Encore Reviews | Glassdoor

Encore Reviews

Updated Apr 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
Encore CEO Morgan Strauss
Morgan Strauss
0 Ratings
  1. "a"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Encore part-time

    Pros

    It's a great work environment

    Cons

    Benefits are not all that great

    Encore2019-04-26
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Worst Working Environment Of My Entire Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Generalist in Burbank, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Encore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a great studio to break into the industry if you are a recent graduate. They pay decently, and there is a lot of overtime. Decent benefits once you are there a year.

    Cons

    The main producer and supervisor treats the employees like slaves. Very demeaning and childish work environment. No professionalism. Poor quality of work. Overtime food rarely provided. Excessive hours.

    Continue reading
    Encore2019-04-20

    Encore Response

    April 29, 2019TA

    Thank you for sharing your experience at Encore. Our aim is to offer each and every employee an inclusive workplace and provide an environment where they feel able to raise any concerns. We take employee feedback seriously and have policies in place for employees to voice concerns and escalate them if necessary. If you would like to contact us on any of the issues you have raised, please email us directly at HR@bydeluxe.com and one of our senior HR team members would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (4)

    "be afraid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Artist in Burbank, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Encore for more than a year

    Pros

    -Generally, good, talented artists working on mediocre projects -when busy, lots of work

    Cons

    -favor quantity over quality -poor management of artists -favoritism based on nationality -freelancers released without warning -hi probability of summer hiatus -leadership is not trustworthy -low concern for balancing work hours

    Continue reading
    Encore2018-04-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Independent Courier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Independent Courier in Manitowoc, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Encore for less than a year

    Pros

    I love to drive and I am very much a people person, so this job is great

    Cons

    Cost and Expense of using my own vehicle has left me at a loss financially

    Continue reading
    Encore2017-05-01
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Most Dysfunctional Studio I've Ever Worked For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Artist in Burbank, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Encore full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is competitive, on time, and legal. They matched 401k up to 4.5%. You'll be paid for all the time you work and for this reason, as weird of a work environment as it may be, I would sooner come back here before some other studios.

    Cons

    Please note that I'm only referring to the Burbank studio, which handles The Flash, etc. I can't speak to anywhere else. I've worked in negative environments before and I'm used to the typical studio politics but this place is unlike anything else I've ever experienced. First off, it's so corporate it felt like I was selling insurance. When the administration-types would walk through you could tell they were checking on you to make sure you were typing fast enough, which indicates their understanding of artists' actual job functions. The studio culture is based solely on ego and favoritism, with almost no consideration for talent or ability. To say the management is dysfunctional is an understatement. Because the work is dolled out based on who is the VFX supe's favorite sycophant/punching bag, there is a colossal mismanagement of resources. I'm not exaggerating when I say that on a 10 person team, the supe will assign 50% of the work to his two favorite employees and burn them to the ground, while the rest of the team sits around idle or dragging out simple tasks as long as possible. The result is a waste of time, money AND quality. The final products reflect this. Usually the role of a producer would be to put a stop to this but because the producers all have the same buddy-buddy relationship with the VFX supe, they just go along with it. I know of multiple people who have professionally put in their two-week notice, only to be immediately chewed out by management and walked off the premises. Who does that?! Others I know of were kept around because they were considered less dispensable but after two weeks were told they were never welcome back. This is all the ego of the leadership. My advice to future employees is just to go in and do what they ask you to do, no matter how idiotic, and don't bother trying to improve things because the management isn't interested. I found I acclimated best when I gave up. It's sad but that's the environment they cultivate. And for it you'll get paid legally and on time, which is nothing to sneeze at these days.

    Continue reading
    Encore2017-03-31
  6. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Compositor in Burbank, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Encore

    Pros

    Good community of people. Lots of work. 401k Matching

    Cons

    The office space is small for the amount of people working in it. Not much personal space for artists.

    Encore2017-01-07
  7. Helpful (6)

    "nice people but you won't learn anything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior 3D Artist in Burbank, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Encore full-time

    Pros

    you will get a lot of work to do , never had any problems with Artists , they pay well . i will recommend this place for juniors.

    Cons

    very poor management ! most of the Compositors are the worst in the industry they will easily ruin your hard work and effort , that will make you so disappointed to make something look good. if you have talent , they don't know how to use it . they won't keep their promises, they waste a lot of money so they can't give you raise. you will never get shots to put on your demo reel.

    Continue reading
    Encore2016-12-26
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Least Professional working environment of my life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Vfx in Hollywood, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Encore

    Pros

    Deluxe seems to own half of Hollywood, with their fingers in almost every slice of the post-production pie. This review is based on experience with the VFX they are doing in a couple different facilities in the LA area primarily under the Encore name. Benefits are surprisingly generous even for permalance employees (75% of first 5% of 401k matching from day one of hire). They generally pay for far more than they get from employees. If you keep your head down and just go with the flow you'll get well paid for plenty of unnecessary overtime and other wastes.

    Cons

    Managers complain constantly about lack of communication yet get rid of the people who went out of their way to communicate and try to connect departments. Because the #1 sin is rocking the boat, fighting to do something better, to make something more reliable, to SAVE MONEY, that kind of thing gets you gone. Epic levels of bureaucratic red-tape trickles down from on high and is used as the excuse for all kinds of things: Shady hiring practices/unkept promises. Failure to do simple things like reimburse for mileage/etc (no matter how critical, no matter that everybody's Deluxe cards are at their limit, don't ever make the mistake of buying something on a personal card--that money is gone). Poor treatment of vendors, no net 30 accounts left anywhere in town due to non-payment. You either stress yourself out to the point of damaging your health and well-being trying to do the best job you can and improve things, which will get you pushed out, or you burn-out, lay back, and simply cash the checks.

    Continue reading
    Encore2015-11-17
  9. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hollywood, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Encore full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent facility/equipment, opportunities for training, free food, safe parking.

    Cons

    Some management micro-manage, sometimes unpredictable

    Continue reading
    Encore2014-07-04
  10. "Good Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Chennai
    Recommends

    I have been working at Encore full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I am working in this company for 5+ years. I have grown from bottom to top. Good talent are recognized and taken care well.

    Cons

    Need to keep more backfills. Which they have started to now.

    Encore2018-03-22
Found 16 reviews