KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Charitybuzz

Is this your company?

Charitybuzz

Add a Review

Charitybuzz Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 of over 21 reviews

3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Charitybuzz CEO Todd Wagner (no image)
Todd Wagner
6 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    A Company for Good

    Sep 24, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Charitybuzz is a remarkable company focused on raising money for charities. The culture is one of inclusiveness and energetic (but not annoyingly so) with some of the friendliest coworkers I've ever had. All employees are encouraged to contribute and participate, but not made to feel bad if that's not your thing. The company pivoted quickly and successfully during the pandemic, for both employees and clients, still raising money with zero furloughs or layoffs. That was extraordinary.

    Cons

    Sometimes the decisions by committee can drag on longer than necessary when a solid decision by the team leader could have been more effective and saved a lot of time and discussion. Meetings...so many meetings, both pre- and during covid.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    It wasn't bad, it wasn't great

    Jun 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone seems to really believe in the work they are doing!

    Cons

    Lack of diversity, outdated communication standards

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Mission driven people who works for good causes

    Oct 25, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly and appreciative co-workers, very helpful and knowledgable HR, and driven department heads.

    Cons

    Innovation and change takes time and you can feel the hierarchy. cross-dept communication can be better and more organized.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Where Tech and Cause Meet

    Oct 25, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Social impact. As a senior engineer i’ve passed level-5 engineering tests at Facebook, linkedin and Kayak.com. Each one of those brands offer bigger and fancier resume padding, but none offer the emotion I feel when leaving work for a day. At the end of the day we’re iterating on a product that directly impacts the betterment of the world. I find that aspect means the most to me, and the rest of staff. Small Enough To Impact Change Charitybuzz used to be a family business and has been making huge strides in removing any of those family-like principles, which arguably got in the way of innovation and growth. Today we’re a small enough business to allow anyone on staff to speak up, identify our problems, and offer suggestions on how to improve; and we actively encourage our teaam members to do sos. Culture Culture is a moving target and such we’re constantly iterating on it. We’ve erred on both sides here historically, but today Culture is forefront and serious subject. Senior leadership reviews culture improvements every Friday and we’re constantly listening and iterating from staff feedback; all while having fun raising millions for Charity.

    Cons

    Growth opportunities aren’t as clear and fleshed out as at larger corporations, but the opportunity to grow is there for everyone. 8 years ago I started a mid level engineer here, moved into a senior team lead position quickly, and over the last 6 years I was mentored into senior leadership.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Inspiring Place to Work with Great People

    Oct 24, 2019 - Vice President, Campaign Development 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Collaborative environment with driven employees who truly care about the company's mission. - Management is approachable and all are encouraged to bring forth new ideas and provide feedback, regardless of their role within the company. - Strong focus on constantly improving, growing, and developing new ways to do both. - Lots of opportunities to be involved in different aspects of the organization, and to work with colleagues across departments. - Great work/life balance, enjoyable office atmosphere.

    Cons

    - Career development paths can be more clearly outlined.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    The perfect job to transition out of the corporate world and into cause driven work

    Oct 24, 2019 - Client Development Strategist in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I’ve had the pleasure of working at Charitybuzz since the spring of 2017. In my time here, I’ve had the opportunity to wear many different hats, including account management, business development, and customer service. It’s a relatively small office and given the nature of the work, you will have to collaborate across different teams and departments to get most things done. Everyone in the office takes the commitment to charity seriously and strives to execute their work. Given the fact that it's a fairly small team, being able to work autonomously is critical. Especially on the business development side. There just isn’t that much hand holding and the on-boarding and training period was fairly short. In the near 3 years that I’ve been here, a lot has changed and I’m excited to see what the future holds.

    Cons

    At first I definitely encountered some challenges, having transitioned from a large, publicly traded tech company. Charitybuzz is a much smaller company, and as such, has more limited resources. This isn’t a net negative per se, it just means that the leadership has to be very careful and thoughtful before committing to new initiatives and can’t pilot too many new ideas at once. There is definitely a commitment at the senior level to innovating and trying new things though and I’ve felt like my ideas and suggestions are taken seriously.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Run

    Oct 5, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice office, nice rooftop view

    Cons

    A digital company that knows nothing about digital, about hiring, or about managing projects. Young "managers" who don't know what they were doing. Simultaneously talk about not "throwing people under the bus" but meanwhile utilize underhanded tactics to judge employees' performance and no options for improvement. Nepotisitic "loyalty" to dysfunctional employees and a general lack of tolerance for actually implementing new ideas or strategies coupled with a lack of tolerance for speaking up. One of the most dysfunctional places I have ever worked aside from a short stint at Schlotzsky's as a kid. If you are a mousy brunette that keeps your mouth shut, a great place to learn about a dysfunctional workplace while making less than you are worth.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Charitybuzz Response

    President

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Parting ways professionally is never an easy thing. We take all feedback seriously and while we can’t always get things right, we are committed to listening and evolving with the needs of our employees. It’s never ideal to receive this type of negative feedback, but we’re confident this is not representative of the broader employee experience. Charitybuzz prides itself on its dedication to philanthropy and to fostering a healthy, empowering workplace. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors!

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Caring Organization, Inspiring Leadership

    Mar 7, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A company that truly cares about giving back and helping its charity partners. Inspiring, collaborative leadership with clear focus. Data driven, nimble, willing to test new ideas which gives company an entrepreneurial feel. Fun culture, lots of smart and interesting co-workers.

    Cons

    Ideas/improvements requiring significant development work cannot happen as quickly as we would like.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Promising direction under new leadership

    Feb 28, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Notably hardworking, kind, collaborative leadership from President and other Charity Network execs - Opportunity for ownership, innovation, entrepreneurship within the company - Overall very friendly, smart coworkers

    Cons

    - Given the nature of a digital/tech-based business, sometimes strategies change quickly, so adaptability is important for most positions within the company, which may be frustrating in some situations

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Overall has been a very positive experience

    Oct 14, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Helping hundreds of charities raise money has been fulfilling. The hours are fair, almost never work on weekends. The work environment is improving and overall positive.

    Cons

    It can be a challenge working with certain clients. I wish they appreciated our efforts on their behalf. Would like more employee events.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews

Popular Careers with Charitybuzz Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Charitybuzz? Share Your Experiences

Charitybuzz logo
or