KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Environmental Protection Agency

Is this your company?

Environmental Protection Agency

Add a Review

Environmental Protection Agency Reviews

Updated Jun 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
Environmental Protection Agency Administrator Andrew Wheeler
Andrew Wheeler
58 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is an abundance of work life balance,(in 59 reviews)

  • "nice people and nice work environment(in 33 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Bureaucracy is everywhere and red tape prevents things from being done in a logical way(in 17 reviews)

  • "EPA is a political agency - they do what Congress allows them to do(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Environmental Protection Agency and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Good place to wok

      Jun 3, 2021 - Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I loved the people I worked with

      Cons

      Lots of bureaucracy which is frustrating

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place with an Effective and Fulfilling Mission

      Mar 4, 2021 - Environmental Engineer in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      EPA is statistically one of the most effective agencies in the federal government. Every tax dollar spent produces exponentially more savings for taxpayers in the form of improved health outcomes. You will feel you are truly helping people because the results are tangible. My own personal experience was also good because my supervisor and all of my co-workers were phenomenally talented and had deep technical expertise. My supervisor was also very supportive. Overall, the agency culture was solid, as one would expect from a culture dominated by scientists and engineers as opposed to soft-skilled political lackies in agencies that have less tangible missions.

      Cons

      Your enjoyment of the job will depend greatly on the content. I worked in permitting, which was mind-blowingly dull. I can't imagine anything more boring. Every day was exactly like the day before, with no end in sight. Think Groundhog Day, except you never move from your computer or leave your room, and the only thing that changes is your age. A couple of my co-workers routinely fell asleep at their desks every single day. I lasted a couple of years but chose to resign before my eyes crossed permanently. That's not a ding on the necessity of the job, it's just the reality of doing it. However, the work in other sections looked to be very interesting. I probably would have stayed if I worked in a different technical area.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Committed staff

      Jun 2, 2021 - Data Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      EPA is filled with staff that believe in the issues they are working on. They usually work there because they want to make changes in the world.

      Cons

      Like any government agency it suffers from an overabundance of process and management levels

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Government work

      Jun 5, 2021 - Molecular Biologist in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Steady employment. Consistent research funding.

      Cons

      Lack of flexibility and innovation

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      EPA-OIG

      May 27, 2021 - Auditor in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting work, nice staff, and changing all of the time.

      Cons

      Complex work, changing staff, and changing all of the time.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Be ready to deal with the ever changing political winds but won't be boring!

      May 4, 2021 - Biologist in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pays better then many agencies, easy to get a gs13 position at HQ As a civil servant you are working to help the country Numerous opportunities for leadership and project management experience and very easy to jump around between offices

      Cons

      A target for political interests Scientific integrity issues at times Depending on the office may be expected to work overtime (You will get compensatory time off for it)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Excellent people in Region 9

      May 15, 2021 - Public Affairs Specialist in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      dedicated to the mission of protecting human health and the environment many caring and intelligent colleagues a positive work environment that is addressing issues of racial inequity in the workplace

      Cons

      I can't think of any.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Diverse experiences

      May 4, 2021 - Senior Compliance Officer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Travel opportunities and meaningful outcomes

      Cons

      Too much administrivia and data entry.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      what is this for

      Apr 27, 2021 - Mechanical Engineer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I like the job generally

      Cons

      great location big benefits package

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Protect Human Health and the Environment

      Apr 22, 2021 - Specialist in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Office of Research and Development

      Cons

      I have nothing to add here.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 469 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Environmental Protection Agency Job Seekers

    Environmental Protection Specialist
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Environmental Protection Agency? Share Your Experiences

    or