KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Cookpad

Is this your company?

Cookpad

Add a Review

Cookpad Reviews

Updated Sep 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 of over 28 reviews

3.6
51%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Cookpad Founder  Aki Sano (no image)
Aki Sano
15 Ratings
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Too much ego

    Apr 11, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lively company with nice offices in the heart of Bristol. Cookpad has a fun mission and some good people.

    Cons

    I worked there for a short time and decided to move on to a place with a more egalitarian culture and less chaos. Some of the senior staff are unbearably bullish.

    Continue reading
    15 people found this review helpful

    Cookpad Response

    PR Lead

    Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback. We are a start-up in the UK, as well as going through a period of intense growth. We know that can sometimes feel chaotic and we're working on how to balance that. We're always looking to improve so if you would like to share more detailed feedback, please email us on feedback@cookpad.com

  2. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Easy come, easy go. Lack of staff focused leadership and career progression and heavy rotation of staff

    Sep 15, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Small product team members are enjoyable to work with

    Cons

    Top down inexperienced working leadership. Heavy rotation of staff making a very uneasy, unmotivating work culture. Lack of any future, short term, long term vision

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Sales Engineer

    Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

    400

    160 Comments

    Join the conversation on
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Not a good place if you want to build your career

    Jul 7, 2021 - Community Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    No one will review your work performance. It’s ok if you suck - and trust me a lot of employees are doing nothing.

    Cons

    0 career development opportunity for Community Managers - no salary raise and promotion for years. People in the headquarter doesn’t care about local Community Manager. Management has no idea how to grow the business. Not a tech company as they said. A lot of stupid manual works usually are automated in other companies.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Cookpad Response

    Hiring Lead

    We are sorry Cookpad was not the right fit for you. We have grown to become a global company and are now in more than 70 countries and it is true that working in this kind of mission-driven company with start-up mentality is not easy for everyone and requires highly-driven and motivated team members who really align with our values and mission to make a positive impact on peoples' lives and future. We value all our community managers and team members across the globe and appreciate their great dedication and wonderful contribution to helping us to make that impact happen. Sorry again that it wasn't the right company for you and we wish you great success with your next career move.

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good place to work

    Aug 18, 2021 - Community Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible working hours and friendly people

    Cons

    No cons as everything is ok

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Review

    Jul 8, 2021 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great colleagues, international teams, challenging projects

    Cons

    Less organized evaluation and management workflow

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good company

    Mar 5, 2021 - Community Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good flexible company with not so many benefits

    Cons

    leadership issues at the core level

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work, great people, product changes direction too often though

    Feb 15, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people and leadership. There's technical excellence

    Cons

    Product changes direction too often

    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Too much value given to ego

    Mar 14, 2020 - Senior Ruby On Rails Developer in Bristol, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good kitchen and they value learning. Dedicated to training their staff on the latest technologies and techniques. They invite important people to give talks and do training, are active in the community with meetups, most colleagues are very nice people and the mix of nationalities does make it a diverse environment.

    Cons

    Much of the senior development team based in Japan make work really hard for developers based in the UK. Their drive to have a good and clean codebase does not account very well with adapting to the diverse team and ideas, and there is overall a low level of trust between management and senior members. They seem to value most individuals with bullying manners for as long as they get the job done, but that causes other members distress which they fail to address promptly. There is always a try to control everything without putting the extra effort to low the frustration and pressure that comes with it, especially from the management team. Difficult and too scarce communication with too much expectation make it difficult to work there. There is a mix of the "Discipline" Japanese culture and the "I tell you this to make you happy but I won't actually act to make anything better" which is the British way. And this is a very bad mix in the long term.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful

    Cookpad Response

    Hiring Lead

    Thank you for your review. As you point out, we are very lucky to have such an experienced, diverse and talented team at Cookpad and we're pleased that you recognised that. However, we're sorry that your time with us didn't work out as expected. When a company is growing rapidly, there can be growth pains which cause frustration amongst team members. At the time of your review, we were in a period of accelerated growth. We are pleased to say that we've now more than doubled in size, with most team members based in Bristol, meaning time zone differences are no longer a significant issue. Of course, being a global business, there will always be some time zone challenges but we work hard to ensure that these do not impact productivity. Once again, thank you for your review. We hope that you are thriving in your current endeavours.

  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Authoritarian seniorities and carousel of staffs come in and leave

    Oct 20, 2020 - Senior Ruby Developer in Bristol, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Intelligent staffs motivate each other.

    Cons

    Staffs have two very different impressions about Cookpad. If you are already familiar with the domain knowledge and tech stacks in Cookpad, and outstandingly strong in Ruby community or independent at work, you will get a positive impression. Otherwise ... Senior developers especially the international team in Japan conduct with bullying manner when discussing anything. Quite often pull requests are blocked with the time difference and we needed to wait for new review rounds till next day. Managers, on the other hand, looked unaware or neglect the fact as far as the senior developers look control deliveries of outcomes. And, they kept asking for unreasonable requests. As a result, newcomers somehow managed to find out a way to meet the deadlines and mitigate the frustration.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful

    Cookpad Response

    Hiring Lead

    We appreciate that you recognise the talent and motivational spirit of the Cookpad team. We're just sorry that your time with us didn't work out as expected. We expect all team members to adhere to company values, regardless of their role and we action feedback.

  11. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Cookpad review

    Feb 25, 2021 - Content Manager in Mumbai
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working with people around the globe

    Cons

    No internal communication between team

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 27 Reviews

Popular Careers with Cookpad Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Cookpad? Share Your Experiences

or