DC Energy Reviews | Glassdoor

DC Energy Reviews

Updated May 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Dean L. Wilde
13 Ratings
  1. "An awesome first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DC Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Intelligent and friendly people, stimulating quantitative problems, team-based approach to investing, great way to build skills across many disciplines (data science, finance, energy). Self-driven workplan teaches you to really think critically and own the analysis. Very little busy-work. Flat structure, approachable managers, fair opportunities to present to upper management and make impactful change

    Cons

    High turnover rate means loss of institutional knowledge, less room for skill development after 3-4 years, long commute if you want to live downtown

    Advice to Management

    Consider quality of life changes that could increase retention.

    DC Energy2018-08-27
  2. "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Analyst in Vienna, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DC Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Above-average pay Smart people Interesting financial market

    Cons

    Some bad managers Analyst development is not a priority Bad work/life for the compensation

    Advice to Management

    Mediocrity at Principal levels should be unacceptable Treat analysts better

    DC Energy2019-05-26
  3. "Great first job out of college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DC Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    DC Energy had some of the smartest and friendliest people I've worked with. Everyone knew their stuff and didn't hesitate to help each other out. Comp and benefits were decent as well.

    Cons

    Hours could be unpredictable and is heavily dependent on which team you get placed. The turnover rate is also on the high side.

    Advice to Management

    Incentivize associates and analysts to stay longer

    DC Energy2018-10-02
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Pays well, amazing co-workers, good professional development, hours can be difficult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Vienna, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DC Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Intelligent Co-workers High pay, commensurate with other finance jobs Constant learning in your first few years; good professional development and skills

    Cons

    Hours can be bad depending on the team you're placed on, well above the 55 hr/wk they tell you about

    Advice to Management

    Actually balance teams with the # of people needed to have a decent work-life balance

    DC Energy2017-11-30
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Hard work, great pay, brilliant people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Vienna, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DC Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are friendly and very smart. I learned a ton. Great perks in the office and at company events. They pay well.

    Cons

    Have to work long hours a few times a month. 11 hour days are typical. Sometimes work nights and weekends to meet deadlines.

    Advice to Management

    Make people more comfortable to stay long-term. The churn rate is killing the base of expertise.

    DC Energy2016-11-27
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Overall a positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at DC Energy full-time

    Pros

    The analyst cohort was generally pretty easy going and fun though sometimes a bit nerdy. My managers seemed to care about how I was progressing and gave frequent feedback. Work was fairly interesting and highly analytical.

    Cons

    The location isn't ideal and the commute is annoying unless you live in Tysons, but then you live in Tysons. Some people had problems with their managers, but this was a minority. There also were no clear exit opportunities with a two year non-compete.

    Advice to Management

    Communication with the cohort could have been much better. Also there are a lot of managers relative to the total headcount.

    DC Energy2016-09-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Job to Learn At, But Narrow Niche"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investment Analyst in Vienna, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DC Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You work with highly intelligent, motivated coworkers who are usually happy to help you improve your coding and research skills. The firm expects you to learn on the job, and the skills are transferable to other positions, so it's major fringe benefit.

    Cons

    The energy niche most DC Energy employees analyze and/or trade in is extremely narrow, and a non-compete means that you really can't take investment strategies with you. On the other hand, you do gain general market knowledge that is somewhat useful in other fields.

    Advice to Management

    DC Energy is a "transactional" employer rather than an "inspirational" employer, and this leads to higher turnover. As a smaller trading outfit, it might benefit from attempting to borrow from the "inspirational" employer handbook from time to time.

    DC Energy2016-05-28
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Loving it so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Analyst in Vienna, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at DC Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    So this has been my first gig out of college and it's been about as good as I could've hoped for especially when I've compared my experience to friends'. The work is challenging (something that I'm glad for). You'll be coming in every day and be expected to actually think. This is aided by the fact that the work is interesting, but unlike research it stays fresh because you don't just work on one project all the time....

    Show More

    Cons

    There are definitely some downsides to working here. It's my understanding that they've scaled down their team budgets pretty significantly from the past (no more $1,000+ tasting menus), which just means I can't experience how nice that must have been in the past. There is a non-compete, although it's only meant to restrict trading the same set of securities that we work with (and it's a pretty niche market). I can't...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would reword the fine print about bonuses in our contracts (have historically ranged up to 50%). Not sure I'd be bringing peoples' hopes up about 50% of salary if that's unlikely to happen again.

    DC Energy2016-01-26
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Niche Quant shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investment Analyst in Washington, DC

    I worked at DC Energy for more than 3 years

    Pros

    young interesting capable people, good work life balance, flat structure

    Cons

    Non-compete, limited compensation upside, Location (Tysons corner, VA)

    DC Energy2015-12-04
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Good place to learn; not great to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Vienna, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DC Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working at DC Energy is a mixed bag. On the positive side, you get to learn a lot about energy markets, data science, web development, visualizations, and presentation. You get to work with incredibly smart people on very difficult problems. Unlike some other proprietary trading firms or hedge funds, it is an extremely collaborative environment, more collegial than cut-throat.

    Cons

    There's not enough transparency; management will frequently make seemingly arbitrary decisions with little explanation or room for input. Limited room for growth -- depends a lot on your team. Managers sometimes micromanage (which can be good at times, especially initially). The work experience varies a lot based on team and manager. Compensation is closer to consulting pay/bonus scale than proprietary trading...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Improve transparency into decision-making. Compensation is important and shows how little management values employees (or at least sees them as replaceable). Move to DC.

    DC Energy2015-10-29
Found 33 reviews