Exploratorium Reviews | Glassdoor

Exploratorium Reviews

Updated Jul 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 78 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Chris Flink
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free Museum Entry for other museums(in 12 reviews)

  • "Great opportunity to learn new things as exhibits change(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "It is non-profit so that brings some constraints but the rewards are huge(in 7 reviews)

  • "The museum is recovering from the way master planning was unveiled for several years(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "The best job I'll ever have"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Trip Explainer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exploratorium part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great trainings. An amazing environment. Able to learn so many new things in my mid 20s

    Cons

    It only lasts 3 years.

    Exploratorium2019-07-02
  2. "This is a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Human Resources Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exploratorium full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The staff is dedicated. Lots of smart people. Lots of fun people. There is a ton of opportunity to learn and grow. The location is beautiful. The benefits are very very good.

    Cons

    It is non-profit so that brings some constraints but the rewards are huge.

    Advice to Management

    Keep learning and growing.

    Exploratorium2019-07-01
  3. "great learning environment at work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exploratorium full-time

    Pros

    Many learning opportunities, new projects, a huge impact on science education

    Cons

    poor growth opportunities and low salaries

    Exploratorium2019-07-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "It was ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Explainer 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Exploratorium part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It starts out good and fun and the work is really interesting.

    Cons

    The staff and workers are toxic. Supervisors play favorites and place workers on edge with the threat of being rehired.

    Exploratorium2019-06-17
  5. "The very best job of my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Explainer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exploratorium part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free access for you and your friends (they technically have a limit to four per day but it's very easy to let people in as you please). Bosses were very supportive of workers in every situation, & I had the best coworkers.

    Cons

    Not a whole lot of hours, good for part time but if it's your sole source of income it might be a bit of an issue

    Advice to Management

    Really phenomenal, felt like a family

    Exploratorium2019-06-03
  6. "has potential, but dysfunctional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Tech 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exploratorium part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good location on the waterfront, interesting work technically. Great shop.

    Cons

    Some management personnel are surprisingly unprofessional.

    Exploratorium2019-05-12
  7. "Great Experience for High School Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - High School Explainer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Exploratorium part-time

    Pros

    You would be going around and learning new skills every booth and this is a good way to really network. Everyone is so nice and will treat you with respect

    Cons

    You can only do this job only for a certain time (high school years)

    Exploratorium2019-03-04
  8. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Exploratorium part-time

    Pros

    Great staff, awesome management, fun job.

    Cons

    No downsides to working here.

    Exploratorium2018-12-12
  9. "Great instatution ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Guest Service Associate 

    I worked at Exploratorium full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work. Relaxed and they do a lot of cool work.

    Cons

    Don't go there looking for upward mobility, The internal politics are fierce

    Exploratorium2018-12-26
  10. "Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Exploratorium full-time

    Pros

    Curious and intelligent staff excited to explore and discover.

    Cons

    There have been some bumps in the road as the museum staff grows and changes, but there is a continual effort to improve.

    Exploratorium2018-12-09
Found 78 reviews