KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Coast

Is this your company?

Coast

Add a Review

Coast Reviews

Updated May 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 of over 78 reviews

3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Coast President & CEO Nicole Skovgard (no image)
Nicole Skovgard
54 Ratings
Pros
  • "They say you’ll learn a lot about yourself through school, which is true(in 6 reviews)

  • "Nicole and Taylor are great people to work with(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Any future employer worth their salt will see this position for what it was--a door-to-door sales job that's just as bad as an MLM(in 13 reviews)

  • "They don't tell you that it's door to door sales(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great

      May 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Loved working at coast - good people great vibes and fun

      Cons

      None - everyone is so fun

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      RUN AND RUN FAST!!!!!!!!

      Feb 25, 2021 - Account Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone is always very encouraging and helpful.

      Cons

      one word. SCAM. This company disguises itself as a business to business marketing opportunity but it's really just door to door sales selling amazon key for business. You have meetings every morning to try and encourage you. They also go over top sales people from the day before. This is a red flag. Normal corporate jobs do not do this. After the morning meetings you are responsible for getting yourself to and from your territory selling amazon key for business. You spend your entire day going into high rises in downtown Chicago while trying not to get kicked out by security for soliciting. Please look up what a door to door sales scam is for a jobseeker. I wish I would have looked into this company before I wasted my time. You don't make any money and when you do make a few dollars it's always less than what it should be. This company and their business practices are a scam and it's a shame that they prey on young individuals who are fresh out of college looking for work. this job would not look good on a resume. A simple google search into their company will show that. No information on their website about what they actually do and what you are actually selling. You also are not given any benefits and you are technically a contractor/ self employed which is also a huge red flag. this job is entirely commissioned base. They say you will make between $400-$800 a week and that is not true. They do not compensate for travel expenses either. DO NOT APPLY TO THIS COMPANY

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      door to door sales

      May 23, 2021 - Brand Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      nice people and nice boss

      Cons

      door to door sales and unorganized

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Uncommon Opportunity

      Jan 17, 2021 - Account Manager in Lombard, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The amount of support offered has been unparalleled anywhere I've ever seen. Your coworkers actively encourage you to succeed and advance.

      Cons

      The work can be hard at times, but it's genuinely worth it.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      The most supportive environment!

      Jan 21, 2021 - Administrative Assistant in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Extremely supportive staff, great growth opportunities, hands on training, focus on personal and professional development.

      Cons

      Hard work is required and that’s not for everyone

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      So happy for this opportunity

      Jan 13, 2021 - Account Manager in Lombard, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people here genuinely care about developing and growing individuals.

      Cons

      This is not for someone trying to skim by with minimal effort in their life.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      FUGI, Negged Out, Time Now For Time Later

      Jan 6, 2021 - Account Representative in Lombard, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Will say despite this being a totally negative experience, I did gain some positives. -Ungodly work ethic -Surrounded by good willed energetic people -Resume experience has led to REAL well-earning opportunities

      Cons

      -Systematic manipulative tactics including acronyms such as 'FUGI' 'Always have a positive attitude' 'Law Of Averages' -Toxic positive overthinking i.e. 'I didn't ring bell, must have been my lack of LOA and can't get negged out' -Aggressive management style by regional 'consultants' such as shunning for deviating from their ideal -Reps get shunned for taking ANY personal time ie Taking a Saturday off -No Work-life balance -Exhausting hours typically 7AM-7PM excluding commute time -If you don't ring bell, you will be encouraged to stay out past 8 PM to make up for it -Most AMs won't get into leadership and not because they can't -Very high turnover; impossible to retain a team/recruits -Cult like culture with chant backs and limiting any behavior not 'ideal' Not this office's fault rather it's just how all SmartCircle offices are ran from top to bottom & the 'business opportunity' is flawed to where most have hopes of becoming 'owners' is false and really only the people at the top like regional consultants and founders are meant to profit off of most of the sales - AKA legal MLM corporation. Most AM's I've met indeed DO have the will and skills to be great team leaders and owners but seldom do they because of how flawed this business is setup for everyone who isn't at the top. You will be fed all these false narratives about how most companies out there will pay minimum wage and don't care for you yet you will earn LESS than minimum wage in commissions considering the 70 hour work weeks. I rang bell just about everyday and still didn't make anywhere near the '$500/week' as a team leader - I was lucky to earn around $340 in a good week. You'll also be told about how everyone like friends and family who 'criticize' this opportunity are negative and don't know anything about this business - that's because your elders will likely know its a too good to be true trap which it is. The owner and higher ups will tell you what to do if you 'want to be successful in this business' including not taking personal time. I got shunned for taking 1 Saturday off due to the birth of my child and got torn a new one for it despite having now taking ANY prior days before. If you are reading this and considering, do your research on SmartCircle aka 'Slave Circle' and decide for yourself. If you're in the biz now, just do yourself a favor and leave on good terms with owner (for reference later), put it on your resume, and apply to other real jobs ASAP. After doing 3 interviews, I was able to get a good entry level corporate gig paying $55K+ with benefits and good company culture. I made $20k the MOST during my year with Coast with retaining a revolving 2-3 recruits; was so broke there were times I couldn't afford to buy diapers or formula for my newborn let alone pay for my basic necessities.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Training Program

      Mar 31, 2020 - Assistant Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My main reason for starting and staying at Coast Inc. is because of the hands-on training and development I receive daily. I started here right after college and had little to no experience. It was such a breath of fresh air to interview with a company that promised a thorough training program AND delivered. Mentorship is key in business. You need to have someone in your corner in order to succeed - and it's always more fun to have someone to celebrate with ;)

      Cons

      My main struggle since I have started here has been that everything is on me. I can't make excuses or blame anyone else for not getting the job done. Our business is a mirror and when you are doing well, it's easy to keep looking at yourself, but when you're not, it is harder to look at your reflection. At the end of the day, our company is merit based. It is up to you to see where you will take your opportunity.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Horrible company

      Jan 18, 2021 - Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nothing was a pro. Taylor and Nicole are scammers that only want to advance themselves not the people working for them.

      Cons

      Scammers. New faces everyday bc they can not retain employees bc they are a scam. Never worked for a marketing company that only thought about themselves

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing culture and work environment

      Sep 28, 2020 - Account Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone cares about you and your goals, and they help you get better personally and professionally so you can progress in life.

      Cons

      Hours can be demanding sometimes, but the hard work pays off

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 72 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Coast Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Coast? Share Your Experiences

    Coast logo
    or