California ISO Reviews | Glassdoor

California ISO Reviews

Updated October 16, 2017
46 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Stephen Berberich
14 Ratings

46 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • great place to work and good benefits (in 8 reviews)

  • CAISO looks great on a resume, and depending on ones role it is a great place to gain exposure to other industry organizations (in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • About 1/3 of the workforce is Contractors with Full-Time positions rarely becoming available (in 4 reviews)

  • I can't think of anything negative to say about the company (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Good experience at CAISO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internship in Folsom, CA
    Former Employee - Internship in Folsom, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at California ISO (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Generally progressive, yet balanced, working culture. Not too much pressure, and everyone is happy to help one another.

    Cons

    The only con, if you like living in bigger cities, is the location. Folsom is a quiet place, although nearby Sacramento is lively.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!


  2. "Fast moving environment with a lot of great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at California ISO full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced environment, extremely smart people, great pay

    Cons

    Company is rapidly expanding its business and refuses to hire more staff. This results in elimination of valuable long-term employees to keep costs down and enable the company to bring in new tallent. Shows a serious lack of loyalty to skilled and dedicated employees.

  3. "employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Folsom, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Folsom, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at California ISO full-time

    Pros

    Laid Back, No Rush. Friendly People.

    Cons

    Low tech, Unfocused management style, too much fire fighting.

    California ISO Response

    May 22, 2017 – HR Manager Operations

    We appreciate your input. Thank you for your comments.


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at California ISO full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great mission, smart people, dynamic environment, good benefits

    Cons

    Opportunities for advancement are limited

    Advice to Management

    Trust your people

    California ISO Response

    May 22, 2017 – HR Manager Operations

    We appreciate the comments, and we will continue to focus on improving internal opportunities for advancement and career development.


  5. "analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    great place to work and good benefits

    Cons

    work life balance is preached not followed

    California ISO Response

    Feb 7, 2017 – HR Manager Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We appreciate the feedback.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    very well located company and Sacramento area is very affordable. Good benefits and Salary

    Cons

    too much organized chaos by management itself. director/ manager are worried about themselves and their recognition. They are not willing to hear their engineers opinion and treat like trash. Puppet skill is one of most required skill. I will never recommend this company

    Advice to Management

    Please try to find out why there is a lot of attrition rate and root cause. don't ignore qualified people who are leaving company and get their honest feedback.

    California ISO Response

    Feb 7, 2017 – HR Manager Operations

    I am sorry to hear that your experience at CA ISO was not positive. We will continue to carefully track attrition rates and gather information from departing employees. We are always striving to... More


  7. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Flexible 8-hr schedule, good location, new buildings

    Cons

    Un-professional managers, office political, stressing

    California ISO Response

    Oct 10, 2016 – Director, Human Resources Operations

    Thank you for your feedback.

  8. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Folsom, CA
    Former Employee - Intern in Folsom, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Good Experience! My supervisor was really good. The team I worked in is very friendly and helpful. All my questions were answered. Good learning experience for an intern.

    Cons

    The team doesn't offer full-time to the entry level candidates even if they have completed an internship. That makes sense since the job is demanding and requires experience. To add to it, if you're on a visa, its more tough to get a job there.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Good learning opportunity for an intern, however, it would be great if intern to full-time conversion rates are increased in the company.

    California ISO Response

    Aug 17, 2016 – Director, Human Resources Operations

    Thank you so much for joining us this summer as an intern. We're glad you had a good experience and thank you for your feedback.


  9. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Tempe, AZ
    Former Employee - Intern in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at California ISO (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great work culture.
    Very approachable co-workers/managers.
    Good overall learning experience

    Cons

    I didn't encounter any when working as an intern

    California ISO Response

    May 23, 2016 – Director, Human Resources Operations

    Great to hear that you had a positive intern experience with us. Best wishes to you back at school!


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Dir"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Folsom, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Folsom, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at California ISO full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great place to work. Very good benefits. Challenging opportunities focused on growth. Lots of work and requires a driven attitude.

    Cons

    Stressful but challenging . You need to be creative and focused on results.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to team members. Continue to coach and developed leaders .

    California ISO Response

    Apr 5, 2016 – Director, Human Resources Operations

    Thank you for your feedback.


Showing 46 of 63 reviews
Reset Filters