Clean Energy Collective Reviews | Glassdoor

Clean Energy Collective Reviews

Updated May 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

2.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
16%
Approve of CEO
Paul Spencer
17 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Web .Net Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Louisville, CO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Clean Energy Collective full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The IT and Development department are some of the best people to work with ; patient, collabrative, and hard working. In my time with them I grew more than I could have on my own.

    Cons

    It is a start-up, so there are occasionally bumps :/

    Clean Energy Collective2017-05-17
  2. "Lots of opportunity, go get it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Client Services in Louisville, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Clean Energy Collective full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a ton of opportunity to learn and contribute to the expansion of community solar across the country at CEC. The company similarly has tons of professional opportunity for motivated, agile, and hard-working individuals. During my time at CEC, I found senior leadership digging in to hire talented, thoughtful people and let them run with responsibility. You just have to be willing to step up. I always felt supported...

    Show More

    Cons

    CEC could do more to breakdown siloed departments and integrate teams around one strategy.

    Advice to Management

    Let your employees be human: meaning trust them, invest in their growth, and let them enjoy the occasional social hour. Embrace a company culture and define a corporate vision, I think you will find your staff responds positively.

    Clean Energy Collective2019-05-02
  3. "Couldn't pay me enough to stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Clean Energy Collective full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    CEC had a good benefits package, a beautiful office space, and offered a great comp plan. The overall mission of the company was a good one, and the idea of Community Solar is a really good one that has potential to change the energy landscape in America. A lot of employees there hang on because of the intrinsic value of doing something good for the world through their daily work.

    Cons

    Despite all the potential, this company is a disaster on the inside and they couldn't pay me enough to stay there. Executive management is disconnected and I was put in a few situations where I felt the actions and decisions were unethical and possibly in violation of local regulations. The culture is horrendous. Everyone hates everyone else because there's a lot of blame and finger-pointing and internal bickering,...

    Show More
    Clean Energy Collective2019-05-10
  4. "Do your research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Clean Energy Collective full-time

      Pros

      Walking distance to Whole Foods, great view of mtns

      Cons

      Management was not friendly and no care for their employees

      Clean Energy Collective2019-02-28
    • Helpful (2)

      "Startup vibe, entrepreneurial spirit, environmentally conscious"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, CO
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Clean Energy Collective full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I really love being part of a company that is so close to the policy and decision-making regarding community solar. There is a ton of room for growth in the industry and in the US, making now the right time to move into a solar job. Lots of opportunities to learn and grow at the company, too.

      Cons

      It runs like a startup. That means there are a lot of bumps, changes, and low-hanging fruit. You need to be agile and willing to put in hard work to get great rewards. It's definitely a frustrating environment at times, but the long-term benefits will be worth it.

      Advice to Management

      Trust your employees - you've hired talent for a reason, so make sure you're utilizing it. Be more transparent in how everyone's work drives the bottom line and toward the organization's goals.

      Clean Energy Collective2019-01-08
    • Helpful (4)

      "Company is going under"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Clean Energy Collective full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I had some fantastic coworkers during my time here. I also loved working for a renewable energy company and felt like I was making a positive impact on the world.

      Cons

      So many cons it's hard to start! First, the CEO has awful people skills and does not care about employee satisfaction. He surrounds himself with people he can trust to have his back rather than people who will be honest and improve the company. It’s unfortunate he cares more about his ego than listening to advice that would save his company. Second, the company was ridiculously top heavy. There were far too many VPs and...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Your efforts have obviously failed here, so please learn from this experience. Take a good, unbiased look at what you did wrong. Don't blame external factors for your company failing. You were the reason for its failure. Take this knowledge and treat people better next time. Realize that the most successful companies have the highest levels of employee satisfaction. Happy employees will be much more loyal than scared...

      Show More
      Clean Energy Collective2018-09-07
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good Place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Clean Energy Collective full-time

      Pros

      Growing company with room for advancement in most departments.

      Cons

      Not the most generous when it comes to salary.

      Clean Energy Collective2017-12-07
    • Helpful (1)

      "Worst employer ever!!!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, CO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Clean Energy Collective full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Cannot think of a single Pro - except that I don't have to deal with the discrimination and abuse any longer.

      Cons

      This place treats employees like dirt, it's a "my way or the highway" attitude from the CEO. It's run like a Mom and Pop shop. There is absolutely NO work life balance. Regardless of what you get paid - they have the attitude that they pay you too much.

      Advice to Management

      This company is corrupt. They hire board members to run the place because the management is so bad and cannot be trusted.

      Clean Energy Collective2017-11-01
    • Helpful (2)

      "Really great concept with bright folks but terrible place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, CO
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Clean Energy Collective full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Renewables are great to work with and people were great. Had some good years there and many friends from being in a startup.

      Cons

      Owner is not great to work with and management is too top heavy. I would not go back because of CEO.

      Advice to Management

      Remove CEO and COO and start over.

      Clean Energy Collective2017-06-20
    • Helpful (3)

      ""Its my way or the highway mentality""

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, CO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Clean Energy Collective full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Avoid this place at all cost

      Cons

      Upper management is CROOKED. Employees are referred to as "monkeys" They treat their sales department horribly. When there are no leads, rather than fix that situation, they put their sales department on another assignment (they work on commission)

      Clean Energy Collective2017-04-12
    Found 23 reviews