KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

ESP

Is this your company?

ESP

Add a Review

ESP Reviews

Updated Apr 18, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 73 of over 81 reviews

3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
ESP President & CEO Doug N. Fouser  (no image)
Doug N. Fouser
23 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The CEO is a great person and very approachable.(in 4 reviews)
  • "Benefits package, Salary, Aggressively Growing Company, Employee's are highly valued, Communication from Management, Good team environment, friendly atomsphere, Smart Staff, Training and Growth Opportunites(in 3 reviews)
  • "Great leadership with no micro management(in 3 reviews)
Cons
  • "Management buries their heads in the sand, never talking to their employees or seeing who is getting the job done and who isn't(in 4 reviews)
  • "bid occurs, a competitor can underbid in the government's current environment of 'lowest bid, technically acceptable' contracting award system, leaving ESP unable to absorb the individual with specialized skills that are not in ESP's mainstream competence, and that individual is then automatically terminated to be hired at significantly lower pay and benefits by the bid(in 3 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company

    Jan 25, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    culture, pay, learning opportunities, auto industry

    Cons

    could be more transparent in talks

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    consultants

    May 3, 2021 - Sales and Marketing in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    very client oriented with great pay

    Cons

    none other than COVID problems

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Senior Communication Network Engineer

    Dec 19, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked for ESP for 10 years and was part of the initial contract that started ESP. The company was new but after talking to Jim Hoffman and his concept of a workers company than you working for a company, really interested me and I joined the ESP team. I was at a oconus location and was hired over the phone by Jim Hoffman himself and for 10 years he kept his word about the concept of a workers company. This was my 4th contracting company I joined after being in the Air Force and was like no other because you always knew what was going on in the company with frequent visits by Mr. Hoffman that resolved any concerns you as a worker had. Got periodic cash bonuses when ESP got an additional contract from the remainder of the bid offer that normally would be absorbed back into the company, it was distributed among the employees as a cash award. Received 6,0 and 5.5 percent raises annually. The highest paid and best company I ever worked for, solely due to Mr. Hoffman being CEO and truly caring about the company and his employees.

    Cons

    After pressures from numerous companies under bidding upcoming contracts due to the shrinking economy, ESP and Mr. Hoffman was bought out in 2013 when most of the original hires to include myself were let go due to, I assume our seniority salary status. ESP lost allot of great talent from people that had put ESP at the top from delivering what the majority of companies could not. I know ESP is not the company it once was, very sad.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Better days ahead

    Feb 6, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    ESP has replaced the interim CEO and President, I see only good things going forward. ESP values their employees, and in the past that is what made us different in every aspect of our organization. Hopefully, the new CEO/President will bring us back full circle to where we began. It starts with the employee! Value their efforts and they will value the customer and the company.

    Cons

    ESP has always been a great company, we have experienced drastic changes over the last year, but I attribute that to the drastic changes in the government. Going from a pro-defense administration to an administration that sees no value in defense caused chaos in the defense industry regardless of the company or the size. Mr. Hoffman did his best to protect the employees for as long as he could. Unfortunately, once the original leadership left, an interim CEO and President were appointed, and in my opinion they set us back. They only caused more chaos, frustration and employee moral plunged to its lowest. Fortunately, someone saw the error in their ways and appointed a new CEO, who understands the business, he is fair, honest, approachable and has vision for this company.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Logistic SME

    Sep 9, 2015 -  in Haymarket, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    CEO and leadership team demonstrated how they truly cared about the company and people first. The CEO was a phone call away to ALL employees; never seen this before in any company. Great benefits and we all got so many incentives like a real gift for the holidays every year; I mean a real gift like a video camera, etc. The little things were my favorite: weekly ice cream snacks just made you feel like you were very appreciated. A lot of growth opportunity, you just have to be patient and keep after yourself. Great leadership, people told it like it was no fluff but very professional.

    Cons

    As a government contractor their business could go up and down as the government cuts programs, this is why I left. A great deal of their employees are under employed but because they would offer so much flexibility and other incentives it was worth your time. Depending on the program you were assigned, you could be working in the same area for years at a time; for some it could be boring and if you are ambitious that could prove to be a challenge.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Onward and Upward

    Mar 1, 2017 - Logistician/Systems Administrator in Eatontown, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    We were floundering for a while when new management came in due to moral going way down, but we now have a new Operations man who is seeing us as humans again. We had such a strong family and I really feel that we are getting that back. We are meeting at luncheons and discussing anything we need to. Not only that, but we are also having a good time again as a group. I feel like we got our family back; this has been a great turn of events for us

    Cons

    With the new improvements to our Management here, there are not really any cons. We are well taken care of here by our direct supervisor and the operations.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    This company just keeps going down hill.

    May 28, 2015 - Systems Engineer in Aberdeen Proving Ground, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I am truly not sure there are any left at this point. The new management is trying to slowly and quietly clean house of the older management but it is not helping at all. They are also moving the head quarters from New Jersey to the Heart of DC. Why? New jersey is too expensive!

    Cons

    This company used to be wonderful! They actually cared about their employees, now no one wants to hear what you have to say and they will threaten your job if you speak too loudly. Full competitive salaries are now a thing of the past. Pay cut after pay cut, after pay cut and when that was not enough they took days of vacation and sick time away. They helped or paid for health care, now even on the highest level the healthcare is cheap and covers very little. Used to granted vacation when you wanted it not when they decided too many other employees might be away. They expect you to be a puppet now and no matter how much work is packed on you, you are told to "shut up and do it, it is your job and you can be replaced!". The team/group moral is horribly low. With 35+% turn over rate in less than 3 months you would think a light bulb would click somewhere. All I can say is run as fast and as far as you can away from this company!

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Not your business

    May 10, 2016 -  in Fort Hood, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There aren't any left. Under the leadership of Jim Hoffman, ESP was fantastic, not perfect, but he genuinely cared about his employees and his customers. Money in his pocket wasn't the bottom line. The leadership ESP got stuck with is trash smartly discarded by other companies. These people brought in worker bees from their prior companies with promises of bonuses and high salaries. Those who do 98% of the actual effort, while the leadership with even higher salaries take 100% of the credit. Not sure what credit there is to take though. ESP continues to lose work, with new work wins, few and far between, and those that are won, usually doesn't result in actual work, just seats at a hopeful table.

    Cons

    Going through a dam ramming barge, who liked to talk, but not listen, as an interim CEO was bad. I didn't think it could get any worse, yet it has. Lies told to the board of directors about project money in the pipeline for bonuses, a BD team that hasn't developed much, loss of faith by customers, and employees. No communication. Executives who hate anyone here they didn't bring in, and openly discuss this (great going)! Environment is rife with lack of trust between teams that used to trust each other implicitly. Loss of employee motivation that is a direct result of viewing anyone not within their little clique as cattle class.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    I thought this was a great company for which to work...but

    Nov 29, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Eatontown, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Can't say there were any.

    Cons

    -Nepotism (family and friends) in senior management, making WAY too much for doing WAY too little -Too many employees who didn't really know what they were doing contributing to overhead burden -Incompetent management in some departments who think...'If the job isn't getting done with the current employees (who really don't have a clue), let's just hire another body to pick up the slack or hire an outside consulting firm' -No real communication (between departments, or between management and employee base) - Not a lot of team players -Too much uncompensated and unappreciated overtime-No give and take -Management buries their heads in the sand, never talking to their employees or seeing who is getting the job done and who isn't -I must agree with a previous reviewer that this policy of come to work, no matter what the weather situation, is ridiculous. Working from home not allowed, also ridiculous. Just because someone abused the privilege doesn't mean you need to change a policy. Some people actually "work" from home and get the job done.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Honest Company Review - worked here for over 5 years.

    Sep 9, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pros section is tough because the company has changed immensely from start date. Training supplied each year. Decent benefits package .(It was better but now pretty much standard with other companies in NJ/US.) ESP is a friendly place to work. I met some interesting and good folks here. Learned new skills due to training and shifts in work load. The former CEO was a really nice person who seemed to really care about his company and the employees. The business has changed.

    Cons

    -Management lacks ability to see who is working hard and producing and who is not. As another reviewer mentioned, fat needs to be trimmed in many areas including way overpaid employees. Favoritism was frequent with past management. Lastly, during a hurricane and blizzards, despite state of emergency, employees were urged to come to work else they had to use their sick / personal time or take leave without pay.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 73 Reviews
</>Embed

ESP Reviews FAQs

ESP has an overall rating of 3.4 out of 5, based on over 81 reviews left anonymously by employees. 59% of employees would recommend working at ESP to a friend and 36% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, ESP employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at ESP. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

59% of ESP employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated ESP 3.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.2 for culture and values and 2.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at ESP to be career development, senior leadership, benefits and the cons to be management .

Popular Careers with ESP Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at ESP? Share Your Experiences

ESP logo
or

ESP Photos

+ Add Photo
ESP photo of: Providing Classroom Training
ESP photo of: Installers working in the field
ESP photo of: Support Staff
ESP photo of: Army Watercraft Support
ESP photo of: Supporting the worlds best military
ESP photo of: Warehouse Logisticians

Have you worked here?

See All Photos