Management

    None

    CSU Long Beach2019-06-20
  2. "Good office experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Support Assistant in Long Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CSU Long Beach part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly community. The university is willing to help further the education of its full time employees.

    Cons

    Parking isn’t the best, very slow during the summer months (but could be seen as a perk), and since it’s government payday is once per month.

    CSU Long Beach2019-07-22
  3. "Flexible schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part-Time Lecturer in Long Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSU Long Beach part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It's nice to have a flexible schedule that changes every semester.

    Cons

    Work is never guaranteed. Work load and amount of units given is very political.

    CSU Long Beach2019-06-05
  4. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSU Long Beach full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, week off for winter break.

    Cons

    Permanent status employees do not like change and can be unpleasant

    CSU Long Beach2019-04-18
  5. "Had a good experience working part time at CSULB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Assistant in Long Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSU Long Beach part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lecturer I worked for was very pleasant, decent pay for being part time and a student.

    Cons

    None I can think of, keep up the good work.

    Advice to Management

    N/A.

    CSU Long Beach2019-04-10
  6. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at CSU Long Beach full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great chemistry department with great faculty

      Cons

      There are not many cons

      CSU Long Beach2019-03-31
    • "Good Benefits, not much room for advancement"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Compliance Analyst 

        I worked at CSU Long Beach full-time

        Pros

        great benefits, great campus, good environment

        Cons

        not much room for career growth

        CSU Long Beach2019-04-03
      • "CSULB"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Communications Specialist 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at CSU Long Beach full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The campus is a huge resource and close to even more.

        Cons

        Departments are often uncoordinated, and parking can be a struggle.

        CSU Long Beach2019-03-14
      • "Great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at CSU Long Beach full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Flexible, great benefits and holidays

          Cons

          Pay is nominal but ok

          CSU Long Beach2019-02-21
        • "Perfect Part-time job for a student"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I have been working at CSU Long Beach part-time

            Pros

            Not strenuous work, and everyone understands you're a student first when it comes down to scheduling.

            Cons

            A lot of down time.

            CSU Long Beach2019-03-04
          Found 304 reviews