KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Clean Energy Fuels

Is this your company?

Clean Energy Fuels

Add a Review

Clean Energy Fuels Reviews

Updated Mar 17, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 of over 79 reviews

3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Clean Energy Fuels President and CEO  Andrew J. Littlefair
Andrew J. Littlefair
44 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great benefits and compensation(in 7 reviews)
  • "Great people to work with!(in 4 reviews)
  • "Office is clean and professional(in 3 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing Company

    Aug 18, 2021 - Commissioning Technician in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, company really takes care of you

    Cons

    I haven’t seen any yet

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to be

    Mar 17, 2022 - Field Service Supervisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Feel I am supported in my role and for my Techs. Always looking for ways to make our tasks better. Rewarded for doing the right things. Respected for your skills and work you perform.

    Cons

    Sometimes changes take to long to be implemented.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Poor Teamwork

    Mar 11, 2022 - Vice President in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great vision about providing carbon negative fuel to the transportation market.

    Cons

    Pettiness, arrogance, and poor execution.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Ok place to work

    Feb 11, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free food in office on friday

    Cons

    Upper management is out of touch with employees. Techs are overworked. Company pretty unorganized.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Employee Evaluation

    Jan 12, 2022 - Field Service Technician in Boise, ID
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, salary, good people

    Cons

    Need more training and information.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great!

    Dec 14, 2021 - Senior Accountant in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work life balance and tone at the top

    Cons

    Wish they pay more but overall great place.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    good work, bad managment

    Sep 1, 2021 - Maintenance Tech II 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    its a fun place to work , the job is rewarding

    Cons

    no clear path to advance

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Revolving door for engineering. Overworked and understaffed.

    Aug 12, 2021 - Controls Design Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    401K Match Bonus Fancy beautiful office Free parking Lots of branded knick knacks Coffee and occasional snacks Work out classes

    Cons

    Short answer: Too much work, not enough staff (5 total engineers), total disconnect between management and employees. Non-existent processes with a focus on "get designs out quickly and fix it in construction". Ask exactly what is required of you from day one and document everything that goes wrong. Long Answer: I started as part of a completely fresh engineering team even though the company has been around for 20 years. I learned this was at least the 2nd time the entire engineering team had left and was filled again. As the only electrical engineer I was answering to sales, operations, construction, commissioning, and still designing new stations. That led me to have a list of 42 projects I was keeping track of. I was absolutely swamped from day 1 with no onboarding and minimal knowledge passed down. I brought attention to management of being overwhelmed as well as pointing to process problems that would result in expensive construction troubles. I got more projects, then multiple construction and commissioning sites happened in the same week, construction went poorly on all of them and everyone was shocked. There was 1 performance review at the end of the year but there was never constructive criticism of what's going well, what can be improved. If something went wrong there were conversations that happened above and around me but not actually to me. Left me constantly worried about performance. Asking for feedback resulted in crickets. There was a disconnect with management between the work I was doing and what was expected but it took 2 years to find out. They had no idea of the work I was actually doing and with no 1 on 1 meetings or lessons learned it's not a surprise.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    No Teamwork and No Support

    Aug 16, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great mission to reduce American dependence on foreign oil.

    Cons

    * No teamwork but instead employees and peers work against each other creating conflict. * Senior management hubris and arrogance prevents them from listening to good ideas. I.e. it’s not a good idea unless one of the senior management members thought of it. * Toxic workplace environment * Little to no support for employees who are not members of the senior management team.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee

    good

    Apr 13, 2021 - Senior Service Technician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    overall the company is good

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 72 Reviews

Clean Energy Fuels Reviews FAQs

Clean Energy Fuels has an overall rating of 3.4 out of 5, based on over 79 reviews left anonymously by employees. 59% of employees would recommend working at Clean Energy Fuels to a friend and 56% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Clean Energy Fuels employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.5 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Clean Energy Fuels. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

59% of Clean Energy Fuels employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Clean Energy Fuels 3.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.2 for culture and values and 3.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Clean Energy Fuels to be workplace, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be career development, senior leadership, management.

Popular Careers with Clean Energy Fuels Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Clean Energy Fuels? Share Your Experiences

Clean Energy Fuels logo
or

Clean Energy Fuels Photos

+ Add Photo
Clean Energy Fuels photo of: the snow at one location

Have you worked here?

See All Photos