Connect Reviews | Glassdoor

Connect Reviews

Updated Apr 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
19%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
Chris Collinson
23 Ratings
  1. Helpful (11)

    "Confidential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Confidential in Norcross, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Connect full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced, fun, great people, amazing industry to serve and work in, great challenges, and the team is empowered to try new things.

    Cons

    Things at Collinson Media change quickly and new products are launched quickly. Everything makes sense and serves our clients and customers but everything isn't always communicated across the board.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on keeping on. I love working here. Nothing will ever be perfect but the pros far outweigh the cons.

    Connect2016-08-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "There Are Other Companies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Connect full-time

    Pros

    Pays well for what it's worth.

    Cons

    Disrespectful and pretty racist, find somewhere else to work. I was also told they like to go on glassdoor and write good reviews to counter bad reviews, so be on the lookout for a "great" review after this one.

    Connect2019-04-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Editorial Content Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Connect full-time

    Pros

    -Casual work environment -Opportunities for travel -Fun team environment

    Cons

    -Older work environment -Lack of transparency with senior leadership

    Connect2018-12-17
  4. "It's what you make of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Norcross, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Connect full-time

    Pros

    They seemed aware of retention issues and seemed to be making steps to improve the office culture. The work-life balance was good and it is family first business. Free of micromanagement.

    Cons

    Management often seemed clueless in terms of day-to-day operations but they are good at the company's main product of producing events and fostering relationships. If your job does not involve business development here, your career will stagnate.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Connect2018-07-12
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Connect full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed attending the conferences.

    Cons

    Management is awful. I knew of at least 5 people in my department alone that chose to leave the company due to how they were treated by our manager. Unless some changes are made soon they will continue to lose more people. Also, there is no room to grow.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in training for management and also listen to your employees when they express interest in moving to other departments.

    Connect2018-07-13
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Run for the hills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee in Norcross, GA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Connect full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Literally none. The pay is not even great and the management is terrible , very small minded people and childish antics

    Cons

    Pay, corporate politics, lack of advancement, poor leadership . I could go on for days. Outdated business practices and not open to many suggestions

    Advice to Management

    Just start over

    Connect2018-04-12
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor in Norcross, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Connect full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Co-workers: mutual abuses bring people together

    Cons

    The management treats you like dirt, it's a toxic, shady culture, the pay isn't competitive, you see good people being fired for no reason with no explanation. I am a generally positive person who was nearly broken by the way I and others were treated by this company.

    Advice to Management

    Your management skills are lacking. As is your human decency. I can't even believe a company like this still exists in 2018 with your rampant racist, biased, sexist treatment of employees and your general disregard for acceptable workplace experiences.

    Connect2018-04-09
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Connect full-time

    Pros

    Pay is the only pro

    Cons

    Terrible management. Terrible communication to employees. President changes his mind 3 times a day. Completely unprofessional and hostile environment. EVERYONE needs training- everyone is out for themselves and will stab you in the back in a heartbeat. I've never met a more fake, disgusting group of people in my life. They have no morals and will do anything to get a dollar from a client even if that means screwing over...

    Show More
    Connect2017-08-07
  9. Helpful (3)

    "There's a reason why this place has so many one-star reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editorial/Content 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Connect full-time

    Pros

    Great co-workers for the most part There's a Panera nearby

    Cons

    People are fired often and you don't know why. You always feel like you could be next. My nerves couldn't take it anymore so I found another job. There are some iffy business practices going on. I'm not sure if management doesn't know any better or simply doesn't care. Even though I worked in editorial/content which is mostly women, it's still very much an old boy's club. It's a toxic, uncomfortable environment for...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your clients and employees with respect if you want to stop losing them.

    Connect2017-04-25
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Regional Director of Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Director of Sales in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Connect full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    High compensation for successful sales growth. Fun industry, conferences, and events. It was a great opportunity for me to prove my worth in sales.

    Cons

    Poor management. Sales are largely dependent on territory and my territory was switched up many times (several times per year in some cases. Company has lost hold on its competitive advantage.

    Advice to Management

    Manage incentives, expectations, and staff under sales better. Compensation is for support staff is weak and turnover is far too high.

    Connect2016-10-17
Found 34 reviews