Crisis Text Line Reviews | Glassdoor

Crisis Text Line Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 102 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Nancy Lublin
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working for Crisis Text Line is a win-win(in 14 reviews)

  • "From everything I have come to learn about Crisis Text Line, I am consistently impressed with what the organization is doing and how they are doing it(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is some texters waiting half hour to talk and they want us to give 30 to 60 mins to each person ideally 45(in 29 reviews)

  • "The crisis counselors are pushed to get volumes of texters through as opposed to providing them with actual care(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "6 months in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Volunteer Crisis Counselor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crisis Text Line part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training and support, positive culture, flexible.

    Cons

    None, really. It can be tough at times, but the support from others is phenomenal.

    Crisis Text Line2019-07-19
  2. "Fulfilling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crisis Counselor in Carrollton, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Crisis Text Line part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can get discounts, get opportunity to make a difference, you're trained and supported by other experienced supervisors, work from home

    Cons

    If you're internet isn't great, you'll have ba difficult time and your conversations will be sent to other counselors who have internet and can respond

    Advice to Management

    Keep providing this opportunity for volunteers and users! Great idea to do this

    Crisis Text Line2019-07-14
  3. "Supportive Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Crisis Text Counselor in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at Crisis Text Line part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Intensive, thorough and interactive training. Active supervision. Great experience.

    Cons

    Can be triggering or stressful to some if they have mental health issues, but they make sure to stress self-care and self-awareness in their training.

    Crisis Text Line2019-07-03
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Concerning sometimes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Volunteer Counselor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Crisis Text Line part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is nice for the most part.

    Cons

    I've been here almost two years and I've seen a lot of changes. Most not good. The new supervisors don't appear to have any actual qualifications. Supervisors have shrugged off imminent risk conversations saying that teenagers are dramatic. Supers have also suggested we ask texters if they want to report verbal abuse but when a texter is being physically abused they say we can't report it because they don't have bruises....

    Show More
    Crisis Text Line2019-06-28
  5. "It's ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Volunteer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crisis Text Line part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, opportunity to help others

    Cons

    supervisors are overwhelmed, no compensation

    Crisis Text Line2019-07-14
  6. "They're understanding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crisis Counselor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crisis Text Line part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can work whenever you can, as it's a 24/7 service. Can take time off without a problem.

    Cons

    Conversations seem to take a cookie cutter approach, but they're still fairly supportive

    Crisis Text Line2019-06-14
  7. "Great people doing great things!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crisis Counselor in Edinboro, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crisis Text Line part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Saving lives, supportive atmosphere, opportunities to excel

    Cons

    Occasional high volume of texters, stressful situations

    Advice to Management

    I really wish there was more support for people that have been off the platform for a while, but aren't confident about coming back.

    Crisis Text Line2019-06-09
  8. Helpful (6)

    "For the love of all things holy, do not work here or use this service!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Crisis Text Line full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I met some lovely people who I've remained friends with.

    Cons

    The company is rotten, through and through. Positive reviews are either volunteers who don't know the inner workings of the company, or planted by management. Truly the worst company culture I have ever been a part of, AND I WORKED FROM HOME! It permeates your entire life because you're expected to live, breath, and eat CTL. Fear is the only tool utilized by Empress Lublin. If you want some insight into the way...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    They don't take advice. So I guess my advice would be to start taking some advice?

    Crisis Text Line2019-07-01
  9. "Protocol Extremely exacting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crisis Counselor in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Crisis Text Line part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Thorough training and support. Strongly successful formula. Uses meta data to inform decisions. Chances to redo things during training.

    Cons

    Very formulaic with specifics for everything. Things are very cookie cutter about response, so might feel constrained.

    Crisis Text Line2019-04-11
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Volunteer. Very poor and unprofessional training approach."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Crisis Text Line

    Pros

    I am a psychologist with 30 years in the mental health field working with adolescents and young adults. I was excited about volunteering with CTL and had recommended CTL to many as a resource when I did formal trainings and presentations on suicide prevention. I dropped out of the training after a month and expressed my concern about the highly rigid, scripted responses and procedures that were not ethical nor did I feel...

    Show More

    Cons

    You lost a person who had the desire, knowledge and experience to give back. I'm sure I am not the only one. I do not recommend CTL any longer.

    Advice to Management

    I keep reading that CTL is a tech start-up and not a mental health agency. That explains the coldness and lack of caring that was so obvious during training. It seems CTL took an amazing idea and ruined it. Everyone knows data is key, but when dealing with people's hearts and lives, it shouldn't be the only focus. I'm so glad I got out when I did, looks like things didn't improve.

    Crisis Text Line2019-05-08
Found 102 reviews