DKMS Reviews | Glassdoor

DKMS Reviews

Updated 15 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
DKMS CEO Henning Wrogemann
Henning Wrogemann
0 Ratings
  1. "One of the best experiences of my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - College Outreach Assistant in Washington, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DKMS part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My job is to help save lives. How can you beat that?

    Cons

    There are some sad times. We're not always able to find a match for a patient in need, and we lose some battles. The wins outweigh the loses in the end, but the job itself, as opposed to the company, can be heavy on the heart at times. The thing about DKMS is, we all feel it together. Every loss, every win, every day, we laugh and cry together as we fight against blood cancer and blood diseases.

    Advice to Management

    The only advice I have for the management I am under is to take care of herself. She is hard working, dedicated, driven, and an amazing boss. I admire her more than she'll know (unless she sees this review, in which case, Hi, Joyce!), and I hope she always remembers to take a little time for herself while she's conquering this nonprofit management thing.

    DKMS2018-04-23
  2. "Room for promotion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Donor Relations in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DKMS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They promote from within...small office!

    Cons

    Management was all over the place

    DKMS2019-08-19
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great Cause, Not Great Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at DKMS full-time

    Pros

    The cause is wonderful and makes you feel good to be a part of an important mission. Good people.

    Cons

    Not great pay, upper management is a mess.

    DKMS2018-06-25
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Points for trying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DKMS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours...work from home policy...time off between Christmas and New Year...summer fridays....company supplied mobile phone and laptop...opportunities for advancement...opportunities for continuing education...bonus structure...competitive salary...reasonable benefits package...focus on diversity...great mission...snacks were provided

    Cons

    Terrible infrastructure and technology issues...young and inexperienced CEO...management direction came from European HQ and didn't always translate to the US office experience -- same with branding and messaging direction...major communication issues between departments...unreasonable goals were set without addressing major infrastructure and management challenges

    DKMS2017-05-01
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Change in Management Needed!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DKMS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The everyday people who work for this organization are amazing people who want to make a difference.

    Cons

    As other have said, upper management is the absolute worst here. I don't think any of them even have half a clue as to what they are doing but are good at taking credit for other's work. One day everyone suddenly became a VP overnight, it was almost as if we rewarded them for their inadequecies. New Chief Development officer is basically paid to be home and let the two people under her do everything. Everyone... knows these people do the bare minimum to get a nice paycheck yet hardworking staff is thrown pennies and given triple the work load.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop rewarding poor work ethic! Get rid of the dead weight and maybe you'd have a more successful company. Your middle management is strong and well respected. People would give you a lot more credit if you promoted these people rather than recruit outside. Reward your hard workers or you will be pushing them to look for a company that will acknowledge them and compensate fairly. The self appointed VPs and... Chiefs don't need anymore praise for their mediocrity, it's literally a running joke in the office. Stop cutting funds in the wrong places. Healthcare is important, fair salary is important, how you treat people is important! Free coffee, lame summits, and occasional snacks are not important.

    Show More
    DKMS2017-05-09
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Sadly going downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DKMS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people! Most employees here are extremely dedicated to their work and the company mission.

    Cons

    The upper management is terrible. As someone who works under middle management, I find it very alarming some of the people in "VP" positions are in charge of anything let alone being the people making major decisions. When they talk in larger meetings, you can just tell they are clueless. Everyone knows none of these people are capable of doing their jobs but luckily for them and unfortunate for others, they... have people under them (middle management) who actually do know what they are doing and do all of their work for them less the credit and I'm sure far less the pay (look at the 990-if these people could do their jobs, okay but the current people and their salaries are ridiculous). My boss may be a younger first time manager but he is probably 10x more qualified for a"VP" position than any current individual in that position.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    As I have noticed with this company, any advice employees give regarding their managers falls on deaf ears. I would however say really look at your employees, you have a lot of very overworked staff in multiple departments (DM!). People will go above and beyond for an employer who appreciates them and compensates them fairly. There are a lot of people not being compensated fairly and you will probably end up... losing the real talent of the organization if you keep burying people in work and not compensating fairly.

    Show More
    DKMS2017-05-04
  7. Helpful (5)

    "assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DKMS

    Pros

    The benefits are some what good

    Cons

    Bad management causes massive turnovers

    Advice to Management

    Fire the HR executive

    DKMS2016-10-21
  8. "Great Cause and People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DKMS for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Cause and people. Good financial backing and excellent liquidity. Excellent volunteer base and good fund raising team. Fun Place to work

    Cons

    A lot of interaction with international partners. A ot of decisions are by committee so this does slow things down.

    Advice to Management

    Believe in and trust your local staff. Formalise a staff development program . Rationalise international travel so it is efficient and beneficial.

    DKMS2016-09-22
  9. Helpful (5)

    "It’s easy to get comfortable here and turn a blind eye to things, until you realize you are worth more than that."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DKMS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This organization has two main things going for it: the mission and the people. Seeing the magic of connecting donors with patients, no matter what your role in the company is, is beyond rewarding. In addition to that you end up leaving this place with some of the greatest coworkers and friends. This organization brings together some people who really care about their impact in the world and who work tirelessly to... do their part in saving more lives. Also—for a nonprofit, DKMS has quite a lot of money, and although they have yet to figure out how to spend their dollars properly, you’ll probably get paid more here than most other nonprofits.

    Show More

    Cons

    Employee recognition and appreciation is nearly nonexistence. Rather than praise and acknowledge those who do great work, management thinks that putting out snacks in the kitchen is a great method of showing appreciation. I’m pretty sure most people would trade that granola bar for a well-deserved acknowledgement, raise, or promotion any day. Unless you lie, beg, or cheat your way to a promotion or a raise, it... won’t happen. You will gladly be given additional work and fake promises of future conversations to discuss your role in the organization, yet nothing will ever happen. Nonetheless, you will be surprised to see certain people get raises or promotions due to calculated moves. This office is too close for deceptions to stay hidden for long, and everyone finds out everything with time. The sad part is that real patients and real families get enveloped in the sea of internal politics which is disheartening.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If it isn’t blatantly obvious already, there are major problems in the infrastructure of this organization, and employees have no one to turn to. The Human Resources department is a joke to the entire office, yet this is the department that is needed the most in this case. No one feels safe or comfortable bringing up any issues to HR because when issues are brought up they simply get swept under the rug with... numerous excuses and senseless justifications. When an employee is reporting a grievance, HR’s job is to be a neutral and CONFIDENTIAL third party, however that is not the case; hence the lack of trust. True transparency when it comes to leadership is lacking, therefore the foundation of DKMS is flawed in the US.

    Show More
    DKMS2016-10-05
  10. Helpful (3)

    "going nowhere - fast."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at DKMS

    Pros

    Wonderful mission full of inspiring patients and stories. Somewhat flexible working environment with plenty of PTO. Decent benefits.

    Cons

    Extremely unorganized with very little strategy. Sadly everything at DKMS is a front. The "strategy" is not rooted in any significant or compelling data, and there is very little to no follow through on any campaign. Management turns a blind eye to internal problems and chooses to blame individuals when a management driven strategy fails. Absolutely NO ROOM for career growth or developement. Reimbursements and HR... elements take weeks, if not months. There is very little internal etiquette and it often feels like everyone is ignoring you. You will feel very insignificant here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pull it together and be respectful to your employees. The HR practices are unethical at times, and there is no safe space for employees to discuss issues or find solutions. Everyone at DKMS is there to serve the mission, but please stop using the mission to cover up your failure to create a fulfilling environment for your employees.

    DKMS2016-06-10
Found 36 reviews
</>Embed