Calxeda Reviews | Glassdoor

Calxeda Reviews

Updated Nov 6, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Calxeda CEO Barry Evans (no image)
Barry Evans
1 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work, sad story!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hardware in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Calxeda full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cutting edge technology, starting a new industry

    Cons

    Shutdown due lack of funding. Wish it had worked out better

    Calxeda2017-11-07
  2. "It was a great learning experience. The people were really friendly."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Calxeda

    Pros

    Nice work life balance. Great peers.

    Cons

    The benefits could have been better. I guess I cannot complain now as the company has shut down.

    Calxeda2013-12-24
  3. "Excellent learning experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Systems Engineer Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Calxeda for more than a year

    Pros

    The company culture is amazing, everyone is super friendly. I found that it very relaxed while still maintaining a level of seriousness. You get to talk to people from various departments which increases your knowledge of the industry. Plenty of opportunities for social interaction. Free gym access in the building for employees.

    Cons

    Some weeks can go over 40 hours but there is overtime pay.

    Calxeda2013-10-15
  4. "Lots of potential, job satisfaction varies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Calxeda full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice working environment Lots of opportunities to learn Good, fun culture Free snacks, monthly happy hour, occasional lunches Most teams seem reasonably satisfied

    Cons

    Normal growing pains from a fast growing company around process and communication Tendency to chase too many opportunities, resulting in unclear priorities and lack of follow-through Software team suffering from lack of leadership and accrual of technical debt

    Calxeda2013-09-10
  5. "It's okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Calxeda full-time

    Pros

    It's cutting edge technology, at least as far as ARM microprocessors are concerned.

    Cons

    Employees generally don't feel valued or respected.

    Calxeda2013-09-01
  6. "A great startup atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Intern in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Calxeda for less than a year

    Pros

    Cool people. The developers there are very intelligent and can help you if you have any problems. Laid back atmosphere, and the other interns were very easy to get along with. Good tools. I love Python and git, and this is what's used there. Also, Linux.

    Cons

    I can't think of one. I'm only leaving because I want to see what else is out there.

    Calxeda2013-02-01
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great story and great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Austin, TX
    Recommends

    I have been working at Calxeda

    Pros

    Very collaborative environment Start-up with an exciting product based on ARM architecture Open Communication Engagement of staff in meeting overall objectives Ethical company

    Cons

    Benefits could be better-but, as the company grows, this will change

    Calxeda2011-10-03
Found 7 reviews