Earthbound Trading Reviews | Glassdoor

Earthbound Trading Reviews

Updated September 13, 2017
145 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Steve James
61 Ratings

145 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Great Culture, Great benefits, Employee discount program, awesome 401K Plan, (in 22 reviews)

  • You also get a 50% discount on all merchandise in the store (in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • High sales goals, low pay, and very low work life balance (in 22 reviews)

  • the upper management makes store managers post positive content to social media weekly (in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Best work place experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder in Killeen, TX
    Former Employee - Key Holder in Killeen, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Earthbound Trading (More than a year)

    Pros

    Working for earthbound was great

    Cons

    None management was understanding,helped me grow,and was professional

    Earthbound Trading Response

    Sep 8, 2017 – HR/Payroll Associate

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review!


  2. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Earthbound Trading full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great Culture, Great benefits, Employee discount program, awesome 401K Plan,

    Cons

    Can always improve Corporate/Store communication

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Earthbound Trading Response

    Sep 8, 2017 – HR/Payroll Associate

    Thank you for the feedback!

  3. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Earthbound Trading full-time

    Pros

    Wonderful environment to work in. All inclusive team.

    Cons

    I have nothing to complain on.

    Earthbound Trading Response

    Sep 1, 2017 – HR/Payroll Associate

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review!


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Keyholder
    Current Employee - Keyholder
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Earthbound Trading part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great hours, great management, fun team

    Cons

    Communication, growth within company, clearly relay expectations

    Earthbound Trading Response

    Sep 1, 2017 – HR/Payroll Associate

    Thank you for the feedback!


  5. "Okay place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder in Nashville, TN
    Former Employee - Key Holder in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Earthbound Trading part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The awesome discount. The people are generally really cool to work with. The clientele are very nice. Some of the product is good quality.

    Cons

    No room for promotion. Management could be better. Some of the product is of poor quality.

    Advice to Management

    Be professional.

    Earthbound Trading Response

    Sep 18, 2017 – HR/Payroll Associate

    I would love to hear more about your view of earthbound. Please contact me at geneva@earthboundtrading.com or 972-248-0228 Ext 5040


  6. Helpful (3)

    "Awesome company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Earthbound Trading full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    It's an amazing environment to work. Love my EB family! Great benefits. I've been working for Earthbound for over 6 years.

    Cons

    No cons. I can't really think about any reasons not to work there. I always had support from management and coworkers.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good friendly/family environment. You guys are great!

    Earthbound Trading Response

    Aug 25, 2017 – HR/Payroll Associate

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review!


  7. "questionable practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Earthbound Trading part-time

    Pros

    Current manager is so awesome and works around schedules really well, definitely wants to see their team succeed. Amazing time working with my team. I love my coworkers, especially compared to my previous job, and they make the job a lot more bearable at times. Employee discount is really nice at 50%, makes it more enticing to actually use it. Love to get to interact with customers who really like our products and want to know more about them. Keeps my brain moving with incoming information about new products. Active and fast-paced, a lot of responsibility placed on you even if you`re in lower rank. Encourages you to do better at your job, and be above and beyond most stores, because of it. Performance based scheduling; if you work hard, you make more -- simple.

    Cons

    Penalized if guests just want to browse and want you to leave them alone. Penalized if you forget basic questions in the barrage of info you have to tell people when they come in. Upper management only acknowledges if you have a bad week, and ignore your good weeks and overachieving beforehand. A lot of turnover in management lately. some for the better, some for the worse; some of it seems shady. Recently there has been the implementation of a system that requires you ask other people to come buy something to make sure you get to goal, and you'll go spend money at their store in exchange; seems wrong to tell me where i have to put my money, or tell me what to do with my paycheck.

    I`m okay with performance based scheduling, but some factors that they take into consideration are unkind. Individual based goals on a slow traffic day make people sweat and are actually creating tension amongst coworkers worrying about getting to their goal, and its creating a BAD competition in light of how much trouble we seem to get into. You can look at performance on the computer, you can see who is doing well, and schedule them based on that. So maybe consider TEAM goals, since you`re pushing this teamwork crock as it is. It might make your employees feel less like they`ll be terminated for missing 10 dollars on a really slow day like Monday and Tuesday.

    Advice to Management

    Stop bullying people. Stop making us sweat about our jobs when we have ONE BAD DAY. I`m constantly reassuring new associates that they`ll be okay, because they miss goal by 20 dollars and feel like they`re going to get fired. It`s a part time job for a lot of people, I get that, but the people who work at Earthbound are always SO EXCITED to have gotten hired at this awesome store they love so much as guests. They`re always so stoked to be here, because for a lot of people, your store is the cool kid`s club. But it`s leaving a bad taste in the mouths of some people. Love to rate you higher for culture and values but value is kind of lacking in the last few months.

    Earthbound Trading Response

    Sep 18, 2017 – HR/Payroll Associate

    Please contact Geneva Williams at geneva@earthboundtrading.com or 972-248-0228 ext 5040. Thank you!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company with a Bright Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grapevine, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grapevine, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Earthbound Trading full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Earthbound is an amazing company. Management is flexible and understanding and Team members are always in a great spirit. In my experience, hard work does not go unnoticed and in turn, growth opportunities become available.

    Cons

    None at this point in time.

    Earthbound Trading Response

    Aug 25, 2017 – HR/Payroll Associate

    Glad to have you apart of our nomadic family!


  9. "Great Company Ideas, Products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Key Holder in Savannah, GA
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Key Holder in Savannah, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Earthbound Trading part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    environment, customers, products, location, discount

    Cons

    salary, corporate, management, flexibility, expectations

    Earthbound Trading Response

    Sep 18, 2017 – HR/Payroll Associate

    If you would like to talk more about your cons,please contact Geneva Williams at geneva@earthboundtrading.com or 972-248-0228 ext 5040. Thank you!


  10. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grapevine, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grapevine, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Earthbound Trading full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The most laid back company I've ever worked for. So many opportunities for growth if your willing to work hard and do your job.

    Cons

    Zero cons. Earthbound has an amazing support system with amazing people that want to work there.

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring professional and competent employees.

    Earthbound Trading Response

    Aug 25, 2017 – HR/Payroll Associate

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review


Showing 145 of 145 reviews
Reset Filters