KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

ChargeItPro

Is this your company?

ChargeItPro

Add a Review

ChargeItPro Reviews

Updated Feb 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 of over 22 reviews

3.8
68%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Not just a job... A home!

    Oct 22, 2018 - Sales Associate in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is a great company that is honest, moral with employees and customers alike! Fair salaries withe ability to always do the right thing! LOVE my job!

    Cons

    Not enough companies out there like this one!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Gravity can weigh you down

    Feb 27, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Eagle, ID
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * Free snacks and coffee. * Unlimited PTO. * The $40,000 minimum salary is good as far as tech support in the Boise area goes. * Vocal advocates of diversity and inclusion. * All of my peers at the company were wonderful people, and I enjoyed working with them. * This company genuinely cares about its customers.

    Cons

    * ChargeItPro is the grunt level of the union between ChargeItPro and Gravity. Any real power lies with Gravity in Seattle, and they aren't very transparent. Dan hauls around a bunch of TinyPulse swag, and the PR blurbs on LinkedIn rave about transparency, but I don't feel like the whole company shares the same mission and values in practice. It feels like non-management is saddled with the burden of translating a few vague mission statements in to policy. Many legacy ChargeItPro employees facing the change in culture brought on by the acquisition have felt the ground shift under their feet with no way of getting their bearings. * Tech support has been strained by low staffing for a long time. Also, Gravity has had an extraordinarily difficult time of finding someone both willing and capable of acting as the director of engineering for any substantial period of time. * The "Be your own CEO" philosophy can sound a lot like RTFM, except that there is no manual. Occasionally, it inspires innovation, but a lot of the time, it's hand-wavey. * The starting pay in engineering is uncommonly low. * Non-compete clauses are scummy. We're not a herd of stressed-out cold callers that will run away with a client list at the first sign of danger. Have faith.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  3. The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Sales Engineer

    Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

    411

    164 Comments

    Join the conversation on
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great people, good pay, but a lot of stress

    Feb 10, 2019 - Tech Support 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Pay starts at 40k -Unlimited PTO -Benefits and 401K -Everyone will make you feel welcome -Weekly catered lunch -Fully stocked snack room -Plenty of events with prizes, food, and beer You are treated like an adult and don't have to ask for permission on everything. The culture is, "Be your own CEO" and for the most part you can implement ideas and make decisions without a crazy amount of push back. I believe most people truly care about one another at ChargeItPro. My time here taught me a lot professionally and I wouldn't trade that experience for anything.

    Cons

    -This job has you feeling like you're drowning in work nonstop -Your work life balance can get out of control very quickly -You will be slammed the entire time and do not expect to leave on time -You are expected to be available more times than not Be prepared to take your work laptop home and install Slack on your phone. You will get constant contact morning, noon, and night be it from the company or merchants looking for help. They will never explicitly tell you that you have to be on top of this once you leave the office, but you'd be a fool not to. The department is constantly understaffed between people being sick, on vacation, doing training, or leaving the company. Pair that with the constant software issues, outages, updates, multiple projects needing attention, installs, and your open ongoing tickets there will never be an ounce of down time. Many people skip lunches, breaks, and stay long after they were supposed to go home because of the constant needs and deadlines. That work can continue into the weekend sometimes as well. You will also be on call for a week every so often so be prepared to set aside even more time for after hours work, but at least there is some bonus money for doing so. Mind you that you are salary so no overtime. Also, in support, you may have to work holidays that others in the company get to take off. I'm not going to tell you that you are going to be working 60-80 hours a week, but I will let you know that work will be on your mind over anything else. If you are scared of working hard or value your time away from the office then look elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Unstable & Drama

    Sep 21, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Eagle, ID
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Finally gave some raises but all it did was cover sky high health benefit costs

    Cons

    Everything. More than 80% of employees were fired for no real reason. A handful of favorites have it made, unless you are one of them you won't get far. This company has become managed by a bunch of unqualified mean girls. Think high school bully squad and CEO Dan Price is not the best boss in America, try biggest bull spinner in America and making money is the single motivation. They somehow removed several negative reviews here, more shady action.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful

    ChargeItPro Response

    HR Manager

    Thanks for your review, and I'm sorry that you had such a negative experience at ChargeItPro. As you know, Gravity Payments and ChargeItPro merged 18 months ago. There are many aspects to integrating two companies and most relevant to this review is bringing together two different cultures. Our explicit goal through this was to ensure both companies retained the aspects of their culture that made them successful, and to take a light and careful touch to any changes in the way the businesses ran or the culture it supports. Inevitably when two companies come together it creates a moment of change and some people choose to leave for any number of reasons, for example they see or expect changes in the culture of the company, or the pay structure / benefits change. One of the values ChargeItPro / Gravity puts a lot of emphasis on is ownership and responsibility. As noted in several other reviews that environment isn't a good fit for everyone and for some people this contributed to their decision to move on. While it's true that some people have opted out of ChargeItPro / Gravity after the companies merged - which again is a normal and expected - categorically we haven't fired 80% of the employees, nor have 80% chosen to leave. We'll take your feedback on the "favorites" and "mean girl" culture and see what we can learn about what you experienced. If there's any action to be taken, it will be taken. Dan is open to feedback and is constantly looking for ways to learn about himself and how he can be a better CEO. In the spirit of our feedback culture, you should reach out to him and share your feedback directly. Final note: According to Glassdoor Legal FAQs, it isn't possible to remove reviews and this is not something we would seek to do. https://www.glassdoor.com/about/faq.htm#Legal

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Place

    May 16, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work. Great people to work with. Always Opportunities to grow and be better. Allows you to pursue whats important to you

    Cons

    there isn't any cons to working here

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    A company that genuinely cares about helping its clients and employees

    Mar 3, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    For an industry that tends to be pretty vanilla, this company packs a lot of flavor. The people here are passionate about serving our clients in new, creative ways. There's an emphasis on autonomy, and "being your own CEO" that empowers employees to take charge. And there's a feeling that anything could happen, which can be both exciting and scary. A career here would appeal to someone who loves to learn and grow, who readily accepts criticism, wants to pave their own career path and drive projects, who can accept accountability to improve themselves and the company, and someone who has an adventurous spirit and can take risks. They should be prepared to work really, really hard, but feel fulfilled at the end of the day. Pros -Autononmy -Creativity and positive rebellion encouraged -Intelligent and skilled supervisors -Inspiring coworkers -Opportunity for career growth -Deeper sense of purpose -Ability to pave own future -Benefits, catered lunches, health incentives

    Cons

    -The "Be your own CEO" mentality can be confusing at times and lead to lack of role clarity, dual efforts on projects, and additional stress -High stress industry -The work-hard, play-hard lifestyle can be draining -Interdepartmental miscommunication/feuds are an ongoing issue

    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    An Excellent Company To Work For

    Jan 23, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The best part about working here is the freedom and control over your career path. I really feel valued and cared about. The CEO is a genuine person and treats the employees as equals, as well as supports our dreams.

    Cons

    Healthcare option could be better, more transparency in management, favoritism.

    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Are you ready for a chance to challenge your career?

    Jan 16, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    We've experienced significant change to improve ourselves. There were changes to leadership and to the way we hold ourselves accountable. We are working towards a flat organization as opposed to a top/down approach which has allowed many front line people a voice to what changes need to happen. I've seen several changes occur, some quickly based on feedback, some slowly because of the impact it has on other teams. A change in leadership and new team members in our development team has allowed us to be more focused and organized on consistently improving the viability of our products while also working on the roadmap to new products. We added new people in Accounting, Support, Sales Ops, Dev, and Tech Support. We see a lot of opportunity so it's a matter of us figuring out the best way to work together in order to grow the company. We're doing our best to break down walls and improve communication so it feels like the small, nimble company that we truly are.

    Cons

    With changes comes transition. We experienced turnover in the last year as we held ourselves accountable to higher standards. It's not everyone's cup of tea, so it's good to understand what type of hard work and expectations leadership expects of you. None of it is out of control, but they do have expected commitment levels.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Lots of improvements - great place to work these days

    Jan 6, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    ChargeIt Pro has changed a lot during the time that I worked there, and mostly for the better. About 10 months ago there was a significant change in company leadership. Management listened to our feedback and gave us several sprints to focus on improving our ability to support, monitor, and deploy our services, as well as giving us time to clean up a lot of technical debt. "Be your own CEO" is a real thing here, and I have personally felt empowered to raise and fix issues. The tech stack is modern, and all new (and existing) development is cloud-based, using both traditional vm/ec2 instances as well as micro-services based architecture. Some senior positions were filled with veterans from well-known tech companies and that experience has really helped us as we grow and build new services. Not to mention the deep expertise about the payments industry that already exists here. There has also been more allowance for flexible work schedules, including working from home and even full-time remote working in some cases. And little things like a fully stocked refrigerator and free snacks have made coming into the office more enjoyable. The work / life balance here is very good and there has been a real focus on developing employees internally. Some employees have even been given the opportunity to take sabbaticals (while receiving full pay) to spend 3-4 months at software development bootcamps learning new technologies...which is a rare opportunity that I haven't seen at any other company I've worked for.

    Cons

    Health benefits could be better

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    The sky is the limit!

    Dec 21, 2017 - Sales Representative in Eagle, ID
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing employees working tirelessly to help better small business owner’s bottom line in a not so great industry. Our partnerships mean the world to us and we do everything in our power to make things easy. The atmosphere and dynamic of the work place has changed dramatically over the last year and I truly believe in what we do and that good things are to come.

    Cons

    There are a few people that work here that make life difficult for multiple employees that otherwise love their jobs and are passionate about their careers. Negativity spreads fast...

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 22 Reviews

Popular Careers with ChargeItPro Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at ChargeItPro? Share Your Experiences

or