DNEG Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
81%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
DNEG Chief Executive Officer Namit Malhotra
Namit Malhotra
35 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "When you start at DNEG no matter how experienced you are it can be hard to be recognised and given any sort of challenging work(in 16 reviews)

  • "Long hours, sometimes unnecessary(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Aims for high end results while maintaining strict 9-6 work schedule."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Compositor in Burbank, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DNEG full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High-quality VFX work with a sensable turn around time. Small studio feel with a big-budget pipeline. A real studio effort to keep you from having to do any overtime. Great pay with yearly review raises. Full-time benefits with some offered to part-time. Positive environment.

    Cons

    The office is still tempory but a permanent one in under construction. Sometimes more work falls onto your shoulders because of others mishandling.

    DNEG2019-11-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Supervisor 

    I worked at DNEG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to work. For the most part they let me run my department as I wanted and when they did things were really smooth.

    Cons

    Not much character work. Also some of the management positions are totally not needed and there are producers who seem more like bank managers who don't understand artists or how we work or think. This caused a lot of stress and frustration on the artists for no reason.

    DNEG2019-12-18
  3. "Good company"

    5.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DNEG full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The pay was good for what it wAs

    Cons

    To many hours and pay was not good

    DNEG2019-07-16
  4. "Good Times generally"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - 2D Artist 

    I worked at DNEG full-time

    Pros

    Worked alongside some very good people

    Cons

    Hard to advance career within

    DNEG2019-02-14
  5. "Good!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DNEG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great projects to work on in a great working environment!

    Cons

    At time a bit disorganized

    DNEG2018-08-02
  6. "good place"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Compositor in London, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DNEG part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    projects , building , location

    Cons

    once you have a salary you will stay with it forever. no possibilities to evolve

    DNEG2018-05-08
  7. "Matchmove Artist"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DNEG full-time

    Pros

    Great Projects, Nice people, Food for OT

    Cons

    the lack of job progression

    DNEG2018-02-23
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Missed opportunities and the spiral downwards."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DNEG full-time

    Pros

    Some talented, creative individuals are left but too many have already left and are never replaced.

    Cons

    The middle management disaster and now the company has become Prime Focus in all but name.

    Continue reading
    DNEG2017-05-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Double Negative London"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DNEG

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great project not the best, better environment among London VFX studios.

    Cons

    Pipeline is worst among similar level VFX studios. leadership and manager expecting to work late without compensation(overtime pay) including weekend. rare chance to promotion and salary increase.

    DNEG2016-10-12
  10. "Fun Culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - VFX Editor in Vancouver, BC

    I worked at DNEG full-time

    Pros

    Technical experience, benefits, extended vacation (unpaid) on request, fun culture

    Cons

    Overtime, undervalued, little growth opportunities

    DNEG2020-05-28
Found 214 reviews
</>Embed