Cookpad Reviews | Glassdoor

Cookpad Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Aki Sano
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Too much ego"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Cookpad full-time

    Pros

    Lively company with nice offices in the heart of Bristol. Cookpad has a fun mission and some good people.

    Cons

    I worked there for a short time and decided to move on to a place with a more egalitarian culture and less chaos. Some of the senior staff are unbearably bullish.

    Advice to Management

    Keep transforming the culture of the company so that it can attract good people.

    Cookpad2018-04-11

    Cookpad Response

    April 18, 2018PR Lead

    Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback. We are a start-up in the UK, as well as going through a period of intense growth. We know that can sometimes feel chaotic and we're working on how to balance that. We're always looking to improve so if you would like to share more ...

    Show More
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cookpad full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big challenges and a lot of users. Nice app

    Cons

    Growing very fast. Sometimes too many bugs

    Cookpad2019-05-21

    Cookpad Response

    May 24, 2019Hiring Lead

    Thank you for the feedback. We are currently working hard to fill key roles. Cookpad is growing and building a great team and a new product in Bristol. We are constantly working on new features, but also aware of ensuring that we focus on a great user experience.

  3. "Great people and great missions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cookpad full-time

    Pros

    - People: I love all the people I work with and can learn a lot from them - Office: Though it's always under construction, I love the office with a nice big kitchen - Missions: I feel what I do contributes to users' well-being

    Cons

    - Management: You could say this is freedom but due to a lack of management while getting more people, it's now hard to make sure what you are doing is really worth it

    Advice to Management

    We are not a company of 10 people any more. To make hundreds of people work we do need more discipline. Pursuing "Speed" does not always work and even slows us down in the end. I feel we sometimes need to stop to think about the service and organisation as a whole instead of constantly changing things haphazardly

    Cookpad2019-03-07
  4. "General review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Editor 
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Cookpad full-time

      Pros

      Tech oriented and there is a big room for learning

      Cons

      Lots of hard work and overtime

      Cookpad2019-01-28

      Cookpad Response

      February 6, 2019Hiring Lead

      Cookpad's global community platform is used by on average around 100 million people every month, so the scale of what ensures that we challenge ourselves and each other to do the best work we can. We also prototyped and created a unique, adaptable working environment where we collaborate, ...

      Show More
    • "Great company, great colleagues, great values"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Cookpad full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Cookpad is a great company to work in. Fast pace (never fast enough though!!), global vision and mission. It is wonderful to work with colleagues from so many countries all working together to try and make daily cooking more fun worldwide. If you love communicating and working in a challenging and international environment, then this is the best company for you.

      Cons

      It can be difficult to remember when to switch off ;-) The bar is really high, so unless you really identify with the values of the company and with the end goal, it probably isn't for you. Working at Cookpad is probably the opposite of a traditional nine to five job.

      Cookpad2018-11-27

      Cookpad Response

      November 28, 2018PR Lead

      We are currently building our foundational team so are looking for top skills. The benefits we offer are based on how we can best support personal and professional well-being. We do a few things that might not be expected such as covering all expenses if speaking at an event, weekly ...

      Show More
    • "great office but lack of management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Cookpad full-time

      Pros

      great office with a kitchen

      Cons

      bad management that needs to change to a young and dynamic crowd

      Advice to Management

      show encouragement to your staff members

      Cookpad2018-12-06

      Cookpad Response

      December 12, 2018PR Lead

      The Cookpad team is made up of an extraordinary, diverse range of people. Our focus is on hiring top talent who identify with our mission and, as with our Cookpad community, all ages and backgrounds are represented. We are proud that 29 different nationalities currently work in our ...

      Show More
    • "Great people, amazing benefits!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Cookpad full-time

      Pros

      Fantastic office, really good benefits, friendly people from all over the world, supportive manager, constant flow of baked treats!

      Cons

      Could quite easily put on a lot of weight with all the lovely food!

      Cookpad2018-11-14
    • "Great company, breath of fresh air"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Community Lead in Bristol, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Cookpad full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      It’s so nice to work for a company that is truly mission led. We believe that when everyone globally is enjoying cooking at home, we will dissolve as a company. Lofty aspirations but with real heart that is felt across the whole company. The environment is supportive, the package is very attractive and autonomy in its truest form. A start up feel with a long strong history abroad. Exciting company to work for.

      Cons

      Growth is rapid, which is great but creating structure takes time. This environment plays to my strengths but it’s not for everyone.

      Cookpad2018-05-09

      Cookpad Response

      May 10, 2018PR Lead

      Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate the input. It's lovely to hear that you enjoy being part of the Cookpad team. If you have any more feedback, please email us at feedback@cookpad.com

    • "Dedicated team passionate about making a real difference"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Cookpad full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great people - dedicated teams passionate about making a real difference to people's lives. Many are experts in their field. A really diverse team - local and overseas team members working together and sharing knowledge.

      Cons

      Priorities and focus can and do change- typical of a start-up but not an environment that will suit everyone.

      Advice to Management

      Looking forward to seeing the team build out with mid-range developers and graduates.

      Cookpad2018-05-03

      Cookpad Response

      May 8, 2018PR Lead

      Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate the input and it's great to hear that you enjoy being part of the Cookpad team. If you have any more feedback, please email us at feedback@cookpad.com

    • "A tech company which believes cooking can change the world. It is actually doing."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Cookpad full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      * Clear mission * No.1 in the online cooking recipe service all over the world. Working in a category No.1 company is entirely different experience compared to working in the rest. * You can find your colleagues around the globe. You can understand that while you are thinking about cooking, you can forget borders and feel peace. * Having a long history in Japan, but the company still keeps startup atmosphere.

      Cons

      The Bristol office is growing very fast regarding its organization and office spaces, which is good but... * If you expect something established companies have, such as regular training, people development courses or else, this is not the place. * Noisy constructions are often undertaking in the office. Hope it all finishes soon

      Advice to Management

      Stay young, stay hungry, stay crazy, stay foolish.

      Cookpad2018-04-24

      Cookpad Response

      April 28, 2018PR Lead

      Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate the input. The work on the office will be finished very soon and hopefully worth it! We're also thinking about learning/ development opportunities we can offer beyond what comes organically in the different roles. If ...

      Show More
    Found 14 reviews